Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 20, 2009, 11:57 AM   #1
jon08
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Word for Mac - full screen etc. HELP

1. Whenever I open it, it will open to almost the full screen height - I'd still need to click the green (+) button, to stretch the Word window down entirely. Still then, if I wanted it in full screen, I'd have to drag it manually over the entire screen. So my question is, how to make it ALWAYS open in full size (that is, over the entire screen)?

2. Whenever I open Word, my keyboard will switch to US English. I've tried setting Default Language in Word to some other language, but when I start Word the US English keyboard will apparently still pop out regardless. How to make the program not change my keyboard on each launch?
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M4 512GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 

Last edited by jon08; May 20, 2009 at 03:00 PM.
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 12:19 PM   #2
illegallydead
macrumors 6502a
 
illegallydead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon08 View Post
1. Whenever I open it, it will open to almost the full screen height - I'd still need to click the green (+) button, to stretch the Word window down entirely. Still then, if I wanted it in full screen, I'd have to drag it manually over the entire screen. So my question is, how to make it ALWAYS open in full size (that is, over the entire screen)?

2. Whenever I open Word, my keyboard will switch to US English. I've tried setting Default Language in Word to some other language, but when I start Word the US English keyboard will apparently still pop out regardless. How to make the program not change my keyboard on each launch?
1: Not much you can do about that. That's just Apple's windowing environment for you. Things don't necessarily always make sense / work perfectly right.

2: I have little experience with other language settings. However, it could have something to do with the version of Word you got? Again, I may not be a whole lot of help here, but it sounds like there is either poor programming on M$'s part, or you got the wrong version of Office for your language/nationality, perhaps...
__________________
"Lord, what fools these mortals be." - Shakespeare (A Midsummer Night's Dream)
Stupidica.com
illegallydead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 12:27 PM   #3
marold280
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
This is an excellent piece of software for 1. no idea about 2 though sorry
__________________
MacBook Pro 13inch, Nexus S, (soon to have) iPad 2
marold280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 01:08 PM   #4
jon08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by illegallydead View Post
1: Not much you can do about that. That's just Apple's windowing environment for you. Things don't necessarily always make sense / work perfectly right.

2: I have little experience with other language settings. However, it could have something to do with the version of Word you got? Again, I may not be a whole lot of help here, but it sounds like there is either poor programming on M$'s part, or you got the wrong version of Office for your language/nationality, perhaps...
I have the English version of Office, but also have the English version of iWork, yet in the latter it will never switch keyboards automatically upon launching Pages.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marold280 View Post
This is an excellent piece of software for 1.
True, I've seen this before and will give it a try. I just hoped there would be a "natural" setting that would open the program in full screen automatically. C'mon Apple, do something about it!!
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M4 512GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2009, 02:27 PM   #5
jon08
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by marold280 View Post
This is an excellent piece of software for 1. no idea about 2 though sorry
I just tried RightZoom and while it does open Word in full screen now, it still doesn't fit it completely to the screen (leaving small fissures on top and at the bottom), meaning I'd still have to press the green (+) to make it fit the screen, which irritates me. Why doesn't it work right away??
__________________
 15.4" MacBook Pro (late 2011), 2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7, Crucial 8GB RAM, Crucial M4 512GB SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M 
 iPhone 5 16 GB 
jon08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excel 11 for Mac on a 27" iMac Crotonmark Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Sep 12, 2011 02:00 PM
Lion, full screen with external monitor? fixed? Ulf1103 MacBook Pro 0 Aug 26, 2011 08:02 AM
What could a Full Screen Finder look like?! ApoorvJ Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 17 Dec 10, 2010 03:59 PM
Word for Mac - Why does it suck so much? Lostatsea3 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 54 Mar 31, 2009 09:01 AM
Guitar hero game for Mac only full screen?? luckygrllex Mac and PC Games 0 Feb 2, 2009 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC