Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2009, 02:03 PM   #1
groovdudeyo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
power mac g4 wont start up

It will turn on and go to the white screen with the gray apple but even after several hours it wont do anything. I tried holding down C since my copy of leopard is stuck inside and it does the same thing. Im gettin really desperate for a solution here. would pulling out both hard drives do anything? I really have no idea what to do here
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 04:25 PM   #2
raziel777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: League City, Texas
Try holding down the option key when you boot up. You should be able to choose between your hard drive or install disk. To get the install disk out, hold down the mouse button after you start up. Do you have an external drive to boot from?
raziel777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2009, 05:04 PM   #3
groovdudeyo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
ok so i did that and heres whats wrong with my drives. drive 1 I tried to upgrade tiger and thats when it started acting weird like this and not booting. drive 2 i tried installing leopard and about halfway through it said that the disk was messed up or something so it works really weird and doesnt really work. is my first drive disconnected or something and should i get the disk redone? i know a place that will redo the plastic on a disk so it will run perfect. im pretty sure its not the actual files on the disk because my friend used the same disk to put it on his mac
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2009, 07:08 AM   #4
raziel777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: League City, Texas
Does the g4 meet the requirements for leopard? 867 mhz. cpu?
Maybe a scratch or fingerprints on the disk? Try disconnecting the drive with the leopard install. And see if the one with tiger will boot. I think I have had this problem in the past.
raziel777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 05:06 PM   #5
Macrovertigo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vermont/España/etc.
Send a message via Yahoo to Macrovertigo
If I remember correctly, you are not supposed to have two operating systems in one computer, regardless how many hard drives are inside. Try eliminating either your Leopard or your Tiger OS and see if it helps.
__________________
(iMac!)
Macrovertigo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2009, 12:19 AM   #6
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
It's OK to have more than one operating system installed, if they are on separate partitions, or separate drives. I have 10.5.7 and 9.2.2 on separate partitions, and 10.4 on a Firewire drive.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2009, 12:54 AM   #7
Bennieboy©
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboy©'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboy©
hmmm i had this trying to boot 10.5 on a dual 450, it wouldnt load at all, just stayed on the grey logo screen, trying to install 10.4 again fried my hard drive, not sure what to suggest, you could try going back to 10.4 if ya hard drives fried it wont make much difference,

if you've got another mac system available or a mac book, try booting up in target disk mode and seeing if theres anything wrong with the HD that way, maybe format it and start again
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboy© is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a G4 iMac hard disk in a Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 5 Aug 6, 2011 02:58 AM
USB or FireWire booting a Power Mac G4 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 7 Jul 8, 2011 12:58 PM
Power Mac G4 won't start up - I already pushed the PMU button 4thStreetDesign Mac Basics and Help 0 Sep 9, 2008 09:15 PM
Power Mac G4 won't start up, not from disk either angpeters PowerPC Macs 5 Jul 21, 2008 08:58 AM
g4 wont start up edward0912 Macintosh Computers 9 Nov 18, 2003 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC