Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2009, 09:19 PM   #1
entatlrg
macrumors Demi-God
 
entatlrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
One Mac or two ? What's ideal, the debate continues ...

What's you preference, to work from one computer, or two?

I'll often read in forums that it's best to work from ONE computer, this way all your data is in one place easy to organize you can use an external display etc ... If you're away from a desk at all and using one computer you'd have to use a notebook.

Others prefer TWO computers, a permanent desktop and a notebook, a set up like that can be had for cheap or you can go all out and buy a top the line iMac or MacPro and an Air for a notebook I guess. But you'll have data, shortcuts, preferences like at different settings so it's a little more work to keep in sync..

If you had the choice what would your ideal set up be? A 15" macbook pro, or a combination of a macbook and desktop, (or pc?< bad word I know

Interested to hear comments/opinions.

Thanks.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iPad Air, 13" rMBP, Mac Pro
Line 2 -G Nexus, HTC One X, GS III, HTC One S, Nexus 4, BB Z10, HTC ONE, BBQ10 back to HTC ONE
entatlrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 09:48 PM   #2
robindahlia789
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Send a message via AIM to robindahlia789
I've been with one computer which is my macbook but I've been contemplating a mini so I can do all my work and set up my htpc. I think itd be easier with a 2nd computer. I just need someone too push me too buy it lol
__________________
Macbook
Iphone
robindahlia789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 09:50 PM   #3
xhambonex
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Personally a Mac Pro and a MBP 15". Since that won't ever happen for me, MBP 15" (matte option when available) with a monitor.

I like it all in one place. Power and all my data.
__________________
Who doesn't like gadget rumors?
xhambonex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 09:57 PM   #4
kindablue09
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Hmm, in my ideal world I would have a mba & my iMac. Although data would be in two places, nothing would be the mba's portability.
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handle bars
kindablue09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 10:01 PM   #5
angemon89
macrumors 68000
 
angemon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The place where Apple designs stuff
I have 2 right now, and I'm trying to get rid of one (the iMac). I need all my stuff in one place.
__________________
Assembled in China (mostly)
angemon89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 10:23 PM   #6
entatlrg
Thread Starter
macrumors Demi-God
 
entatlrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
interesting, so far looks like most prefer to computers ...
__________________
iPhone 5S, iPad Air, 13" rMBP, Mac Pro
Line 2 -G Nexus, HTC One X, GS III, HTC One S, Nexus 4, BB Z10, HTC ONE, BBQ10 back to HTC ONE
entatlrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 10:59 PM   #7
Genghis Khan
macrumors 65816
 
Genghis Khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
2 computers when i'm working

I use my Mac Pro for rendering mostly (or some movie editing recently as well), so for long stretches of time, it's using all processors to do a job.

so i use a MacBook while i'm waiting...
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8GHz Octo, 10GB RAM, 2TB WD Black, 8800GT DEAD, EVGA GTX660 SC 2 GB
+ 30 stickers and counting
Genghis Khan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 10:59 PM   #8
duky
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
I've got two and it's the ideal. Windows Live Sync keeps files in sync and MobileMe takes care of the settings and preferences. The only thing I have to maintain is copying over my iTunes lib file from desktop to laptop..works like a charm..
__________________
2.6 rMBP; i7 Mini (xbmc); 64 GB iPad Air; 64GB iPhone 5s; 1080p aTV2; Canon 5DIII
duky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:01 PM   #9
dsnort
macrumors 68000
 
dsnort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In persona non grata
I have 10 Macs.

I think I may have a problem......
dsnort is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:01 PM   #10
GoKyu
macrumors 65816
 
GoKyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Orleans
Since coming over from the PC world in Jan '08, I've always just had a primary desktop computer tower. I really don't need to be able to take my computer with me wherever I go - I just prefer a desktop powerhouse system with plenty of internal hard drives and processing power. (Exactly why I purchased a Mac Pro over what may have been an adequate iMac.)

The only time I've ever needed to bring my system with me was for Katrina in '05, and that's a pretty extreme circumstance.

My iPhone lets me access my Mac when I'm out and around if I really need to (via LogMeIn), and otherwise serves as adequate internet access wherever I am
__________________
16 GB VZ iPad 3 16 GB Black iPhone 5
Mid 2011 Mac Mini 2.3Ghz i5 |14gb RAM|Samsung P2770HD
Epson Stylus Photo R1800|Bose Companion 5 speakers
GoKyu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:09 PM   #11
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Two Macs so far. I may get a Mac Pro in the future and run my Mac mini as a server. Also have laptop for on the go fun.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:15 PM   #12
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
I have six computers and others in my house have computers as well, though only four are in active use. However, each has their own use so the files do not need to be in sync. I use a laptop occasionally because I have to for work but its has little need for my standard files as I only use it to assist with diagnosing other peoples network and computer problems.

My desktops each have their own uses so they do not need any synchronizing. Since my gaming computer has dual 640GB hard drives it also acts as my backup center. If on the off chance I need a file not locally available I just connect to the shared drive to view the file.

Though I am contemplating a central server, with all computers set to automount the drive. I just don't know if I want to waste electricity on a 24/7 computer as I always turn them off when not in use. Being that I also would like a RAID 5 array gigabit Ethernet would be too slow and 10 gigabit is still too expensive.

I could see how it would be a pain for people whom need everything synchronized though. Why not try Chronosync?
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:33 PM   #13
robindahlia789
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Send a message via AIM to robindahlia789
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnort View Post
I have 10 Macs.

I think I may have a problem......
woah ten!
how long did that take too accumulate
__________________
Macbook
Iphone
robindahlia789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:39 PM   #14
aaronw1986
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by xhambonex View Post
Personally a Mac Pro and a MBP 15". Since that won't ever happen for me, MBP 15" (matte option when available) with a monitor.

I like it all in one place. Power and all my data.
+1...except for me it's a reality!
__________________
2012 rMBP 15" 2.6 Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
2008 Mac Pro 8 core 2.8Ghz, 8800GT, 14GB RAM, 3TB
iPad 2 Black 64GB Verizon
2007 MBP 15" 2.4Ghz Glossy:4GB RAM
aaronw1986 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2009, 11:55 PM   #15
J&JPolangin
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Japan...at the waters edge...
...well, I've got 4 winXP machines including the two portables in my sig and my first iMac that's been fun playing with for the last 3 days...

The oldest P4 desktop is a server for my HDTV now and as they die, I'll probably build a i7 Intel gaming rig when win7 becomes stable and eventually get a macbook in ~1 year when they get a bit more powerful...
__________________
2011 21" iMac, AEBS, 2009 2.0Ghz nVidia 9400M WB 4GB RAM & 64Gb SSD, 2011 13" MBP w/ 512Gb SSD/8Gb RAM, 2013 11.6" MBA & iPad3 64gb 4G
PC's: X6, H60, 12Gb RAM, 3x1Tb HDD, 128Gb SSD
J&JPolangin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 12:06 AM   #16
OceanView
macrumors 6502a
 
OceanView's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I prefer 3 but can live with 2.
OceanView is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 12:08 AM   #17
sushi
Moderator emeritus
 
sushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: キャンプスワンピー [Japan]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsnort View Post
I have 10 Macs.

I think I may have a problem......
Don't worry, you have company. I'll be standing in line with you.

On a weekly basis at home, I use 2 PCs, 2 desktop Macs and 2 laptop Macs.

I also have another 2 desktop Macs, 1 laptop Mac and a few others that I use on a lesser basis.

My most used computer is my MBP15. I have a 500GB HD -- that is almost filled -- that I use for everything. I wish that 1TB portable hard drives were out already. Anyhow, I find it handy to be able to take everything with me so no matter where I am at, I have all my files at hand.
__________________
You only live twice, once when you are born, and when you look death in the face. *Basho style poem from 007 YOLT.
sushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 03:52 AM   #18
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
I like 1 machine. I find it a huge waste of time to sync 2, and with two machines you just use each one less and don't really take advantage of them before they're replaced.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 04:08 AM   #19
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
I have a Mac Pro (main photo editing station) and a Mac Book Pro 15" (which i use at work (on a windows network), and tethered photo shooting/showing photo's).

One of the really nice features with a Mac is the automatic syncing of Bookmarks, address book and keychain if you have a mobileme account. Also backtomymac comes in handy as well.
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 05:35 AM   #20
MACoconut
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
how about an iMac with a netbook/macbook?
MACoconut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 05:41 AM   #21
yoak
macrumors 65816
 
yoak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oslo, Norway
I have a Mac Pro that I do all the heavy editing and rendering on, and a MBP that I bring along on location.
I could live with just the MBP, but I would have to sit around waiting a lot more.
Not even sure if my MBP could have handled the editing of the bigger projects.
It can be a problem, but mostly I keep external HD for files I need on both computers.
(My wife use the iBook)
__________________
2.8ghz MP Octo
2,66ghz MBP, SSD Corsair Force 240GB, 8GB RAM
12" iBook 1.2ghz 60GB HD & 768RAM
www.sombrafilm.com
yoak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 06:59 AM   #22
Bye Bye Baby
macrumors 65816
 
Bye Bye Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: i(am in the)cloud
I need two. One main computer and the other for all my on the road work. Keeping them in sync is a real challenge but I think I have it worked out.

I use TC for incremental wireless backups for both. I have a drobo for my media content- around a 1 TB which I have attached via droboshare. I use the drobo for a clone of both HDs as well. Both the iMac and the MacPro can access the drobo via the drobo apps.

All documents are kept on idisk whoch synce between both computers automatically plus mobileme for settings, email and the rest.

It is quite a setup but it works very well.
__________________
27" iMac i7 + 27" ACD + 11" Macbook Air i7 + Mac Mini
iPhone 5 + iPad 4G + iPod Touch
G4 Cube + 15" ACD + 17" iMac G4 + Color Mac + Mac Classic II
Bye Bye Baby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 08:32 AM   #23
bikalpapaudel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dharan, Nepal
I have two Machines put to regular use. One MacBook and other Windows XP Box.

Both of them live in their own world. Nothing is in sync. They arent networked. Most of my files are distributed, and I use external thumb drives if its necessary to bring over something from one computer to another.

Basically I dont even remember I have another computer when I am on one. I'm just too lazy to network them. Maybe because I dont need it.
----

I would love the ecosystem that a 24" iMac, Aluminum MacBook, Airport Extreme, Time Capsule would provide. Thats way beyonf what I can afford though.
----

Also, I have always wanted to own a Legacy Mac. Maybe an iBook, or a PowerBook, or an eMac.. Anything with a PPC processor as I completely missed that era of Apple computing. I just want to feel what it was like in those days and use that extra computer as a Sandbox for stuff.
__________________
Aluminum MacBook 2.0, iPod Touch 16GB
AOC 22" Full HD
Windows XP Box | 2.4 P4 | 1GB DDR | 80 + 320 GB HD | FX 5200
bikalpapaudel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 09:30 AM   #24
macJC50640
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via AIM to macJC50640
Very soon, I will have accumulated 5 Macs.

iBook G3, my work computer, as I use it only for Word for Mac 2004 with 10.2

PowerBook G3 Wallstreet, my fun vintage computer, I use it for the cool apps it has and OS 8.5

iMac G3 Graphite, This machine is one of the fastest G3 iMacs Apple made with a 700 mhz processor. This serves as a backup machine, or maybe a radio.

iMac G4, this is a work of art. I will be buying this off of my Spanish teacher this Friday the 8th. I will use it for some surfing.

iMac aluminum, I will be ordering a new iMac Monday or Tuesday, this will obviously be my main machine and workhorse.

So, here I am reaching the 5th Mac. They each have their own place in the collection, and I like to keep them in good use, even the old ones. So I guess you could say I prefer many computers?
__________________
iMac Aluminum 24 inch Early 2009, 2.66/4gb/640gb
iPhone 5 BLACK/SLATE, 64gb
iPad mini BLACK/SLATE, 16gb
+ many other old, useless Apple items
macJC50640 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2009, 10:12 AM   #25
macgrl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I have a mbp and would like to get an imac too
__________________
13" 1.8 GHz i7 MBA 4GB 256GB HD
iPad 2 16GB Wi-Fi
macgrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro - one processor or two for Photoshop? CXsjr Mac Pro 11 Feb 24, 2010 08:11 PM
Attaching second display: Two on one card, or two seperate cards? jconly Mac Pro 11 Sep 1, 2008 01:38 PM
One Graphics or Two or Three or MORE... flyingscott Mac Pro 7 Nov 3, 2007 05:18 AM
is there one or two speakers on the iPhone? semperfimarine2 iPhone 6 Jul 4, 2007 12:54 AM
one mac or two? imaginaryponds@ Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 7 Apr 19, 2004 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC