Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2004, 11:24 AM   #1
punkmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Ram for 1.0 ghz eMac

Just purchased a refurb 1 ghz combo 40 gb hd on Apple.com!

This is for my mother-in-law.

I would like to update the RAM from 128. Does anyone know the revision of this model? I want to make sure I get the right RAM.

Oh by the way her first idea was to get "some computer from Wal-Mart, an e something oh yeah, emachine!"

Thank God I saved her from that nightmare.

I.
punkmac is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 11:51 AM   #2
Kirk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Try Mactracker. It will give you all the info you need. Great app.

http://www.mactracker.ca/
Kirk is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 02:06 PM   #3
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirk
Try Mactracker. It will give you all the info you need. Great app.

http://www.mactracker.ca/
or.... one could go to Crucial and use the memory selector.
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 02:28 PM   #4
jamdr
macrumors 6502a
 
jamdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area
Smile ...Or you could just tell him.

I have the same computer. It uses PC133 SDRAM, which is pretty cheap. You can easily get a 512MB chip to put in that extra slot for around $75 (don't use Crucial, they are a complete rip-off--it's cheaper to buy from your local Best Buy or Circuit City, or visit dealram.com). You can also get a 1GB chip (!) for only $200-$250. Although it doesn't sound like the person you bought it for will need that much. I use mine with 640MB and it works great.
jamdr is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 03:25 PM   #5
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamdr
I have the same computer. It uses PC133 SDRAM, which is pretty cheap. You can easily get a 512MB chip to put in that extra slot for around $75 (don't use Crucial, they are a complete rip-off--it's cheaper to buy from your local Best Buy or Circuit City, or visit dealram.com). You can also get a 1GB chip (!) for only $200-$250. Although it doesn't sound like the person you bought it for will need that much. I use mine with 640MB and it works great.
I would've told him, but I was too lazy to go look it up. Sad, I know....
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Apr 25, 2004, 08:52 PM   #6
punkmac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Wink thanks!

I looked around and went to Bestbuy a little pricey because everyone has DDR ram now.

I went with 4Allmemory.com. That's where I picked up a 512 SO-DIMM for about $110.00 for my 1 ghz 17" iMac. A really good price! Not a problem at all basically free ground shipping.

I went with a 128 stick of pc133 for $36.00

She will have a solid 256. That should be fine for a while until the 3 children there really take off on the iLife apps!

Until then email, safari, word proc.

The best part is I get to play with it until I take it to their house!

Thanks for the help!

I.
punkmac is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.131.36.1) win7 driver ValleyPirate Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Mar 1, 2011 09:10 PM
Ram for 1.42 ghz eMac. raysfan81 PowerPC Macs 2 Dec 14, 2010 09:22 PM
Silence the 1.25 Ghz Emac RickT67 PowerPC Macs 4 Oct 8, 2007 12:13 AM
FS: 12" PowerBook 1.0 Ghz, 512MB RAM, 30 Gig HD (In UK) MaddieBrad Marketplace Archive 2 3 Jul 26, 2007 03:16 PM
Powerbook G4 1.0 Ghz 2.0G RAM capacity with Photoshop CS GoldenFingers PowerPC Macs 2 Jan 26, 2007 07:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC