Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fenixx

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 23, 2006
I'm a designer. I'm use to designing these websites and handing them off the web guy but I am solo on this one.

I just want an incredibly simple, click to go to next "slide" type slideshow. I've been messing with "slideshowpro" but i think it is over complicating what I want to do.

Please, please, please - I just want something incredibly simple to setup - should I use Flash (and if so, what should I do) or should I just create something in Dreamweaver (and if so, what, lol). I've designed what I wanted to do and attached below.

- Any help is very much appreciated. Maybe I can typeset something for you in return ;)

Attachments

• DARKCOMP.jpg
    DARKCOMP.jpg
    66.2 KB · Views: 119

pelsar

macrumors regular
Apr 29, 2008
israel
how programming challenged are you?

if you know virtually nothing, one option is flashden.com....you can buy a flash slide show that uses xml (a way of linking pictures to the internal flash program).

the swf file you import into your website page.....and your done.

option 2 requires basic knowlege of html...you make each page with your image and link text to the "next" page.

snickelfritz

macrumors 65816
Oct 24, 2003
Tucson AZ
The graphics and timeline animation aspects of Flash development are simple, and often attract artists/designers due to the true WYSIWYG environment.
The main problem with Flash is that it is essentially akin to writing Java applications.
In most cases, intermediate Actionscript 3.0 skills, and an absolutely solid understanding of the display list and event architecture are mandatory.
Simple timeline solutions usually do not work well for image galleries, since this means embedding a lot of images in the SWF. Not good.

>