Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2009, 12:16 PM   #1
BikerJim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
PowerBook "Ti"- Install New HD

Good morning,
I bought a new 320gb HD to put in my PB G4 "ti" and a new external case to drop the old 60mb HD into when all is said and done.
What would happen if I put the new 320mb HD into the external case, connected it to the PB then dragged and dropped the old 60mb HD onto the 320mb HD to copy it.
Then swapped out the drives. Would the PB start up from the new 320mb HD?
I know that there are other ways of doing this, and I've tried a few, but having problems with the normal and conventional ways!
My OS 10.4 install disk is damaged. And for some reason SuperDuper hangs up in cloning the 60 HD to the 320 HD.
Thanks in advance for any help, Jim ;o)
__________________
Mac Pro 2.93GHz Quad - 8GB RAM - 4TB's HD, 17" G4 PowerBook Alum.
Power Mac G4 Quicksilver, PowerBook G4 Ti, iBook Clam
BikerJim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 01:26 PM   #2
rowsdower
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Caveat: I haven't actually tried much of any of this.

I think you will have trouble dragging and dropping to copy an entire disk. I don't think Finder will let you drop one disk directly onto another. I think you would have to copy the files from the old to the new, and since hidden files are not shown, you would miss a lot of important stuff. Even if you got all the files, the permissions would probably be wrong. It might work if you fixed that. However, it seems like more trouble than it is worth.

Have you tried the Disk Utility restore function? I think it does what you want.

If that doesn't work, consider reinstalling on your new drive and using the Migration Assistant to copy your files and settings. I'm pretty sure the Leopard Migration Assistant can copy the files from another disk on the same computer but I don't know about earlier versions.
rowsdower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 01:34 PM   #3
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
You can also try Carbon Copy Cloner, same deal as super duper, maybe it won't hang on you though.
__________________
iPhone 6 64GB iPad Mini 2 32GB
Leviathan i7-3770 @ 3.9GHz|16GB|10TB HDD|ESXi 10.10 Server
Hackintosh i5-3570k @ 4GHz|8GB|2.25TB Fusion Drive|10.10
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB SSD|10.10
apunkrockmonk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 01:39 PM   #4
BikerJim
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
I did a very quick look at the Disk Utilities restore thing. I will do a little more reading regarding your suggestion, the restore function. As of now it looks like it just might just work!(?)
I'll let the thread know about the outcome.
Thanks 'rowsdower'!
__________________
Mac Pro 2.93GHz Quad - 8GB RAM - 4TB's HD, 17" G4 PowerBook Alum.
Power Mac G4 Quicksilver, PowerBook G4 Ti, iBook Clam
BikerJim is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install ML - "Can't download additional components needed to install OS X" Andy C OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Nov 21, 2012 04:20 AM
Macbook Air Install Fail: "could not copy the necessary support files" djgray911 MacBook Air 0 Oct 10, 2012 10:50 PM
Reselling Mac. How to pre-install and still get the "setup" wizard on boot? DaSal Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Jul 23, 2012 11:23 AM
Does restoring from Time Machine still count as "clean" install? kylera Mac Basics and Help 4 Jul 11, 2012 02:24 AM
Snow Leopard leaving "Mac OS X Install Data" folder palz MacBook Pro 0 Jun 15, 2012 10:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC