Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 23, 2004, 06:54 PM   #1
iBunny
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Airport Extreme w/ Omni Antena question

How much range will i get with this? and say within about 15 - 20 feet, would i get a full 54MB / second?

Thanks
__________________
Sergeant
United States Marine Corps
Information Assurance Technician: Net+, Sec+
Mid 2010 15" MBP / i7 2.66 / 8GB RAM / 120GB Vertex 3 / Hi-Res Glossy/OS X 10.7
iBunny is offline   0
Old Apr 23, 2004, 07:35 PM   #2
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBunny
How much range will i get with this? and say within about 15 - 20 feet, would i get a full 54MB / second?

Thanks
The range of the Airport Extreme basestation with no external antenna is 150 feet.

The omni-antenna will extend the Airport Extreme's range to 500 feet.

The connection speed will depend on several factors, such as, your network speed and how many people are accessing it, etc.
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old Apr 23, 2004, 08:35 PM   #3
iBunny
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBMaraman
The range of the Airport Extreme basestation with no external antenna is 150 feet.

The omni-antenna will extend the Airport Extreme's range to 500 feet.

The connection speed will depend on several factors, such as, your network speed and how many people are accessing it, etc.
Well i have a 3Mbit Cable Connection and 1 PC connected right now... the base station would be the 2nd thing connected to it.
__________________
Sergeant
United States Marine Corps
Information Assurance Technician: Net+, Sec+
Mid 2010 15" MBP / i7 2.66 / 8GB RAM / 120GB Vertex 3 / Hi-Res Glossy/OS X 10.7
iBunny is offline   0
Old Apr 24, 2004, 12:07 PM   #4
mactastic
macrumors 68040
 
mactastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colly-fornia
I don't think you ever get a 'full' 54 Mbps. There is some overhead involved I believe, although others could probably elaborate better than I can about the reasons for it. Besides, that still far exceeds your internet connection, so you must be worried about file transfer speeds. If that's the case, just plug into the ethernet switch when you need large file transfers.
__________________
Such is the distillation of the conservative's mindset: he has, I want, and you should allow me to take.
mactastic is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run Airport Extreme on 5 GHz, and Airport Express on 2.4? williamsonrg Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 29, 2011 09:05 PM
New Airport Extreme question nREMfan Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jul 31, 2011 05:12 PM
AirPort Extreme and external hard drive combination behaving badly. Bengt77 Mac Peripherals 0 Jul 15, 2011 07:05 PM
Airport Extreme set-up: AP Utility 5.5.1 vs. 5.5.2? waiting Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 8, 2011 04:29 AM
Airport Extreme/Hard Drive - Disconnect Issue eurobass Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 25, 2010 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC