Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2009, 11:12 AM   #1
LePigeonBleu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to LePigeonBleu
Unlock Bootloader 5.09

Hey!

I've got an iPhone 3G with bootloader 5.09. I know that is not able to be unlocked, and that's exactly what I would like to do with it.

Is there a way to unlock my iPhone 3G with that bootloader?

Thanks,

Mark
__________________
iMac MacBook Pro Retina iPhone 5 iPad mini
LePigeonBleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 11:14 AM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by LePigeonBleu View Post
I know that is not able to be unlocked...

Is there a way to unlock...
You... kind of just answered your own question.

The word "ever" does not apply. The Dev Team will eventually unlock anything, but if it can't be done now, it can't be done now.

You'll have to use a hardware solution like TurboSIM until a software unlock hits.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 11:35 AM   #3
LePigeonBleu
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to LePigeonBleu
i could have sworn that the devteam was working on something to unlock with a bootloader of higher than 5.08... no?

m
__________________
iMac MacBook Pro Retina iPhone 5 iPad mini
LePigeonBleu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 12:28 PM   #4
Neobond
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis
I have 5.09 and yellowsn0w works fine for me...
__________________
All
Neobond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 12:31 PM   #5
Vandam500
macrumors 68000
 
Vandam500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neobond View Post
I have 5.09 and yellowsn0w works fine for me...
It works fine for you because you don't have the latest firmware (2.2.1). You have 2.2 which its baseband is 2.28. If you update your iPhone you won't be able to software unlock it until the dev team get something for boot loader 5.09 and later.
__________________
iPad Air 2 Wi-Fi + Cellular 64GB - Gold
Vandam500 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2009, 03:00 PM   #6
MattZani
macrumors 68020
 
MattZani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Weymouth, UK
Im Hoping once 3.0 is officially released, we will see them release something.
__________________
Matthew Dear Photography
Automotive & Documentary Photographer
MattZani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:13 AM   #7
meremeremere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Just got a phone today (used, as a gift) that has a 5.09 bootloader. I have jailbroken it with redsnow, and tried the fuzzyband thing and alas, no luck...

So, as this post is now a year old, have there been any developments? Are there any ways to unlock these phones 3.1.3 with 5.12.01 band and 5.09 bootloader?

many many thanks to anyone that can help!!
meremeremere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:16 AM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meremeremere View Post
Just got a phone today (used, as a gift) that has a 5.09 bootloader. I have jailbroken it with redsnow, and tried the fuzzyband thing and alas, no luck...

So, as this post is now a year old, have there been any developments? Are there any ways to unlock these phones 3.1.3 with 5.12.01 band and 5.09 bootloader?

many many thanks to anyone that can help!!
Why bring up a year old thread?
No, fuzzyband doesnt downgrade a 5.09 bootloader.
There will be an unlock in short time for the latest basebands, just hang in there for another month or so.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:19 AM   #9
meremeremere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Why bring up a year old thread?
It just seemed more polite than asking the same question again in a new thread.

Apple-- can you tell me where to look for the news? Thanks so much
meremeremere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:22 AM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You can keep checking this hacks section of the board and also directly on The Dev Teams site.
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
It will give you instructions and the tools needed when they're available.
Good luck.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:41 AM   #11
meremeremere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thank you! Are there other options( like would a turbo sim work in this case?)
meremeremere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 12:44 AM   #12
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meremeremere View Post
Thank you! Are there other options( like would a turbo sim work in this case?)
Not sure on those turbo sim adapters.
Some work for some firmware builds, others dont and typically are very buggy.
You have to restart the phone a bunch of times in order to get signal again etc...
I wouldnt bother.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 07:30 PM   #13
Sparky9292
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by LePigeonBleu View Post
Hey!

I've got an iPhone 3G with bootloader 5.09. I know that is not able to be unlocked, and that's exactly what I would like to do with it.

Is there a way to unlock my iPhone 3G with that bootloader?

Thanks,

Mark
The rumor is that dev-team has exploits for the new bootloader but decided against releasing it for 3.1.3 as it only fixed a stupid battery reporting bug. Some in the community have felt Apple tries to goad dev-team into releasing hacks to lock up OS4.

Now that the iPhone 4G and it's OS 4.0 is out, there's a good chance that unlocks for the 3.1.3 and it's 5.09 bootloader will be released.
Sparky9292 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 11:31 AM   #14
angmoloco
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
crackhead

Truly, I feel like an addict.
Like many I have been shut down my the .mac restore problem and waiting seems like being in a technological prison - seriously. I am using my nokia from about 10 years ago instead of my beloved 3gs. I am not going to ask when the unlock will be realeased, I just want to say that I hope, soon, it will happen.......
angmoloco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 01:39 PM   #15
vldvldx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hi guys. Today I had to unlock an iPhone 3g; 3.1.3 with bootloader 5.09 and baseband 5.12.01 and succeeded!

1. Jailbreak with Pwnagetool 3.1.5
2. Go to Cydia and UPDATE IT!!!!!!
3. add repo666.ultrasn0w.com to your sources
4. install ultrasn0w and reboot.
5. change sim when phone is on and you are done.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO UPDATE CYDIA, DO NOT IGNORE THE UPDATE PROMPT BECAUSE I DID AND COULD NOT UNLOCK PHONE UNTIL I UPDATED CYDIA.
vldvldx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 01:51 PM   #16
douflag
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vldvldx View Post
Hi guys. Today I had to unlock an iPhone 3g; 3.1.3 with bootloader 5.09 and baseband 5.12.01 and succeeded!

1. Jailbreak with Pwnagetool 3.1.5
2. Go to Cydia and UPDATE IT!!!!!!
3. add repo666.ultrasn0w.com to your sources
4. install ultrasn0w and reboot.
5. change sim when phone is on and you are done.

IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO UPDATE CYDIA, DO NOT IGNORE THE UPDATE PROMPT BECAUSE I DID AND COULD NOT UNLOCK PHONE UNTIL I UPDATED CYDIA.
Wow...you're about a month late.
douflag is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2010, 01:37 PM   #17
fjaff
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have an Iphone 3g, it was working perfectly after jailbreaking it with Spirit, then used ultrasn0w 0.93 to unlock. I could make calls, send texts etc using any sim card. Then I turned the phone off, when I turned it back on, all the signal bars were gone, so I cant make or receive calls anymore. Anyone know why that happened? This is frustrating!!!

Baseband: 3.1.3
Bootloader: 06.04
fjaff is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Partition and bootloader questions GameX PowerPC Macs 11 May 29, 2014 12:12 PM
Editing BootLoader Items! DaYiM OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 May 10, 2014 11:43 AM
Need the best vid Card for 1,1 that actually displays bootloader MrWizard64 Mac Pro 4 Feb 16, 2014 09:24 PM
Help with Amazon Kindle Bootloader RoboWarriorSr Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 25 Jun 16, 2013 12:04 PM
Mac Bootloader Weirdness BigZ9 OS X 2 Jun 19, 2012 05:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC