Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 2, 2009, 12:12 PM   #51
thebassoonist
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Davis, CA
How long did installation take?
__________________
TheBassoonist
iPod Video 60 GB - White, iPod Shuffle 3G - Turquoise, 3G iPhone4 16 GB, MBP SR 2.4GHz, 2 GB Ram, 15" Matte
thebassoonist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 07:25 PM   #52
rawrmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
I don't know much about computers, and i'm worried it will slow down my macbook. i have a aluminum macbook with a 2.4GHz processor and 4GB of memory. Will it run well?
rawrmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 07:33 PM   #53
peepboon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
installation is easy and quick!

Also, it doesn't slow ur laptop down. a 2.4GHZ with 4GB will run it smoothly.

It does however slow your system down after u quit the game due to the way macbook dedicates the ram, etc etc etc a quick restart or a 2-4min wait will smooth things back to normal
peepboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 07:56 PM   #54
Buskape
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Switzerland
Game runs fine here at native resolution 1280x800, 4gigs of ram
__________________
MacBook Aluminium 2,4 Ghz, Macbook Air 11", iPhone 5 64GB White, iPad 2 32Gb, iPad 3 32Gb, iPad Mini 16gb black, Nikon D7000
Buskape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 08:26 PM   #55
Peikko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
OCZ or Crucial
Kind of off-topic, but still - Don't know about Crucial, but I've had two friends rage on OCZ for shipping shot RAM in a box. In case anyone's on the fence to go with one or the other and looking for some info.
__________________
PC - i7-2600K, Asus P8Z68-V, 8GB RAM DDR3, GTX570, OCZ Vertex SSD, Dell 2209WA, W7 64 Pro || Asus N43JM +120 GB Patriot Inferno SSD & Sony Optiarc BD-5730S, W7 64 HP || 2GB iPod Nano
Peikko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 02:17 AM   #56
theARNSKI
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
I'm running off 2gigs of ram and it does fairly well. Very playable. But I am considering doing a ram upgrade to 4gigs once the paycheck rolls in.
theARNSKI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 08:17 AM   #57
SilentGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: University City, Philadelphia, PA
Somewhat off topic -- what do you guys and gals think of the game? I skipped over The Sims 2 as I didn't have the time nor money to start a new collection after The Sims. The Sims 3 looks very promising; thoughts?

I would be playing on a Windows PC, my MacBook is too old to run The Sims 3. (Original Core Duo)
__________________
STOP WHINING! </A. Schwarzenegger>
Greg
SilentGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 10:28 AM   #58
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentGreg View Post
Somewhat off topic -- what do you guys and gals think of the game? I skipped over The Sims 2 as I didn't have the time nor money to start a new collection after The Sims. The Sims 3 looks very promising; thoughts?

I would be playing on a Windows PC, my MacBook is too old to run The Sims 3. (Original Core Duo)
It's a very interesting game. I love the no loading screens, and the graphics do look nice when boosted up to full (Although you do lose a little bit of performance - I find it lags ever so slightly on my Macbook (see specs in sig)). In fact, you've made me want to play it now! DAMN YOU! I have revision to do!
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 12:41 PM   #59
teksurv
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tristangage View Post
It's a very interesting game. I love the no loading screens, and the graphics do look nice when boosted up to full (Although you do lose a little bit of performance - I find it lags ever so slightly on my Macbook (see specs in sig)). In fact, you've made me want to play it now! DAMN YOU! I have revision to do!

This may seem like a silly question, but I noticed you have the same Nvidia Whitebook that I do. Do your fans run full blast when playing Sims 3? Mine do (Mac version), and that's the only real issue I have otherwise great game!
teksurv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 02:39 PM   #60
twinings
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by untitled-i View Post
sorry to be a pain - am new here, just wondered how the X3100 videocard was holding up for the graphics as other users seem to have the unibody with nvidea graphics cards...

(2.1 GHz white macbook, 120GB HD, X3100 video card and currently only 1GB RAM)
Same here! I was wondering if anyone had a macbook with the X1300 and the shop version of the Sims 3? My specs are:
2.4 GHz
Intel 2 Core Duo processor
250GB Hard Drive
4GB RAM
800 MHz
Integrated Intel X1300 with 144MB VRAM

(It's a White, not an aluminium Macbook)

I suppose my main question was how fast would the game be with these specs? I don't mind about graphics at all, so long as the game itself doesn't 'lag' or stutter. Also, is the RAM or the video card more important for this?

Thanks so much for your help!
twinings is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2009, 02:34 PM   #61
Buskape
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Switzerland
Wink

A video of the sims 3 on the unibody macbook

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFc3w4b7ohU
__________________
MacBook Aluminium 2,4 Ghz, Macbook Air 11", iPhone 5 64GB White, iPad 2 32Gb, iPad 3 32Gb, iPad Mini 16gb black, Nikon D7000
Buskape is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 08:44 AM   #62
pepitko
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I've installed Sims 3 on my MacBook Pro two days ago, and the game is running quite slow, for my taste.

My specs: Aluminum MacBook Pro, Core2Duo @ 2.2 GHz, 2GB 667 MHz RAM, 160 GB HDD, GeForce 8600M GT with 128MB VRAM.

I run the game at medium settings and at 1440x900, same as my Mac. The game lags quite badly especially when there's too much lighting (night) or when there are many sims around (parties, downtown). Do you think it's worth upgrading to 4GB RAM? Or is the VRAM too much of a drag?
__________________
Early 2011 15'' MacBook Pro 2.2, 8GB RAM, 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD + 750GB HDD
iPhone 4 16GB, iPad 3 4G 16GB
pepitko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 09:05 AM   #63
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by teksurv View Post
This may seem like a silly question, but I noticed you have the same Nvidia Whitebook that I do. Do your fans run full blast when playing Sims 3? Mine do (Mac version), and that's the only real issue I have otherwise great game!
Yep, fans are always belting out noise. Tbh, I usually stop listening to them, so it's alright for me.
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 11:32 AM   #64
peepboon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepitko View Post
I've installed Sims 3 on my MacBook Pro two days ago, and the game is running quite slow, for my taste.

My specs: Aluminum MacBook Pro, Core2Duo @ 2.2 GHz, 2GB 667 MHz RAM, 160 GB HDD, GeForce 8600M GT with 128MB VRAM.

I run the game at medium settings and at 1440x900, same as my Mac. The game lags quite badly especially when there's too much lighting (night) or when there are many sims around (parties, downtown). Do you think it's worth upgrading to 4GB RAM? Or is the VRAM too much of a drag?
I turned all the settings up high with the highest res mine could take 1680x1050. The lag IMO isn't that bad :S - I'm not a heavy gamer so maybe I don't mind the odd little lag? :S
peepboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 04:17 PM   #65
guymarble
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Does anyone else's game crash continuously?

After about an hour the game just closes and goes back to the desktop with no message or anything, which is really annoying since I don't get a chance to save and all my progress.

I am playing it on my Mac Pro and have 2GB's of RAM, would upgrading to 4GB help, or is it a common problem?
guymarble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 04:39 PM   #66
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by peepboon View Post
I turned all the settings up high with the highest res mine could take 1680x1050. The lag IMO isn't that bad :S - I'm not a heavy gamer so maybe I don't mind the odd little lag? :S
Same here man, I don't even use ddr3 ram with the nVidia chip and it runs surprisingly well at full blast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guymarble View Post
Does anyone else's game crash continuously?

After about an hour the game just closes and goes back to the desktop with no message or anything, which is really annoying since I don't get a chance to save and all my progress.

I am playing it on my Mac Pro and have 2GB's of RAM, would upgrading to 4GB help, or is it a common problem?
Not crashed once for me... Confusing, since you have one of the most powerful Macs ever
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 10:19 PM   #67
sexynsas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
sims 3 wont work on my mac book

hey how did u get it to work on urs?

it said it installed sucessfully then says it needs an rmb right hand mouse.. i dont understand lol
sexynsas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 11:32 PM   #68
rawrmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Could I install the sims 3 on an external hard drive?
rawrmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 08:15 AM   #69
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrmac View Post
Could I install the sims 3 on an external hard drive?
Yes, that's what I did. It creates a folder called Applications and puts it in there.
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 10:26 AM   #70
peepboon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
U dont really need a RHM as u can always just use the trackpad and keyboard controls.

Also, mine has never crashed O.o
peepboon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 08:19 PM   #71
sbibbo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by likemyorbs View Post
the sims 3 runs awesomely on my aluminum macbook with 4gb ram, i love that game!

Hi, I recently installed 4GB RAM to my macbook pro (2007) (originally 2GB) that has over half space left (67GB) on HD, 2.2 GHz intel core 2 duo processor and Sims3 still runs incredibly SLOW! Am I doing something wrong?
sbibbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2009, 10:19 AM   #72
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbibbo View Post
Hi, I recently installed 4GB RAM to my macbook pro (2007) (originally 2GB) that has over half space left (67GB) on HD, 2.2 GHz intel core 2 duo processor and Sims3 still runs incredibly SLOW! Am I doing something wrong?
Hmm that's odd. Tried cranking down the graphics?
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 07:19 PM   #73
egk69
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hi i want to know if theres any way to minimize the game so i can quickly check other things on my macbook (email, etc etc)

Cause its annoying to close the game every time i want to check something on my macbook and then have to open the game again and wait for the loadings, etc etc
__________________
Collector's Edition - Aluminum Macbook 13"
- 2.4 Ghz - 8GB Ram - 120GB SSD + 320GB HDD -

iPhone 4S 64GB
egk69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 01:16 AM   #74
MrM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by egk69 View Post
Hi i want to know if theres any way to minimize the game so i can quickly check other things on my macbook (email, etc etc)

Cause its annoying to close the game every time i want to check something on my macbook and then have to open the game again and wait for the loadings, etc etc
Pause it. Then press Command and Tab.
MrM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 05:21 AM   #75
andalusia
macrumors 68030
 
andalusia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by egk69 View Post
Hi i want to know if theres any way to minimize the game so i can quickly check other things on my macbook (email, etc etc)

Cause its annoying to close the game every time i want to check something on my macbook and then have to open the game again and wait for the loadings, etc etc
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrM View Post
Pause it. Then press Command and Tab.
Also a good idea to do Command-Enter to make it not full screen first (:
__________________
Signature deleted.
andalusia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sims vahalla iPhone 12 Jul 28, 2013 03:58 PM
The Sims 2 on MacBook Pro Retina S3lmaac Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 May 10, 2013 04:02 PM
OS X: Sims 3 keeps crashing! Please help! Irish94 Mac and PC Games 5 May 6, 2013 08:39 PM
OS X: Sims 3 - Ejecting Macaroooon Mac and PC Games 4 Mar 25, 2013 03:07 AM
Sims 3 HELP PLEASE Sarah777 Mac and PC Games 0 Sep 11, 2012 08:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC