Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 4, 2009, 03:04 PM   #1
hitman45400
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Ameture questions on Pro Tools/Logic

So, i have been looking into more recording, but found out my method wouldn't work, and would sound like junk, which was hook up the MBOX to my comp and then to my sound board, but would that give me control of each track, or do i need a big freaking 8-12 channel interface to be able to control each mic? this isn't an issue for guitars and vocals..but drums are the hard part..
__________________
iPhone 3G, Macbook Pro, iPod Classic, iPod Shuffle.
I just lost the game.
hitman45400 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 12:35 AM   #2
pkoch1
macrumors 6502a
 
pkoch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman45400 View Post
So, i have been looking into more recording, but found out my method wouldn't work, and would sound like junk, which was hook up the MBOX to my comp and then to my sound board, but would that give me control of each track, or do i need a big freaking 8-12 channel interface to be able to control each mic? this isn't an issue for guitars and vocals..but drums are the hard part..
To get control over each track for, say, drums, you would need an interface that supports as many microphones as you are using on the drums. So a very basic drum setup (kick, snare, OHs) would need an interface with at least 4 inputs (i.e. NOT the MBox, but a 003, or something similar for PT) I

I think you're talking about mixing the drums in an analog mixer after you go through the MBox. That wouldn't work because the MBox has to be the final stage before the computer. The mics plug in, analog is converted to digital, and it goes through the firewire or usb cable into the computer.

If you're using Logic, there are some inexpensive interfaces by Presonus or Alesis that will give you the individual inputs for a fraction of the price of the 003.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.26GHz Mactopus
pkoch1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 09:46 AM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman45400 View Post
So, i have been looking into more recording, but found out my method wouldn't work, and would sound like junk, which was hook up the MBOX to my comp and then to my sound board, but would that give me control of each track, or do i need a big freaking 8-12 channel interface to be able to control each mic? this isn't an issue for guitars and vocals..but drums are the hard part..
What exactly are you recording? Sounds like a full band. It would be best to start smaller, gain experience then add channels. If you like Pro Tools then you need one their hardware interfaces. Logic can work with almost any interface

For your purposes you will want some kind a firewire audio interface. USB is not going to work well for 8-12 channels.

Cabling is simple: You have 8+ mics, each goes to a mic cable the runs straight into the firewire audio interface and then the interface connects to the computer with a Firewire cable. Studio monitor and/or headphone connect to the interface too.

You can add to that basic setup if you like. The sky s pretty much the limit
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 12:19 PM   #4
hitman45400
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Any sort of variety of music, primary will be the band i'm starting here soon which will be a deathcore/hardcore band.

And on the interface, are the volume input controls or is that done through pro tools/logic?

And do you use logic to master the tracks?
__________________
iPhone 3G, Macbook Pro, iPod Classic, iPod Shuffle.
I just lost the game.
hitman45400 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 04:04 PM   #5
churchrd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitman45400 View Post

And on the interface, are the volume input controls or is that done through pro tools/logic?

And do you use logic to master the tracks?
The input controls would be on the interface.

Mastering is a totally different ballgame. But i suppose you could use Logic to master tracks.
churchrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2009, 12:14 AM   #6
hitman45400
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by churchrd View Post
The input controls would be on the interface.

Mastering is a totally different ballgame. But i suppose you could use Logic to master tracks.
Man, i have a lot to learn...
__________________
iPhone 3G, Macbook Pro, iPod Classic, iPod Shuffle.
I just lost the game.
hitman45400 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much better is Pro Tools vs. Logic X? Luba Digital Audio 27 Mar 5, 2014 01:04 PM
Few questions about Logic Pro X Drew017 Digital Audio 2 Oct 30, 2013 11:54 AM
Logic Pro X important questions Zwhaler Digital Audio 11 Aug 3, 2013 05:10 PM
Pro Tools/Logic pro people jboyd710 MacBook Pro 6 Jul 20, 2013 04:11 PM
Logic Pro Newbie with some questions? snerkler Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Sep 26, 2012 09:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC