Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 2, 2009, 04:32 PM   #1
Nipz
macrumors 65816
 
Nipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Lightbulb Cant sync iPhone if phone is locked

Hey,

Just tried to sync my phone whilst it was locked and it said error please unlock the phone before it can be synced (well it said that it better english but you get the idea). This is with the new iTunes 8.2 so must be a new feature.

Sorry if this was already posted. Did a search and nothing
__________________
15" Uni MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Quad Core i7 | White iPad 2 16GB WiFi + 3G | iPhone 5 | 3 MiFi
Nipz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 04:50 PM   #2
D3lta
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cupertino, California
That's been there for a while.
__________________
black & grey 64GB iPhone 5S on AT&T
4th gen iPad 16GB Wi-Fi
3rd gen iPad 16GB Wi-Fi + 4G LTE on Verizon
1st gen iPad 32GB Wi-Fi
D3lta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 04:51 PM   #3
comedine
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
I don't get that
comedine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 04:59 PM   #4
EarthDawn
macrumors 6502a
 
EarthDawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long-eye Land, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by comedine View Post
I don't get that
me either...

i did not yet update my iTunes... so ill find out later if it has changed
__________________
Bring it down to the corner ....
EarthDawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 05:09 PM   #5
jmccullough108
macrumors 6502a
 
jmccullough108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to jmccullough108
I have never had that problem, and have had 8.2 since the developers pre-release.. I can sync when it's locked.
jmccullough108 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 05:11 PM   #6
nicheco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
i tunes 8.2 and build 5. no problems.
nicheco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2009, 05:12 PM   #7
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
I've just had that, first sync since 8.2. Never seen it before. It only seems to do it first time though. After that it's syncing as normal when locked.
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 03:54 AM   #8
Nipz
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Nipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherdave View Post
I've just had that, first sync since 8.2. Never seen it before. It only seems to do it first time though. After that it's syncing as normal when locked.
Yea thats what happened with me. Seams fine for 2nd + times. Def never happened to me before i updated to iTunes 8.2
__________________
15" Uni MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz Quad Core i7 | White iPad 2 16GB WiFi + 3G | iPhone 5 | 3 MiFi
Nipz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 04:17 AM   #9
X5-452
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Chalk me up as a user with the same problem.

I was under the assumption that it only did it on pre 8.2 releases if you connected iPhone to a computer that it wasn't natively synced with, I.E. your friends iTunes. I thought this was done to ensure that you couldn't steal someone's iPhone, plug it in and make it your own. But it just did it to me.... Hmmmm....
__________________
I can haz iPad?
X5-452 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 05:33 AM   #10
nomad01
macrumors 68000
 
nomad01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Birmingham, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3lta View Post
That's been there for a while.
Never had it here until this latest release.
nomad01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 05:45 AM   #11
whitebook
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
i think my iphone has always done this. Doesn't it happen when your phone is locked and needs a passcode? maybe phones that dont have a passcode set just sync automatically.
__________________
2011 27" iMac i5, mid-range 2012 11" Macbook Air.
http://www.behance.net/leemoonandesign
whitebook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 06:17 AM   #12
nomad01
macrumors 68000
 
nomad01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Birmingham, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitebook View Post
i think my iphone has always done this. Doesn't it happen when your phone is locked and needs a passcode? maybe phones that dont have a passcode set just sync automatically.
Mine told me it couldn't sync because it was locked and required a passcode.

I don't have a passcode set up and this didn't happen (to me) before this release.
nomad01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 06:44 AM   #13
hellomoto4
macrumors 6502a
 
hellomoto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
I thought I read that this was new in 8.2 ?
hellomoto4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 07:09 AM   #14
JCastro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I have had this same thing happen periodically as far back as 8.0. I t usually occurs the first time i sync after a change or update, whether it is an iTunes or iPhone OS update. It hasn't happened often and it doesn't happen on subsequent syncs.
__________________
15.4" UMBP 32gb Iphone 4 16gb 3G iPad 30gb iPod Video iPod Shuffle 2G
Once you go Mac, you never go back...
JCastro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 07:23 AM   #15
Knowlege Bomb
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
New thing for me is having to hit the home button before the computer will even recognize the phone. That is if it's locked when I plug it in.

Used to be I would plug it in and it would automatically be recognized and begin syncing.

Kind of frustrating as I usually am doing something else when I plug the phone in. I come back five minutes later to see if it's done syncing and I hear the "device connect" sound from my computer when I hit the home button.
Knowlege Bomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 08:16 AM   #16
albeli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Here
I've had that happen a few times even before 8.2.
albeli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone else's iPhone 5S disconnect from wifi randomly when the phone is locked? Frankied22 iPhone 28 Jan 25, 2014 05:18 PM
Will iPhone 5 AT&T phone work with ST if it's locked? scotrinaf iPhone 5 Oct 8, 2013 06:27 PM
Unlocked iPhone 5 have same features as a locked phone? DanMacApple iPhone 11 Aug 4, 2013 10:44 PM
How to snooze Alarm. Phone on locked mode, do not want to open phone Subu iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jan 21, 2013 01:35 PM
buying locked phone and paying ETF cheaper than buying unlocked phone? Derek87 iPhone 6 Oct 9, 2012 02:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC