Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 18, 2009, 05:27 PM   #1
avihappy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Can 4850 iMac owners help find the cause of the freezing? Is it WiFi?

I'm using this thread to get various data on what may be causing these iMacs to fail.

Theories Tested So Far:
  • Memory "MemVendorID" [FALSE, values same in freezing and non freezing iMacs]
  • drvincom and SG values [FALSE, it was inconsistent]
  • Manufacture Location [FALSE, all same factory]
  • Incorrect CPU fequency in hardware test [Probably Irrelevant]
  • WiFI bug theory (proposed by jebiwan) [TESTING, BUT LOOKING VERY GOOD]

Could all iMac owners (including owners of those that work fine) do this test, then fill out this questionaire (the link is below)?

TEST (broken iMac owners):
  1. If you are using your broken iMac with WiFi on, do this test. If your iMac is broken and you don't use WiFi, just fill out the questionaire.
  2. Try to use your iMac with Airport OFF (you can use ethernet).
  3. If your iMac is broken, but it works fine with the WiFi off, this this test was "successful"
  4. If it still freezes, then this test has failed.

TEST (working iMac owners):
  1. If you are not using your iMac with WiFi, then you should perform this test. If you are using WiFi and the iMac works, just fill out my questionaire.
  2. Turn on the WiFI and connect to a network.
  3. See if the iMac works or not.

Questionaire:
Go here to submit data in a form that I can use more easily: http://www.formspring.com/forms/?595815-QBzGirSBMT

Others can view the submitted data here (make sure you select to view all columns): https://www.formspring.com/admin/dat...815dGKYXRw1oaK

Thanks to all who contribute!

Last edited by avihappy; Apr 27, 2009 at 04:54 PM. Reason: new test, the WiFi test, is now in session
avihappy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 05:47 PM   #2
Jammers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
iMac is freezing when under load - e.g. playing a game or watching a flash video.

"ATY,MemVendorID" = <0600>
| | | | | "ATY,MemRevisionID" = <0200>
Jammers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 07:46 PM   #3
Tom Dahl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Massachusetts USA
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: (Answer YES or NO): NO [out of 8 days use so far]
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": (For example, 600): 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": (For example, 100): 200
Tom Dahl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 07:59 PM   #4
GamaFu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: YES (5 times over three days)
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": 200
GamaFu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 08:08 PM   #5
jaw1034
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: (Answer YES or NO) YES
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": (For example, 600) 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": (For example, 100) 200
__________________
24" iMac, 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4850 512 MB, 1TB HD, & 40GB 3rd Generation iPod (I love that all-touch interface)
jaw1034 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 08:12 PM   #6
OBSIA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: (Answer YES or NO) YES (12+x times in 2days)
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": (For example, 600) 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": (For example, 100) 200
OBSIA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 09:05 PM   #7
J&JPolangin
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan...at the waters edge...
...you'd think with the delay for the release of this product the GPU should have been right from the start.

This has got to be frustrating = expensive beta testers...
__________________
2011 21" iMac, AEBS, 2009 2.0Ghz nVidia 9400M WB 4GB RAM & 64Gb SSD, 2011 13" MBP w/ 512Gb SSD/8Gb RAM, 2013 11.6" MBA & iPad3 64gb 4G
PC's: X6, H60, 12Gb RAM, 3x1Tb HDD, 128Gb SSD
J&JPolangin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 09:20 PM   #8
avihappy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by J&JPolangin View Post
...you'd think with the delay for the release of this product the GPU should have been right from the start.

This has got to be frustrating = expensive beta testers...
While I understand that you are frustrated, this thread's only intention is to gather some raw data on these failing iMacs. There are other threads where you can vent...

Thanks!
avihappy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 03:45 AM   #9
Sermon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: (Answer YES or NO): NO [out of 6 days use so far]
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": (For example, 600): 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": (For example, 100): 200
Sermon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:11 AM   #10
d510r9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
My iMac is a 2.93GHz 4850

Does your iMac have the freezing problem: (Answer YES or NO): NO
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": (For example, 600): <0600>
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": (For example, 100): <0200>
d510r9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:19 AM   #11
GonzoRob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
perhaps it isn't the memory . could people with working imacs please use the command :

ioreg -l | grep ATY

put the results on pastebin.com and let us have a look ... it may be something else (my crashing imac is http://pastebin.com/m6eb9fc77)

Also, it could also be the case that people with 'working' imacs simply haven't stress tested their GPU's hard enough as my mac is pretty stable when not under load.

If you can run this app (http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/) in windows boot camp for an hour (demo mode, full res, mull multisampling) then you're ok. If it freezes, you've got the same problem as the rest of us. Personally, I think it should be the standard test
__________________
15" 2.16ghz Mac Book Pro
27" 2.8ghz i7 / ATI 4850 iMac
"you mutter, hell I mutter - but I get paid for it." HST-18/8/03

Last edited by GonzoRob; Apr 19, 2009 at 04:20 AM. Reason: added pastebin link
GonzoRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:28 AM   #12
Jammers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
http://pastebin.com/m1e1577c0
Jammers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:34 AM   #13
GonzoRob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
checked Sermon pastebin,

The only two differences I can spot are :

"ATY,SG" =
my value : <08f01a47>
your value : <08a0f646>

and

"ATY,drvincom" =

my value : <8da6620000700347>
your value : <8da662000050ff46>


However I have a feeling that these values will be different the whole time
__________________
15" 2.16ghz Mac Book Pro
27" 2.8ghz i7 / ATI 4850 iMac
"you mutter, hell I mutter - but I get paid for it." HST-18/8/03
GonzoRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:34 AM   #14
d510r9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GonzoRob View Post
perhaps it isn't the memory . could people with working imacs please use the command :

ioreg -l | grep ATY

put the results on pastebin.com and let us have a look ... it may be something else (my crashing imac is http://pastebin.com/m6eb9fc77)

Also, it could also be the case that people with 'working' imacs simply haven't stress tested their GPU's hard enough as my mac is pretty stable when not under load.

If you can run this app (http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/) in windows boot camp for an hour (demo mode, full res, mull multisampling) then you're ok. If it freezes, you've got the same problem as the rest of us. Personally, I think it should be the standard test

I ran my 4850 in Windows 7 playing Crysis for a 5 hour straight session...high settings, 2xAA, dx10...not a single freeze.
__________________
24" iMac 2.93 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HD
iPad 3, 64GB
iPhone 5 White 64GB, iPhone 4s White 64GB | Airport Extreme (dead)
d510r9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 04:58 AM   #15
Sermon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GonzoRob View Post
checked Sermon pastebin,

The only two differences I can spot are :

"ATY,SG" =
my value : <08f01a47>
your value : <08a0f646>

and

"ATY,drvincom" =

my value : <8da6620000700347>
your value : <8da662000050ff46>


However I have a feeling that these values will be different the whole time
Looks like it - jus checked another one and these values are different to ours.
Sermon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 05:21 AM   #16
GonzoRob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sermon View Post
Looks like it - jus checked another one and these values are different to ours.
so, probably not the components clashing with the firmware then

Guess it's just a batch of bad memory/chips
__________________
15" 2.16ghz Mac Book Pro
27" 2.8ghz i7 / ATI 4850 iMac
"you mutter, hell I mutter - but I get paid for it." HST-18/8/03
GonzoRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 05:48 AM   #17
synagence
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Working mac
http://pastebin.com/m3d2f8a80
__________________
Early 2009 iMac 2.93Ghz, 4Gb, ATI 4850HD | 64Gb iPad2 | 32Gb Black iPhone 4S⃣ | iPod touch 4G 64Gb
synagence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 05:54 AM   #18
nss.aries
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: YES
What is the number for "ATY,MemVendorID": 600
What is the number for "ATY,MemRevisionID": 200
nss.aries is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 07:36 PM   #19
avihappy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
This theory was too inconsistent, and I think it has been falsified.

Quote:
Here is some potentially interesting data I have so far:

Based on the 3 pastebin data sets I have so far:
Both the "ATY,SG" and "ATY,drvincom" variables on the 1 working iMac end in the number 6, while the data from the two broken iMacs has these variables end in 7.

Quote:
WORKING IMAC
"ATY,SG" = <08f0f746>
"ATY,drvincom" = <8de6610000e0fd46>
EDIT, Adding new entry:
Quote:
SERMON'S WORKING IMAC
"ATY,SG" = < 08a0f646>
"ATY,drvincom" = < 8da662000050ff46>
Quote:
BROKEN IMAC 1
"ATY,SG" = <08402047>
"ATY,drvincom" = <8de6680000d00a47>
Quote:
BROKEN IMAC 2
"ATY,SG" = <08f01a47>
"ATY,drvincom" = <8da6620000700347>
This is the only noticable patten I can see with my tiny dataset, and it's not enough data to make a conclusion. If more people can contribute their data, we might catch on to a proper pattern!

EDIT: Just looked at Sermon's Pastebin at http://pastebin.com/f5bb5a720 , his working iMac holds up to this patten as both of these numbers on his iMac end in 6! My hope is getting better and better on these variables!

Last edited by avihappy; Apr 19, 2009 at 08:49 PM.
avihappy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:05 PM   #20
jtourville
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Broken iMac:

http://pastebin.com/m496fb10e

avihappy: looks like my results fit your guess too:

"ATY,SG" = <08b01547>
"ATY,drvincom" = <8de6610000e00047>
jtourville is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:09 PM   #21
naptime
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Does your imac have the freezing problem? NO
http://pastebin.com/m3a7e9ea6
__________________
13" Aluminum MacBook 2.0GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD
iPhone 3G 2GB iPod Shuffle
24" iMac, 3.06GHz, 4GB, 1TB HD, HD4850
naptime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:15 PM   #22
Hoya1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
My iMac is working, too, and also seems to fit the pattern, though my ATY,SG and ATY,drvincom both end not in "6" but rather in "6b"
Hoya1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:15 PM   #23
OBSIA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Broken imac

http://pastebin.com/f46218a73

"ATY,SG" = <08e0f746> ?!

"ATY,drvincom" = <8de6610000f0ff46> ?!

had multiple freezes
OBSIA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:25 PM   #24
avihappy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
OBSIA's data makes me a little worried, but still want to see more data before trashing the theory.

I have also realized that the "ATY,SG" variable is not very reliable, as I have seen multiple "working" iMacs that have it end in 6 (contrary to the theory).

So I think that "ATY,drvincom" will be the variable I would pay more attention to. It has been rather reliable so far (the exeption being OBSIA, whose broken iMac ended had this end in 6).

EDIT: OK, based on OBSIA and iMac4850User's data, I think I am ready to throw out my theory. Oh well. I think maybe now we can check for mfg location?

Last edited by avihappy; Apr 19, 2009 at 08:46 PM.
avihappy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 08:40 PM   #25
iMac4850User
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Does your iMac have the freezing problem: YES (freezes when NOT under load )
Pastebin.com Link: http://pastebin.com/m2a98419b

"ATY,SG" = <08601447>
"ATY,drvincom" = <8de6610000e0fc46>
iMac4850User is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini R freezing while on wifi Abarth1200 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 11 May 2, 2014 04:47 PM
iPad Mini: Mini owners: how do you find your experience with the AIR? Misskitty iPad 5 Nov 29, 2013 01:18 PM
No WiFi, freezing after update chainprayer iOS 7 2 Sep 19, 2013 11:15 PM
0Follow this topic iMac Radeon 4850 Driver updates in OS X boldan28 iMac 0 Sep 25, 2012 01:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC