Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 20, 2009, 11:57 AM   #1
jon08
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Word for Mac - full screen etc. HELP

1. Whenever I open it, it will open to almost the full screen height - I'd still need to click the green (+) button, to stretch the Word window down entirely. Still then, if I wanted it in full screen, I'd have to drag it manually over the entire screen. So my question is, how to make it ALWAYS open in full size (that is, over the entire screen)?

2. Whenever I open Word, my keyboard will switch to US English. I've tried setting Default Language in Word to some other language, but when I start Word the US English keyboard will apparently still pop out regardless. How to make the program not change my keyboard on each launch?
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M500 480GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 

Last edited by jon08; May 20, 2009 at 03:00 PM.
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 12:19 PM   #2
illegallydead
macrumors 6502a
 
illegallydead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon08 View Post
1. Whenever I open it, it will open to almost the full screen height - I'd still need to click the green (+) button, to stretch the Word window down entirely. Still then, if I wanted it in full screen, I'd have to drag it manually over the entire screen. So my question is, how to make it ALWAYS open in full size (that is, over the entire screen)?

2. Whenever I open Word, my keyboard will switch to US English. I've tried setting Default Language in Word to some other language, but when I start Word the US English keyboard will apparently still pop out regardless. How to make the program not change my keyboard on each launch?
1: Not much you can do about that. That's just Apple's windowing environment for you. Things don't necessarily always make sense / work perfectly right.

2: I have little experience with other language settings. However, it could have something to do with the version of Word you got? Again, I may not be a whole lot of help here, but it sounds like there is either poor programming on M$'s part, or you got the wrong version of Office for your language/nationality, perhaps...
__________________
"Lord, what fools these mortals be." - Shakespeare (A Midsummer Night's Dream)
Stupidica.com
illegallydead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 12:27 PM   #3
marold280
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
This is an excellent piece of software for 1. no idea about 2 though sorry
__________________
MacBook Pro 13inch, Nexus S, (soon to have) iPad 2
marold280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 01:08 PM   #4
jon08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by illegallydead View Post
1: Not much you can do about that. That's just Apple's windowing environment for you. Things don't necessarily always make sense / work perfectly right.

2: I have little experience with other language settings. However, it could have something to do with the version of Word you got? Again, I may not be a whole lot of help here, but it sounds like there is either poor programming on M$'s part, or you got the wrong version of Office for your language/nationality, perhaps...
I have the English version of Office, but also have the English version of iWork, yet in the latter it will never switch keyboards automatically upon launching Pages.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marold280 View Post
This is an excellent piece of software for 1.
True, I've seen this before and will give it a try. I just hoped there would be a "natural" setting that would open the program in full screen automatically. C'mon Apple, do something about it!!
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M500 480GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 02:27 PM   #5
jon08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by marold280 View Post
This is an excellent piece of software for 1. no idea about 2 though sorry
I just tried RightZoom and while it does open Word in full screen now, it still doesn't fit it completely to the screen (leaving small fissures on top and at the bottom), meaning I'd still have to press the green (+) to make it fit the screen, which irritates me. Why doesn't it work right away??
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M500 480GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QT full screen available on Apple trailers site for Mac but not for Windows. QuantumLo0p Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 28, 2013 09:50 AM
MacBook Pro Retina full screen video issues/not entire screen real estate full adeedew MacBook Pro 4 Apr 22, 2013 07:40 PM
Utilize full screen for 1900 X 1200 screen? vpro MacBook Pro 5 Dec 13, 2012 05:52 AM
W/ larger screen + full screen mode, is safari again your browser of choice for iP5? Big.Mac.Daddy iPhone 10 Sep 23, 2012 08:43 PM
Full screen mode (Lion10.7) with Screen Sharing with Multiple Monitors? deansawyer Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 23, 2012 05:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC