Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 13, 2009, 11:46 AM   #1
anti-microsoft
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Do these Windows games work with the iMac?

Hi there,

It's my brothers birthday in a couple of weeks and we would like to buy an iMac that works with these windows games (I'll post more when I get home, I'm on my iPod now):

- The Sims 2 and various expansion packs
- star wars battlefront II
- Lego starwars 1&2
- splinter cell
- star wars republic commando

So my question is... Which iMac is required to play these Windows games? Are the graphic specs up to scratch on the iMac?

I really appretiate your help,
Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 11:55 AM   #2
MaTUC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santiago de Chile
Yep , all of them will run on the iMac , dont worry
__________________
13.3'' White MacBook / 2.1 Ghz / 4GB RAM / Intel GMA X3100 / 120 GB HD / Mac OS X 10.6.3 / 80 GB iPod Classic
MaTUC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 11:57 AM   #3
anti-microsoft
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaTUC View Post
Yep , all of them will run on the iMac , dont worry
Even the base model? Are you sure? If so, great! Thanks!

Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 12:01 PM   #4
MaTUC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santiago de Chile
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
Even the base model? Are you sure? If so, great! Thanks!

Ams.
The Base model has the NVIDIA 9400M right? I've been able to run The Sims 2 and expansions , star wars battlefront (the mac versions , which are known to be crappy) on my crappy GMA video card.. don't worry
__________________
13.3'' White MacBook / 2.1 Ghz / 4GB RAM / Intel GMA X3100 / 120 GB HD / Mac OS X 10.6.3 / 80 GB iPod Classic
MaTUC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 12:02 PM   #5
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
None of those are particularly demanding games. Even the integrated 9400m will run them. If you are worried about future gaming requirements, then the GT130 or 4850 are the models you want.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 12:48 PM   #6
neiltc13
macrumors 68040
 
neiltc13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
Are the graphic specs up to scratch on the iMac?
In a word - no. Apple has never been known to produce computers with up to date graphics chips and the current iMacs are no exception. The chips they use for graphics are incredibly outdated or underpowered.

If your brother's primary use of the computer will be for games then look somewhere other than Apple. You could build a computer which would destroy the iMac in graphical performance for less than half of its price.
neiltc13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 01:06 PM   #7
jtgotsjets
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lawrence, KS
Send a message via AIM to jtgotsjets
Quote:
Originally Posted by neiltc13 View Post
In a word - no. Apple has never been known to produce computers with up to date graphics chips and the current iMacs are no exception. The chips they use for graphics are incredibly outdated or underpowered.

If your brother's primary use of the computer will be for games then look somewhere other than Apple. You could build a computer which would destroy the iMac in graphical performance for less than half of its price.
Read the post before you reply; look at the games he wants to play.

The iMac will be more than adequate. Including the base model.
__________________
-24" iMac, 2.66 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM
jtgotsjets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 01:15 PM   #8
Hector Domingo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
will a new Macbook Pro run Empire: Total war???
__________________
Hector Domingo
15" MacBook Pro 2.8GHz
1st Gen IPod Touch 32GB
Hector Domingo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 02:08 PM   #9
Blair230
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Near Philly
You should be fine with the MBP. Might not be able to max out the settings fully but should be able to play on high settings.

Bootcamp of course.
Blair230 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 02:14 PM   #10
Rhalliwell1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
just to give you a bit of info on the graphics power of an iMac; Top of the range model (with 4Gb of RAM, not 8) will run Call of Duty 4 on full graphics flawlessly. They are powerful machines.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro 2.6Ghz/4GB/200GB/Nvidia 8600; 24" iMac 3.06Ghz/8GB/1TB/ATI 4850; 24" LED ACD; 16GB iPhone 4S White.
Rhalliwell1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 03:14 PM   #11
anti-microsoft
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Thanks guys for the responses, I really appreciate them.
So I think I'm going to go for the 2.93GHz iMac... Sounds good enough, no?

Once again, thanks.

Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2009, 04:25 PM   #12
007bond
macrumors 6502a
 
007bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
Thanks guys for the responses, I really appreciate them.
So I think I'm going to go for the 2.93GHz iMac... Sounds good enough, no?

Once again, thanks.

Ams.
amazing choice. it will be slightly future proof as well. but i would suggest an upgrade to the ati card if u have the cash
__________________
LG Nexus 5 White; iMac 27" 2009 3.06 GHz Core 2 Duo; 2014 MacBook Air 13"
007bond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2009, 09:03 PM   #13
ZeroCorpse
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Okemos, MI
I enjoy Oblivion on my MacBook... So I think the iMac could handle those games!
ZeroCorpse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2009, 09:30 PM   #14
MacHipster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago/London/Sydney
Wait!

Are you asking whether his games (for the PC) will work directly on an iMac? The answer is no. He'll need a copy of windows to do so via Bootcamp or Parallels or Fusion. Assuming this is what he'll be doing, then they will work fine.
MacHipster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2009, 10:30 PM   #15
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
Yeah, uh, just to be clear. You'll need a copy of windows to install on the iMac in order to run those games. The hardware itself should be plenty, but you'll need to dual boot it or obtain Mac versions of those games.*



*I have no idea if Mac versions exist for those games.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 12:02 AM   #16
anti-microsoft
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Thanks for pointing it out but I already knew that. Maybe I wasn't clear enough, I was asking about the hardware specs.

Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 12:22 AM   #17
angemon89
macrumors 68000
 
angemon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The place where Apple designs stuff
I would check the refurb store and try to get one with dedicated graphics.

Here is the 2.4 model on clearance.
__________________
Assembled in China (mostly)
angemon89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 12:24 AM   #18
anti-microsoft
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by angemon89 View Post
I would check the refurb store and try to get one with dedicated graphics.

Here is the 2.4 model on clearance.
Yeah I appreciate that, and I had looked at these, but for what he needs I think the 2.93Ghz model will be fine. The bigger screen is a plus and so is 4GB of RAM out of the box.

Ams.
anti-microsoft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 12:09 PM   #19
angemon89
macrumors 68000
 
angemon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The place where Apple designs stuff
Quote:
Originally Posted by anti-microsoft View Post
Yeah I appreciate that, and I had looked at these, but for what he needs I think the 2.93Ghz model will be fine. The bigger screen is a plus and so is 4GB of RAM out of the box.

Ams.
Oh, sorry. I thought you were looking to get one with the 9400m.

Yeah, for sure get the 2.93 machine. Good choice.
__________________
Assembled in China (mostly)
angemon89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Do all Steam games work for OS X? drenline Mac and PC Games 12 Apr 30, 2014 03:34 PM
Will games work on new MBA? iFusionApple Buying Tips and Advice 4 Jun 27, 2013 08:21 AM
Macbook Pro fail to work/reinstall on Mac OS, but work on windows saqxank MacBook Pro 0 Feb 28, 2013 12:15 PM
I bought a used imac 20" 2007 version - what windows will work best on this machine? cskeelemac iMac 2 Jan 21, 2013 02:33 AM
iMac and windows on external thunderbolt SSD: Will this work? Mac32 iMac 0 Nov 28, 2012 11:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC