Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 23, 2004, 06:54 PM   #1
iBunny
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Airport Extreme w/ Omni Antena question

How much range will i get with this? and say within about 15 - 20 feet, would i get a full 54MB / second?

Thanks
__________________
Sergeant
United States Marine Corps
Information Assurance Technician: Net+, Sec+
Mid 2010 15" MBP / i7 2.66 / 8GB RAM / 120GB Vertex 3 / Hi-Res Glossy/OS X 10.7
iBunny is offline   0
Old Apr 23, 2004, 07:35 PM   #2
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBunny
How much range will i get with this? and say within about 15 - 20 feet, would i get a full 54MB / second?

Thanks
The range of the Airport Extreme basestation with no external antenna is 150 feet.

The omni-antenna will extend the Airport Extreme's range to 500 feet.

The connection speed will depend on several factors, such as, your network speed and how many people are accessing it, etc.
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old Apr 23, 2004, 08:35 PM   #3
iBunny
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBMaraman
The range of the Airport Extreme basestation with no external antenna is 150 feet.

The omni-antenna will extend the Airport Extreme's range to 500 feet.

The connection speed will depend on several factors, such as, your network speed and how many people are accessing it, etc.
Well i have a 3Mbit Cable Connection and 1 PC connected right now... the base station would be the 2nd thing connected to it.
__________________
Sergeant
United States Marine Corps
Information Assurance Technician: Net+, Sec+
Mid 2010 15" MBP / i7 2.66 / 8GB RAM / 120GB Vertex 3 / Hi-Res Glossy/OS X 10.7
iBunny is offline   0
Old Apr 24, 2004, 12:07 PM   #4
mactastic
macrumors 68040
 
mactastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colly-fornia
I don't think you ever get a 'full' 54 Mbps. There is some overhead involved I believe, although others could probably elaborate better than I can about the reasons for it. Besides, that still far exceeds your internet connection, so you must be worried about file transfer speeds. If that's the case, just plug into the ethernet switch when you need large file transfers.
__________________
I salute you Sean [Hannity]. I salute you for bravely standing by a man whose only crime, was breaking federal law.
- Stephen Colbert
mactastic is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Setup Question: Airport Express or New Airport Extreme? Mac21ND Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 2, 2013 12:11 PM
dual airport extreme setup question. new extreme involved chuffman15 Mac Peripherals 3 Jun 19, 2013 10:46 PM
Airport Extreme & Airport Express question bmbbryan Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 25, 2013 08:01 AM
AirPort Extreme question PrometheusGeek Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Oct 2, 2012 11:03 AM
Airport Extreme -> Airport Express setup question CtotheP Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 14, 2012 05:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC