Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2004, 11:24 AM   #1
punkmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Ram for 1.0 ghz eMac

Just purchased a refurb 1 ghz combo 40 gb hd on Apple.com!

This is for my mother-in-law.

I would like to update the RAM from 128. Does anyone know the revision of this model? I want to make sure I get the right RAM.

Oh by the way her first idea was to get "some computer from Wal-Mart, an e something oh yeah, emachine!"

Thank God I saved her from that nightmare.

I.
punkmac is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 11:51 AM   #2
Kirk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Try Mactracker. It will give you all the info you need. Great app.

http://www.mactracker.ca/
Kirk is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 02:06 PM   #3
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirk
Try Mactracker. It will give you all the info you need. Great app.

http://www.mactracker.ca/
or.... one could go to Crucial and use the memory selector.
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 02:28 PM   #4
jamdr
macrumors 6502a
 
jamdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area
Smile ...Or you could just tell him.

I have the same computer. It uses PC133 SDRAM, which is pretty cheap. You can easily get a 512MB chip to put in that extra slot for around $75 (don't use Crucial, they are a complete rip-off--it's cheaper to buy from your local Best Buy or Circuit City, or visit dealram.com). You can also get a 1GB chip (!) for only $200-$250. Although it doesn't sound like the person you bought it for will need that much. I use mine with 640MB and it works great.
jamdr is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 03:25 PM   #5
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamdr
I have the same computer. It uses PC133 SDRAM, which is pretty cheap. You can easily get a 512MB chip to put in that extra slot for around $75 (don't use Crucial, they are a complete rip-off--it's cheaper to buy from your local Best Buy or Circuit City, or visit dealram.com). You can also get a 1GB chip (!) for only $200-$250. Although it doesn't sound like the person you bought it for will need that much. I use mine with 640MB and it works great.
I would've told him, but I was too lazy to go look it up. Sad, I know....
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 08:52 PM   #6
punkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Wink thanks!

I looked around and went to Bestbuy a little pricey because everyone has DDR ram now.

I went with 4Allmemory.com. That's where I picked up a 512 SO-DIMM for about $110.00 for my 1 ghz 17" iMac. A really good price! Not a problem at all basically free ground shipping.

I went with a 128 stick of pc133 for $36.00

She will have a solid 256. That should be fine for a while until the 3 children there really take off on the iLife apps!

Until then email, safari, word proc.

The best part is I get to play with it until I take it to their house!

Thanks for the help!

I.
punkmac is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this RAM fit in an eMac 2005 1,42 Ghz? Mac Hammer Fan PowerPC Macs 4 May 6, 2013 03:08 PM
1.5 gigs of ram in 1.25 ghz emac KingKen1986 PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 23, 2012 03:56 PM
Just got my new eMac 1.25 GHz KingKen1986 PowerPC Macs 13 Sep 2, 2012 09:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC