Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 29, 2009, 09:00 PM   #1
MythicFrost
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Cache Size for HDD, what does it mean?

Hey, I'm wondering what Cache Size is (8, 16, 32MB) for a hard drive, what exactly does that do? higher the better?

Kind Regards
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 09:06 PM   #2
wfj5444
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
The larger the cache the better. Cache is MUCH faster than the hard drive.

Data is read and written to and from cache (hopefully). Then sent to the HD or to RAM.

The more cache means more data that can be accessed quickly. As in orders of magnitude faster.
__________________
Mac? | Mac?| iPhone 5S | The New iPad | iPhone 5S | The New iPad
wfj5444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 09:07 PM   #3
MythicFrost
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
MythicFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Ah I see, ok thanks.

So I should only get 32MB cache hdd's

Kind Regards
__________________
(Log Book Buddy) - (Quick Kana)
MythicFrost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 09:10 PM   #4
Roy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MythicFrost View Post
Ah I see, ok thanks.

So I should only get 32MB cache hdd's

Kind Regards

"They" say bigger is better, but is 32MB cache 4 times better than 8MB cache?
__________________
2009 Quad 2.66 Mac Pro, 12 GB OWC RAM, ATI 4870, Wi-Fi Card 802.11n, AppleCare, 4 WD Caviar Black 1TB HD's, 2 SuperDrives, 24" Apple LED Display.
Roy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2009, 09:33 PM   #5
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy View Post
"They" say bigger is better, but is 32MB cache 4 times better than 8MB cache?
Unfortunately, No. If you plot out the performance of the same drive with different cache values, it's not linear. But larger values do help, and it can be simplified to "get the largest available for the capacity".

Another way to look at it, is cache/GB. For example, WD's RE3 line. The 250 & 320GB variants have 16MB of cache, while the 1TB model has 32MB. And the smaller drives do run a little quicker. Other issues such as platter count are also factors, as the smaller drives are singles.

WD's datasheets show this in the specs, as does independent testing. Personally, I take what I can get.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug with Thumbnail Cache folder size? linkandzelda OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Oct 29, 2013 06:33 AM
Can you Clone to Same Size HDD? doubledee Mac Basics and Help 12 Sep 18, 2013 11:23 AM
Google Maps cache size unlimted??? patborders iPhone 2 Dec 18, 2012 08:09 PM
WD Internal 3.5-inch Caviar Green HDDs - 32MB cache vs 64MB cache ToTo Man Buying Tips and Advice 3 Sep 14, 2012 01:39 PM
HDD Size / Usage vs Windows 2Turbo Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 28, 2012 01:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC