Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2009, 08:19 PM   #1
MikeMacPL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Can iChat be used to chat with a Windows user?

I recently bought a iMac and I'm still learning how to use this OS. The question is can I use iChat to chat with someone using a Windows PC or do I need to install something like Skype?
Also when I chat, is there a way to screengrab something so I can show something over the webcam?
__________________
Early 2009 24" Aluminum iMac, 2.6 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 640 GB HD plus exterinal 400 HD
MikeMacPL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2009, 10:17 PM   #2
Benguitar
macrumors 65816
 
Benguitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMacPL View Post
I recently bought a iMac and I'm still learning how to use this OS. The question is can I use iChat to chat with someone using a Windows PC or do I need to install something like Skype?
Also when I chat, is there a way to screengrab something so I can show something over the webcam?
Yes it can indeed. If they are using AIM.

Edit-

No you can't show a PC user something using "screen share" but you can video chat with them.
__________________
"No plan survives first contact with the enemy." -M.R.
Benguitar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2009, 01:09 AM   #3
eleven7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Japan
You can also chat with people that use google-talk, and a host of other windows/linux based IM chat application. No voice chat on google-talk though, well not that I've been able to work out
__________________
Aluminum Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM ; iPhone 4S 64GB
eleven7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2009, 01:28 PM   #4
cdcastillo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The cesspit of civilization
Send a message via AIM to cdcastillo Send a message via Yahoo to cdcastillo Send a message via Skype™ to cdcastillo
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMacPL View Post
...can I use iChat to chat with someone using a Windows PC...
Short answer: Yes.

Long answer: You need to understand the difference between IM clients and IM networks.

iChat is a Client, the same as Adium, Skype, gTalk, AIM, Mercury, MSN Messenger, Yahoo messenger, etc.

Now, an IM network is different. Altough many networks share their name with their client, e.g., skype, MSN, Yahoo, etc, they should not be misstaken.

Now, by default you can use iChat (client) on AOL IM network (the same network as mobileme), Google talk network and any Jabber network (or server, I won't go into much detail here because I could get all confused).

Adium (free IM client) can be used on practically ANY network. On the other hand, MSN Messenger, Skype, and Yahoo Messenger clients can only be used on their own network.

By setting a jabber account on a server that supports MSN and Yahoo transports (think of transports as a way to hijack onto an IM network), you can use iChat with MSN and Yahoo networks (I know this because that's my setup).

Did any of these makes any sense to you? I hope it does, otherwise, tell us so we can try to clarify it.
__________________
Naître, c'est seulement commencer à mourir
T. Gautier
cdcastillo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can this be used to charge the iPhone 4 karansaraf iPhone 9 Jul 27, 2010 07:45 AM
Can SSH be used to access computers on different Networks? TechnoEagle Mac Basics and Help 3 Feb 1, 2010 04:12 PM
On a Mac that wants to chat with one Hotmail user via Adium. Help! PinkHippo Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 6, 2010 11:59 AM
gift certificates can not be used to purchase applications in Canada! megadon iPhone 1 Dec 29, 2008 09:09 PM
KeySpan Remote - can it be used to control other apps? FunBoy50 Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 22, 2006 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC