Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RichieCat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2008
I am a registered iPhone developer and have 3.0 Beta 5 installed on my iPhone 3G. Unfortunately my phone has developed a hardware fault with the home button not working so i took into my local Apple Store for a genius to have a look at it.

I was told that because i am running 3.0 beta that they cannot support the phone even though he believed it to have a hardware fault. The problem appears to be because they are unable to downgrade the installed software to 2.2.1 to confirm that it is not a software fault causing the issue.

The genius in the store advised that i should wait for 3.0 final to be released at which point they would be able to do a reinstall of 3.0 to confirm the fault is hardware, at which point they would replace the phone. Problem is my warranty expires fairly soon and might have expired before 3.0 is released!

He also advised that i could contact Apple about this via the developer site .. but i'm unable to find an email address that i can send this query to..

So does this mean that by paying to join the iPhone developer program and installing beta 3.0 on my phone I invalidate my iPhone Warranty?

pugnut

macrumors 6502a
Jul 1, 2007
I never had any issues

You need to press your case. I live in VA and had to return two phones because of issues, one was bricked and the other was just stuck. These were developers phones, never had anything other then Beta on them. If it is a hardware issue and the phone is not operable the will cover it. Don not attempt to downgrade that will void the developer agreement

I have a developer that had issues with his phone in Atlanta and also had no issues.

I live in Northern VA , use the clarendon and Tysons store.

dmarch

macrumors regular
Nov 14, 2007
Big Sky, MT