Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2004, 09:23 AM   #1
Gonzo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Airport between 2 Airport cards

I have two I-macs with Airport cards in each of them. I recently installed ADSL which I connect to the Internet with one of the Macs. I tried to connect the other Mac to the net via the card with no success. So then I paid a Mac dealer to succesfully configir the machines for me. A few weeks later an ex-employee played with the settings on the I-mac connected to the modem and now Airport will not work on the the client machine. Will things work better if I buy a base station, or will I have the same problems as tring to get each card to talk to eachother?
Where can I find Airport card-card setup information for 10.3.3?
Gonzo is offline   0
Old Apr 26, 2004, 09:43 AM   #2
SilentPanda
Moderator emeritus
 
SilentPanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Bamboo Forest
I'm assuming your set up goes something like:

ADSL to iMac via ethernet cable, then you want to share your internet from your iMac via the airport card to the other airport card.

In order to do this do the following:

On the iMac that is plugged into the ADSL, go into system preferences and click on sharing. There should be a "share interet" tab. Click on that, turn it on and do share internet from ethernet to airport card. Then your other iMac should be able to pick up the signal. It think.

I also seem to remember that in system preferences if you click on Network then click on your airport card there is an option on the last tab to create an airport network or something like that. I think this is the preferred method.

Maybe this will get you started until somebody sitting at their Mac can clue you in.
__________________
My 24 hour web cam! ʕノᴥʔノ ︵ ┻━┻
And remember.
SilentPanda is offline   0
Old Apr 26, 2004, 12:49 PM   #3
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPanda
On the iMac that is plugged into the ADSL, go into system preferences and click on sharing. There should be a "share interet" tab. Click on that, turn it on and do share internet from ethernet to airport card. Then your other iMac should be able to pick up the signal. It think.
Yep. That's how you do it. You're sharing your connection from ethernet to users with Airport.

The thing about creating networks is for file sharing. It's useful, if you need to remotly access a computer, isn't related to internet sharing.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Apr 26, 2004, 01:05 PM   #4
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
Wait, you can do that? I was under the impression that you needed an airport base to do wireless between two Macs.

Would this work between a Mac and a PC with a 801B Wireless card?
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Apr 26, 2004, 01:14 PM   #5
mactastic
macrumors 68040
 
mactastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colly-fornia
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
Wait, you can do that? I was under the impression that you needed an airport base to do wireless between two Macs.

Would this work between a Mac and a PC with a 801B Wireless card?
Yes.

It's not terribly efficient though, and I've heard there are some security issues particularly if you do something like this on a protected corporate or school network. Plus you have to leave your host computer on all the time or no one gets internet. It's better to just get a basestation. Plus that basestation gives you added protection against intruders.
__________________
I salute you Sean [Hannity]. I salute you for bravely standing by a man whose only crime, was breaking federal law.
- Stephen Colbert

Last edited by mactastic; Apr 26, 2004 at 01:16 PM.
mactastic is offline   0
Old Apr 26, 2004, 01:15 PM   #6
tomf87
Guest
 
tomf87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Sure.. you can use wireless between two computers (called Ad-Hoc mode) without an access point. However, the signal is not repeated like an access point so the clients need to be closer to each other (within approximately 100 feet indoors).
tomf87 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Time capsule = airport extreme + external hard drive? GP20 Mac Peripherals 25 Sep 27, 2014 03:14 PM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 09:53 AM
Airport Cards spoonie1972 Mac Pro 0 Nov 13, 2012 09:49 AM
Which Airport and Bluetooth cards for Mac Pro 1,1 ? TableSyrup Mac Pro 4 Aug 18, 2012 03:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC