Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 12, 2004, 12:25 PM   #1
ginopiazza49
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Port Chester, NY
Send a message via ICQ to ginopiazza49 Send a message via AIM to ginopiazza49 Send a message via Yahoo to ginopiazza49
External RAID

I have a PowerMac G4 500 (Sawtooth). I am looking for an RAID unit. I would like the RAID unit to be external. Do I need a PCI card for the RAID unit? What software do I need to set up the RAID, if any, or will Mac OS X recognize it immediately? Anything else you can tell me that I did not think to ask will be appreciated.
__________________
Regards,
Gino J. Piazza
Port Chester, NY
ginopiazza49 is offline   0
Old May 12, 2004, 12:34 PM   #2
krimson
macrumors 65816
 
krimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
Send a message via AIM to krimson
iirc, you can plug in a few firewire drives and then use the disk utility to set them up as a RAID.
__________________
"Maybe in order to understand mankind, we have to look at the word itself: "Mankind".
Basically, it's made up of two separate words - "mank" and "ind". What do these words mean ? It's a mystery, and that's why so is mankind."
-Jack Handy

Join MacRumors.com - Team Folding, and be a part of the Mac Folding team!
krimson is offline   0
Old May 12, 2004, 12:39 PM   #3
keysersoze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginopiazza49
I have a PowerMac G4 500 (Sawtooth). I am looking for an RAID unit. I would like the RAID unit to be external. Do I need a PCI card for the RAID unit? What software do I need to set up the RAID, if any, or will Mac OS X recognize it immediately? Anything else you can tell me that I did not think to ask will be appreciated.
If you want a more complete/user-friendly RAID Software package try SoftRAID. There's a trial version of it available to test. It's at:

http://www.softRAID.com/

It is very flexible if you want to attach FW drives/USB 2.0 drives/ SMART drives (like those found here: http://www.granitedigital.com/catalo...pjbodraid_.htm

As someone else mentioned AppleRAID works as well. Here's a sheet of the differences:

http://www.softRAID.com/vsapple.html

Hope that helps a bit~
__________________
i love brits


Last edited by keysersoze; May 12, 2004 at 12:42 PM.
keysersoze is offline   0
Old May 12, 2004, 01:38 PM   #4
Elbeano
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PA
Send a message via AIM to Elbeano
You can buy various PCI SATA cards that can have external SATA plugs, and a way to route the molex eternally. So you'd still have internal hard drives, but they could be sitting outside of the machine, if you're in to that sort of thing.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than being just smart enough to realize you're stupid."
-J.M.
Elbeano is offline   0
Old May 12, 2004, 03:02 PM   #5
maxvamp
macrumors 6502a
 
maxvamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere out there
Couple of options

accusys makes a variety of internal and external RAID devices that can be connected via FireWire, USB, or SATA.

These are hardware based RAIDs, for no particular OS or software is needed. They come in RAID 0, 1, and 5 configurations, so depending what your pocketbook allows, you can choose.

If you want something a bit cheaper, you can get RAID5 software from FWB, or use the RAID 0 or RAID 1 features in OSX. These all will cause a minor to major performance hit on your CPU depending on what processor you use.

Finally, if you are looking just for cases ( SATA / USB / FireWire ), I have had particularly good luck with cases from bytecc .

These have been pretty reliable, and stack well. Pricewatch.com caries the FW versions for about $45.

I hope this helps,

Max.
maxvamp is offline   0
Old May 12, 2004, 03:11 PM   #6
cr2sh
macrumors 68030
 
cr2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: downtown
You might be interested in reading this article from bare feats:

http://www.barefeats.com/fire36b.html

Go hardcore with a PCI Firewire 800 card, and get 3 more 1394a slots while you're at it.

http://www.firewiredirect.com/firewi...s_pci800.shtml

You could pair this up with an external RAID firewire 800 unit and it'd be hella nice.

http://www.firewiredirect.com/firewi...AID_V800.shtml
__________________

MBP (early' 11/2.2/16GB/500GB/hi-res-ag)
cr2sh is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you guys raid? RAID drive vs standard external drive? PicnicTutorials Mac Peripherals 11 Feb 21, 2014 04:30 AM
Replacing a dead g-tech raid with an external RAID? SpastikMonkii Digital Video 16 Jul 19, 2013 07:47 AM
External RAID Enclosure cosmicjoke Mac mini 20 Mar 21, 2013 03:24 AM
New MP - how to use 'migrate' with a raid that's 'external' slater-k Mac Pro 0 Nov 24, 2012 12:58 PM
External HDDs in RAID 0 ? MacMan988 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Oct 13, 2012 02:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC