Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 5, 2009, 05:57 AM   #1
Zagreus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, U.K
Send a message via MSN to Zagreus Send a message via Skype™ to Zagreus
DVD Drive in Slot Loading iMac G3 500Mhz

Would the iMac accept an internal DVD Drive from another Mac or do I have to stick with the CD-RW drive that came with it?
__________________
17" Aluminum MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD
PowerMac G4 Quicksilver 2002, 933Mhz, 256mb RAM, 80GB HDD
iMac G3, 500Mhz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD
Zagreus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 12:48 PM   #2
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
You can use another slot loading optical drive from another mac. However, it must be the same type. The only two macs that I know that used these types of drives are the iMac G3 slot loading (350mhz-700mhz), and the G4 Cube. Any more "modern" slot loader will not fit without modifications.

You can pick up used ones from ebay.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 02:42 PM   #3
MTI
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
yes, you can use the same form factor DVD drives in the G3 slot drives. The iMac DV and the end of production units had slot loading DVD drives.
MTI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 02:57 PM   #4
BBC B 32k
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London
Hiya, I have an iMacDV G3 450 with a DVD drive. The thing to note is that they can not burn CD disks. That is if you are after a Combo or Super drive check that the form factor fits your iMac first.

I would think that an old drive from a Cube would be ok though.

What are you thinking of using the iMac for? Mine has not been used for a few years and the good lady is not happy with it floating around the house.
__________________
Phillips G7000 4K Cartridge
Acorn Electron 32K tape
Master Compact 128k 3.5" floppy
BBC B 32k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 05:01 PM   #5
Zagreus
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, U.K
Send a message via MSN to Zagreus Send a message via Skype™ to Zagreus
Also to ask another question, I'm upgrading the iMac a bit, so when I buy the RAM does it have to be ECC or non ECC, because I was watching a few upgrading videos and ECC didn't seem to work, so was just wondering if it made a difference or not.
__________________
17" Aluminum MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD
PowerMac G4 Quicksilver 2002, 933Mhz, 256mb RAM, 80GB HDD
iMac G3, 500Mhz, 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD
Zagreus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 04:59 PM   #6
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
You need non-ECC ram.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't insert CD/DVD in iMac DVD drive eldudorinio iMac 32 Jan 5, 2014 09:01 PM
MBA SuperDrive vs. Other DVD Drives Mello1me MacBook Air 17 Jan 4, 2011 09:16 PM
Make of DVD drive in the 2009 iMac (20inch) ? Tumbleweed666 iMac 10 Mar 26, 2009 01:30 PM
CD/DVD Protectors in Slot Loading Drives... JohnEZ Macintosh Computers 2 Dec 29, 2005 11:29 PM
Credit card cd-rom stuck in Slot loading iMac!!!!! boskie Mac Help/Tips 10 Mar 7, 2003 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC