Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2015, 03:50 PM   #1
Toddorndorff890
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Sims Complete collection on mac with Yosemite. HELP PLEASE!!!!!!

Alright guys I'm new to the forum so please work with me lol. I bought the sims complete collection the other day to relive some childhood memories. I had it for pc back in the day but I obviously have a mac now. So I got the Mack version. Right now I'm running Yosemite. And I know it won't work because it's such an old game. Plus I keep getting a message saying the ppc is supported. Or whatever the message is. I've also read that there are ways around it. So what I need from someone is the exact step by step to do this. I don't really use the Mac for anything other than getting on the internet so the sky is the limit. Even if there's something I can download to alter it to make it work. I want the easiest step by step to get this game working. Even if that means downgrading from Yosemite or some way to to have Yosemite and an older update to make it work. I don't care what it takes lol. So ANYTHING you guys know that I can do and are willing to lend a hand I would really really appreciate it. Thanks and take care guys.
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2015, 04:34 PM   #2
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Unless your Mac originally came with OS X Snow Leopard (10.6), you're going to be out of luck.

Your best bet would be to obtain a copy of the Windows version of the game, a copy of Windows itself, and then install that through either Boot Camp or in a virtual machine with Parallels.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2015, 04:39 PM   #3
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
Unless your Mac originally came with OS X Snow Leopard (10.6), you're going to be out of luck.

Your best bet would be to obtain a copy of the Windows version of the game, a copy of Windows itself, and then install that through either Boot Camp or in a virtual machine with Parallels.
This (as I am aware) is your only option Todd.

Before you ask, unfortunately we dont have any plans to update Complete the way we did Sims 2. Its simply too old at this point.
__________________
Aspyr - GameAgent - Support
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2015, 10:49 PM   #4
Toddorndorff890
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
I believe it did come with that. But I've read there are ways to get snow leopard and older software(s) that you can get to work on here just to play the older games. Just not sure which software I have to download to make it work with what I have right now. People have talked about it all over the web, just didn't put any in depth details about it. And Blair, would I be able to possibly get a copy of the PC version in exchange for my Mac one at all? I bought it off eBay so I'm going to doubt it but worth a shot.
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2015, 04:47 AM   #5
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddorndorff890 View Post
I believe it did come with that. But I've read there are ways to get snow leopard and older software(s) that you can get to work on here just to play the older games. Just not sure which software I have to download to make it work with what I have right now. People have talked about it all over the web, just didn't put any in depth details about it.
If you were reading about things like Wine and Crossover, those are applications that allow Windows programs to run on a Mac. That would be another viable option instead of using Parallels and a full installation of Windows. Again, though, this would require the Windows version of whatever game you want to play.

If there's some formula you find for getting a native Mac application that was designed for older OS X operating systems to run on a modern machine, please post it, as I think a lot of other people here would love to know.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2015, 11:06 AM   #6
Fnord
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
I have not done this but I believe it's possible to install Snow Leopard Server (or just Snow Leopard, though I'm not sure about the licensing) inside Parallels or VMware Fusion.

I think that's the only way to get older OS X software running on hardware that can't boot into Snow Leopard.
Fnord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2015, 03:53 PM   #7
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddorndorff890 View Post
And Blair, would I be able to possibly get a copy of the PC version in exchange for my Mac one at all? I bought it off eBay so I'm going to doubt it but worth a shot.
I would happily do this, but we are only the publisher for the Mac version and have no access to the PC version.
__________________
Aspyr - GameAgent - Support
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2015, 10:37 PM   #8
Toddorndorff890
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Fnord do you have any idea on how to do that? Like step by step? Each time I try to do anything using VMware or anything like that it either doesn't download right or or it's more complicated than it really needs to be. :
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 01:19 AM   #9
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Have you considered the Sims 2 that Aspyr recently released on the Mac App Store to have some Sims fun with? This would "just work" and cost a lot less than buying a Parallels or VMware license. You can skip the headaches and expense and go straight to some fun. Just a suggestion.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 02:10 AM   #10
Toddorndorff890
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Could any of you tell me how to run Snow Leopard with Virtual Box? If so, would I be able to play the game that way?
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 02:30 AM   #11
bmac89
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddorndorff890 View Post
Could any of you tell me how to run Snow Leopard with Virtual Box? If so, would I be able to play the game that way?
If your mac can run snow leopard you can create a second partition and boot up in Snow Leopard to play the sims. What year & model is your mac?
bmac89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 03:38 AM   #12
Toddorndorff890
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
I have a MacBook Pro 13 inch early 2011.

2.3 GHz Intel Core i5.

Intel HD Graphics 3000 383 MB

----------

I mean honestly, I'll do whatever it takes. VMware, virtual box etc. I just need to know the steps on how to get it to work (knock on wood) if it will work.
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 04:59 AM   #13
bmac89
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddorndorff890 View Post
I have a MacBook Pro 13 inch early 2011.

2.3 GHz Intel Core i5.

Intel HD Graphics 3000 383 MB

----------

I mean honestly, I'll do whatever it takes. VMware, virtual box etc. I just need to know the steps on how to get it to work (knock on wood) if it will work.
I can't be sure but if it is early 2011 it probably originally came with Snow Leopard? If so you can install Snow Leopard on separate partition and boot up. SL install DVD cost about $25 on Apple Store

I have never tried virtual machine but you need plenty of RAM. Snow Leopard should be able to run on virtualbox but don't think it will install with other virtual machines.

I think Lion came out late 2011.

Hopefully someone with more experience can help you.
bmac89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 08:36 AM   #14
quackers82
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
Have you considered the Sims 2 that Aspyr recently released on the Mac App Store to have some Sims fun with? This would "just work" and cost a lot less than buying a Parallels or VMware license. You can skip the headaches and expense and go straight to some fun. Just a suggestion.
This.

I loved the Sims and the Sims 2 was just enhancements and the best version IMO, it did not get ruined until The Sims 3.

So if you loved The Sims, The Sims 2 will not disappoint.
quackers82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2015, 12:35 PM   #15
Fnord
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddorndorff890 View Post
Fnord do you have any idea on how to do that? Like step by step? Each time I try to do anything using VMware or anything like that it either doesn't download right or or it's more complicated than it really needs to be. :
I still have Macs that can boot into Snow Leopard, so haven't had to try it yet. I did buy a copy of Snow Leopard Server so I can when it eventually becomes necessary. I hope what you need is in one of the threads below:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1365439

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1203258

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1199489
Fnord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2015, 11:35 PM   #16
Toddorndorff890
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Hey guys sorry I haven't been back on here. If anyone is wanting to know, I was lucky enough to be able to find my original Mac cd so I was able to install it using VirtualBox. I got all the specs set and the CD opened right away on the desktop (of snow leopard through VB) and it installed no problem. It's a lot easier than it seemed to be. If anyone else does this, the game will run fine. Until you start to play it and your sims characters are moving around. My solution to this! While the game is playing (don't pause it keep t running) just shut your laptop. Let it go to sleep for about 10 seconds and open it back up. It will lag for a few and should start right back up. Least that's what I've been doing and it works great. For anyone that responded thanks a ton guys! Anyone have any questions about this just send me a message and I'll be more than happy to help.
Toddorndorff890 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC