Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Veldek

macrumors 68000
Mar 29, 2003
Germany
No, not at all. Altivec is for floating-point calculations, while Hyperthreading controls how the processor uses running threads. As you can see, I'm no expert at all, but AFAIK they are not comparable. I think Altivec is the equivalent of SSE (someone correct me if I'm wrong here).

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
Hyperthreading improves the performance of multiple threads running on the Intel processor with this technology.

The Velocity Engine is another name for Altivec, which is where you take a single instruction and have it operate on multiple sets of data at the same time.

So no, they are two different concepts.

Altivec is the equivalent of SSE
Altivec is similar to SSE, but in the PPCs we use the Altivec unit is independent (might not be the case for all the Freescale imbedded units.)

SSE share resources with the FP unit on Intel CPUs (don't remember if its just registers or a bit deeper), so there is some penalty for its use.

saabmp3

macrumors 6502a
Jul 22, 2002
Tacoma, WA
AltiVec doesn't hurt lots of programs either, unlike hyperthreading. How many times have you seen the release notes for a driver or fairly complex program say "major bugs with hyperthreading enabled". Anyways, intel's dropping the technology in favor of dual core CPU's.

BEN

mgargan1

macrumors 65816
Feb 22, 2003
Reston, VA
actually, hyperthreading is not that bad a technology, if intel could do it right... It really helps when you're trying to do a couple things at once, otherwise known as preemptive multitasking. So, lets say you're burning a cd and you wanna play a game at the same time. Hyperthreading will help. The problem is, when you're only trying to do one task. Hyperthreading actually in more cases than not (as of the current processors out) cripple a single apps performance.