Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AdamLikesMusic

macrumors 6502
Jun 3, 2009
Does this mean that rather than partitioning my hard drive, I can put Vista on a SD card and boot it? (I'm a bit tech stupid)

harcosparky

macrumors 68020
Jan 14, 2008
Does this mean that rather than partitioning my hard drive, I can put Vista on a SD card and boot it? (I'm a bit tech stupid)

Probably not, especially if the SD Card slot is on the USB bus???

Windows does not like booting off of external devices from what I hear. It has to do with how the Windows OS handles them.

I know it doesn't work from the USB ports.

fpnc

macrumors 68000
Oct 30, 2002
San Diego, CA
The existing MacBooks can boot from an SD card under Mac OS X (when using a USB-based card reader). As for speed, I've seen posts where the previous generation MacBook would boot from a class 4 SDHC card in about two minutes, versus about 45 seconds from the MacBook's internal hard drive.

L0s7man

macrumors 6502
Feb 26, 2009
Instead of ditching the Expresscard they should have introduced Expresscard 2.0 (specs came out in March). Now, that would be SOMETHING.

shigzeo

macrumors 6502a
Dec 14, 2005
Japan
i also don't see how this is interesting. osx has always been able to boot off of anything that can hold it, whether my compact flash, a usb drive, firewire, internal/external disks: everything.

zsnow

macrumors regular
Mar 15, 2009
i'm wondering if i can boot windows xp from the sd.
so i don't have to use my hardware to create a new bootcamp partition.
when i need windows xp, just insert the sd card and boot

zsnow

macrumors regular
Mar 15, 2009
the limited write cycles on sd...wouldent be long before you replace the sd card because its write cycles are used up.

i run most windows app from vmware. i just need bootcamp when i can't use vmware like flash the ssd firmware.

AdamLikesMusic

macrumors 6502
Jun 3, 2009