Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

robertnzana

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2009
I am an ASP.NET/HTML/CSS/MySql (maybe soon PHP) developer. I am also NEW to the Mac world.

What is the best web development/design tool on the mac?

I've come across Dreamweaver CS4, Expresso and Code so far. What are your thoughts?

Thanks!

kastenbrust

macrumors 68030
Dec 26, 2008
North Korea
Every knows its Dreamweaver, if your new though CS4 will be a challenge for you to learn, and it also depends which codes you use mainly, but for ASP and PHP dreamwaver is great because it easily colour differentiates them for you in the code.

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
I've never been a fan of Dreamweaver myself, and there isn't a lot of people here who use it. I use BBEdit to hand code everything (TextWrangler is a free version of BBEdit). Then I test locally using MAMP as my environment.

In the end you need to use an app that fits your methods the best. Take a look through the stickies in this forum and just start trying out apps. Most should have a free trial period so no risks there.

NoNameBrand

macrumors 6502
Nov 17, 2005
Halifax, Canada
Every knows its Dreamweaver, if your new though CS4 will be a challenge for you to learn, and it also depends which codes you use mainly, but for ASP and PHP dreamwaver is great because it easily colour differentiates them for you in the code.

:eek:

Syntax highlighting isn't uncommon.

I use Coda myself, which I quite like, but haven't tried Espresso. 85% of my time is spent in Vim running on assorted Mac and Linux boxes.

Mal

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2002
Orlando
Right now I've been using Smultron and Cyberduck for my editing/FTP combo, and Fireworks for images. I'd love to use Espresso, but right now it doesn't work right for my sites (having permissions problems when writing files, and won't connect to one of my servers).

jW

memco