Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
It's incredible what kids can do....

I don't remember this, but when I was a kid my Dad was away a lot (airforce). My Mum has Anemia, but didn't know it at the time.... She used to pass out after going shopping each day, she always woke up an hour or two later and carried on. She always thought that she was putting the shopping away before passing out, one day she came around early and found me putting the shopping away... the fact that I was putting the shopping away made her realise that she was not "just tired" but ill. I was only three at the time, now I'm a primary teacher and I see kids doing incredible things all the time... such as an eight year old who can handle advanced algebra! Worst thing is she has to learn from books as I have trouble at the level she's working! :eek:

wdlove

macrumors P6
Oct 20, 2002
I think that the mother say it all. He was always a hero in my eyes. He's now just a hero in everyone else's eyes," Tyler's mother told reporters on Monday.

A child is very resilient. In times stress humans can do super human things. The love of a father was paramount over his own life. I pray that Tyler and his father will fully recover. :)

Krizoitz

macrumors 68000
Apr 26, 2003
Tokyo, Japan
Is "hard" a British English term? I've never used it that way here in the states, from the context it seems like it might be similar to "tough".

dopefiend

macrumors 6502
May 6, 2004
Krizoitz said:
Is "hard" a British English term? I've never used it that way here in the states, from the context it seems like it might be similar to "tough".

Nope, its american.

Hard = tough

billyboy

macrumors 65816
Mar 15, 2003
In my head
Krizoitz said:

How about, Yes, "hard" as in "hard as nails" in the UK means tough.