Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 23, 2009, 08:58 PM   #1
kinkster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Use sim card with computer

I have an iPhone and I often need to use it's data connection for my computer. Tethering is okay but i'd rather use my sim card directly with my computer.

I know some laptops have sim card trays built in, so is there any way to get this on a computer that didn't come with it?
kinkster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 09:02 PM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
What kind of computer? It is physically possible for an ExpressCard/34 SIM tray to exist, but I know of none.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 09:31 PM   #3
kinkster
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I'v got an Air so something USB would be optimal. A friend of mine is also interested in this, and he's got an express card slot I believe.
kinkster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 12:13 AM   #4
kastenbrust
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Korea
For the Macbook Air you cant make the Sim Card built in, but you can use something such as this:



You can get them for about $10
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei
kastenbrust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 02:26 AM   #5
bkarabel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
You simply can`t use your iphone sim card with a computer period. It won`t work.
If your iphone is jail broken ( which i assume is ) you can use pdanet for "free" internet on your laptop or desktop. Actually it is pretty fast via airport connection depending on your 3g coverage in your area.
Keep in mind at&t does not allow it in their eula or in their terms of operation.
bkarabel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 02:33 AM   #6
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
What kind of computer? It is physically possible for an ExpressCard/34 SIM tray to exist, but I know of none.
I know that this one exists but it's EVDO so not quite what the OP needs. Somebody must make a UMTS version though...

Edit: I should look around on the same site next time. There's an HSPA model, although it might be a bit tricky to find as it's reached its end of life.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 02:11 PM   #7
KandyKane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
You can get UMTS850 cards from Australia (Telstra Network). The new sierra card we have at work runs up to 21mbps (usb), can't remember if they were locked or not though...
KandyKane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 05:35 PM   #8
kinkster
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kastenbrust View Post
For the Macbook Air you cant make the Sim Card built in, but you can use something such as this:



You can get them for about $10
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei

Thanks. Would those be unlocked and work with any sim?
kinkster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 06:01 PM   #9
Pixellated
macrumors 65816
 
Pixellated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dartford, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinkster View Post
Thanks. Would those be unlocked and work with any sim?
Well, if you buy an unlocked one (I.E. not from a mobile provider) then yes.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4 S⃣ ; 27" iMac 12GB RAM i5 2.7 GHz; 16GB iPad 2
Pixellated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 07:40 PM   #10
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kastenbrust View Post
That looks like a cell with flagella.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 08:46 PM   #11
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
oh my....geek p*rn
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Bought a 3rd Gen iPad, with no SIM card included. Can I add any company's SIM? HappyDude20 iPad 5 Dec 6, 2013 04:09 AM
Setting up iPhone 5 without a SIM card...or Help me find a nano-SIM! turbodelta iPhone 5 Dec 7, 2012 05:52 PM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 07:38 PM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 02:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC