Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2009, 04:48 AM   #1
benbridle38
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
connecting to airport express on windows 7

Hi,

I have an airport express set up which i use on my macbook when running os x, however when i run windows 7 on the same macbook, it cant connect to the airport.

It's a first gen core duo macbook, i.e. it is 802.11g , any idea why it doesnt work?

This is a screen shot of the error message...



The trouble shooting does nothing.

Thanks
benbridle38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2009, 12:30 AM   #2
djhodgo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'm having the same issue my friend.

I too have that same problem, I'm currently doing my own diagnosis, rest assured you are not a lone. I will be testing the situation using other wifi equipment to determine whether it is a driver problem on windows or the actual airport router is not compatible.. Will let you know on sunday!
djhodgo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2009, 02:30 AM   #3
umiwangu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Malawi
Send a message via Skype™ to umiwangu
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbridle38 View Post
Hi,

I have an airport express set up which i use on my macbook when running os x, however when i run windows 7 on the same macbook, it cant connect to the airport.

It's a first gen core duo macbook, i.e. it is 802.11g , any idea why it doesnt work?

This is a screen shot of the error message...

The trouble shooting does nothing.

Thanks
I have the exact same MacBook (with Win7 RC1), but I don't have an Airport Express. I haven't had trouble yet connecting to different APs (Cisco, Mikrotik, Netgear, Linksys).

What did the troubleshooter say?
umiwangu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2009, 05:12 PM   #4
eobet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I found this thread via Google, and I am having the same issue.

Windows 7 troubleshooting doesn't offer any help at all.

A similar problem is described here, including a solution. However, it did not work for me:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....01403&tstart=0

Has anyone managed to solve this yet?

EDIT:

Here is how I solved the problem:

Since I didn't connect using my Macbook (that's the next step) my solution was to download these drivers and update my wifi adapter via Windows 7:

http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/top...vista-x86-x64/

After that, the connection problems went away.

So, amazingly stupid/silly of Windows 7 to not let the user know more details about the issue. And equally amazing that a new driver would solve it. Hope this provides a clue for someone to solve their problems as well!

Last edited by eobet; Aug 12, 2009 at 05:42 AM.
eobet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Airport Express to different Routers sjjordan Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 14, 2013 01:01 PM
Connecting Vista laptop to AirPort Express wifi NYCwriter Mac Peripherals 5 May 6, 2013 10:25 AM
Airport Express connecting to Cisco Linksys EA4500 nikster0029 Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 1, 2013 06:34 PM
Problems connecting two Airport Express Routers in Home network! cap2587 Mac Peripherals 29 Mar 9, 2013 11:27 AM
Connecting a USB HDD to an airport express acting as a network extender Adam R Mac Peripherals 3 Dec 17, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC