Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2009, 08:24 PM   #1
RichieCat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Problems returning a faulty i phone with 3.0 beta installed

I am a registered iPhone developer and have 3.0 Beta 5 installed on my iPhone 3G. Unfortunately my phone has developed a hardware fault with the home button not working so i took into my local Apple Store for a genius to have a look at it.

I was told that because i am running 3.0 beta that they cannot support the phone even though he believed it to have a hardware fault. The problem appears to be because they are unable to downgrade the installed software to 2.2.1 to confirm that it is not a software fault causing the issue.

The genius in the store advised that i should wait for 3.0 final to be released at which point they would be able to do a reinstall of 3.0 to confirm the fault is hardware, at which point they would replace the phone. Problem is my warranty expires fairly soon and might have expired before 3.0 is released!

He also advised that i could contact Apple about this via the developer site .. but i'm unable to find an email address that i can send this query to..

So does this mean that by paying to join the iPhone developer program and installing beta 3.0 on my phone I invalidate my iPhone Warranty?
RichieCat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:27 PM   #2
anjinha
macrumors 604
 
anjinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
I think it's possible to downgrade to 2.2.1 with DFU mode. There's even a thread about it.
__________________
Thank you Steve.
anjinha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:32 PM   #3
pugnut
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I never had any issues

You need to press your case. I live in VA and had to return two phones because of issues, one was bricked and the other was just stuck. These were developers phones, never had anything other then Beta on them. If it is a hardware issue and the phone is not operable the will cover it. Don not attempt to downgrade that will void the developer agreement

I have a developer that had issues with his phone in Atlanta and also had no issues.

I live in Northern VA , use the clarendon and Tysons store.
pugnut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:35 PM   #4
dmarch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Big Sky, MT
I had my iphone replaced for a bad home button. The Genius mentioned that they don't support phones with the beta, but he would "help me out". Try another day or store.
dmarch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:36 PM   #5
RichieCat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
anjinhamarota cant find that info about downgrading to 2.2.1 using DFU mode.. do you have a link to it?

Although.. it might be a little difficult to get the phone into DFU mode without using the home button .. (might be possible at it does work occasionally).
RichieCat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:36 PM   #6
Knowlege Bomb
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I restored my 3G from 3.0 and returned it for signal issues. It's not incredibly difficult to do the downgrade. You just need to be able to read and follow instructions. The tools are out there.

I'm also in Northern VA and use the Tysons and Fair Oaks locations.
Knowlege Bomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:39 PM   #7
anjinha
macrumors 604
 
anjinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichieCat View Post
anjinhamarota cant find that info about downgrading to 2.2.1 using DFU mode.. do you have a link to it?

Although.. it might be a little difficult to get the phone into DFU mode without using the home button .. (might be possible at it does work occasionally).
Here's a link: http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/.../t-670520.html

But yeah, might be difficult with your home button not working properly, I didn't think of that.
__________________
Thank you Steve.
anjinha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 09:29 PM   #8
The Californian
macrumors Demi-God
 
The Californian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surfers Paradise
Nice of Apple to look after developers like that.
__________________
Half of what I say is meaningless, but I say it so that the other half may reach you.
All I need are some tasty waves and a cool buzz and Iím fine.
The Californian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 09:34 PM   #9
t0mat0
macrumors 601
 
t0mat0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Home
Couldn't you call Apple - they could put you through to the right people. Might sort it out that way.
__________________
Next up - Haswell, Maxwell and 22nm
t0mat0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 10:01 PM   #10
Untaken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Did the 3.0 software come with a little disclaimer stating that upgrading to the Beta would void your warranty? I didn't think so, therefore they can't legally refuse to help you. Push the issue and if all else fails do what was suggested already and downgrade, it's unlikely they'll check the baseband version.
Untaken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 09:26 AM   #11
courtney.bella
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Untaken View Post
Did the 3.0 software come with a little disclaimer stating that upgrading to the Beta would void your warranty? I didn't think so, therefore they can't legally refuse to help you. Push the issue and if all else fails do what was suggested already and downgrade, it's unlikely they'll check the baseband version.

Actually, yes, it does come with a disclaimer exactly like that. When you agree to join, or whatever, read the whole disclaimer.
__________________
black MacBook, iPod classic, silver, 120GB, BlackBerry Bold 9000
courtney.bella is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 09:36 AM   #12
mavis
macrumors 68040
 
mavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Send a message via AIM to mavis Send a message via MSN to mavis
I had my 3G replaced while running 3.0b2. The AppleCare rep I spoke with on the phone when I made the Genius Bar appointment knew when I read her my serial that I was running 3.0, but said it wasn't a problem. The staff at the Apple Store knew as well, and didn't hesitate for a second to replace the phone. I don't understand what the problem could be ...
__________________
27" iMac | 13" MacBook Air | AEBSx2 | ATV3
128GB rMini LTE | 64GB iPad Air | 64GB iPhone 5S
mavis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 09:46 AM   #13
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
If it was a 3.0 issues than every iPhone 3G with 3.0 would have a dead home button and that's kind a big bug and Apple wouldn't release even beta software that disabled the only important button on the device. Haha. Keep trying. Try a different Apple Store maybe.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 10:25 AM   #14
anjinha
macrumors 604
 
anjinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpaz View Post
If it was a 3.0 issues than every iPhone 3G with 3.0 would have a dead home button and that's kind a big bug and Apple wouldn't release even beta software that disabled the only important button on the device. Haha. Keep trying. Try a different Apple Store maybe.
Actually, not every bug affects every phone... That's why, for example, some people had a terrible experience with 2.0 and for some it was great.

But I do agree that apple wouldn't release a beta that affected the home button like that.
__________________
Thank you Steve.
anjinha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 07:30 PM   #15
Untaken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by courtney.bella View Post
Actually, yes, it does come with a disclaimer exactly like that. When you agree to join, or whatever, read the whole disclaimer.
Wrong. The agreement says nothing about voiding your warranty, just that your device will be locked into "test mode" (which is a lie of course).
Untaken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 10:37 PM   #16
dauerhippo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarch View Post
I had my iphone replaced for a bad home button. The Genius mentioned that they don't support phones with the beta, but he would "help me out". Try another day or store.
I had the exact same experience
dauerhippo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 11:23 PM   #17
lakaiordie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Untaken View Post
Wrong. The agreement says nothing about voiding your warranty, just that your device will be locked into "test mode" (which is a lie of course).
it would make no sense at all to void the warranty just because you're running the beta.
__________________
iphone 5s/late 2013 imac 21.5
lakaiordie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009, 12:32 PM   #18
ZbadhabitZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Had you been running the beta without being a registered developer, or fried your phone trying to put the beta on when you shouldn't have; that's one thing.

I, too, am a registered developer, running 3.0 beta 5, and have some odd issues with the phone that others don't seem to be. I attributed it to the firmware, but noticed that a fellow developer, same iPhone and firmware, wasn't having any of the same issues.

I've been holding out taking it to the Apple Store, thinking they'd turn me down since I'm running the beta, even though the phone runs so poorly it can't even be used as a test device.

Long story short, I imagine a physical malfunction they will take care of. Keep trying that Apple Store, or try another. I know there IS a number for developers to call, not for technical support, but for other needs. Perhaps you can talk to them.
ZbadhabitZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009, 05:38 PM   #19
RichieCat
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Problem solved !

I took the phone to another Apple Store as recommended by a few people from here, and they swapped it out for a new one. Mind you i was fairly instant, when i asked if installing 3.0 beta as a registered developer voided my iphone hardware warranty I got the "oh no of course not sir" response .. seemed to do the trick ;-)

Thanks for all the suggestions...
RichieCat is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T: Returning a phone. SolarShane Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 11 May 9, 2014 05:50 AM
returning a phone after trade-in (5S) Jeff3f iPhone 8 Sep 23, 2013 08:46 AM
could my new phone be faulty? weesy iPhone 1 Sep 18, 2013 09:25 AM
How to install iOS 7 Beta 4, without having previous beta's installed ra4oasis iOS 7 1 Aug 2, 2013 10:41 AM
Returning phone and contract question czar44 iPhone 4 Sep 29, 2012 11:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC