Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 11, 2009, 08:04 PM   #1
vittimac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
iMac G3 (slot-load) 500 mhz - Airport card cannot connect to DIR-655

Hi

A friend of mine gave me a iMac a couple of weeks ago. i upgraded the RAM to 1GB and I bought a Airiport Card (802.11b)
I plugged in the card and attached the antenna to the card and tuned on the mac. But when i try to find a wifi network (mine for example) it won't connect. Im using a DIR-655 Dlink router. i have mixed mode emabled (802.11b/g/n) and WPA-Personal Encryption (AES Cypher)

Why is it not connecting?

PS the message i get when i connect is "There was an error connecting to network [network name]"

Thanks
vittimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 12:58 AM   #2
007bond
macrumors 6502a
 
007bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by vittimac View Post
Hi

A friend of mine gave me a iMac a couple of weeks ago. i upgraded the RAM to 1GB and I bought a Airiport Card (802.11b)
I plugged in the card and attached the antenna to the card and tuned on the mac. But when i try to find a wifi network (mine for example) it won't connect. Im using a DIR-655 Dlink router. i have mixed mode emabled (802.11b/g/n) and WPA-Personal Encryption (AES Cypher)

Why is it not connecting?

PS the message i get when i connect is "There was an error connecting to network [network name]"

Thanks
is that the only device connecting to the router. if so, disable 802.11g/n. if you have to connect other devices that are 802.11g then disable n but keep b/g. i think the 802.11n is the problem. also, disable WPA and enable WEP b/c the old chip may not support WPA. hope this helps!!
__________________
HTC One M7; iMac 27" 2009 3.06 GHz Core 2 Duo; 2011 MacBook Pro 13" 2.3GHz i5
007bond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 10:21 AM   #3
vittimac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I will try your suggestions there. I hope this doesn't solve the problem because i do use n (macbook pro)
vittimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 10:38 AM   #4
vittimac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Well it looks like worst case scenario has happened. It seems that the network is working if i put the router in mixed mode b/g and if i disable encryption. but if enable encryption the mac will not connect. I hope i don't have to to leave the network open. I could create a subnet so the the DHCP will only except 16 host IP's but don't have that many PC's/wireless devices.

Any who, thank you for the fix there 007 i'll have to find out if the airport card is out of date (which i don't think it is [9.5x] but the software might be out of date. (BTW the encryption is obviously WEP but i know iMac G3 supports WEP so why is it still not working???)
vittimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2009, 07:37 PM   #5
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
I can't say for certain why its not working, but I do know that original Airport cards support WPA just fine. Original WPA, not WPA2, and I believe it must be running in TPIK.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G4 MDD AirPort card won't connect Bru90 PowerPC Macs 7 Apr 15, 2014 11:03 AM
D Link dir 655 random "shutdowns", security? ThePiratkapten Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Aug 18, 2013 09:49 PM
Resolved: Cube G4 500 MHz for restoration/upgrade phoenixsan PowerPC Macs 22 May 5, 2013 03:26 PM
(2001) iMac G3 Slot-loading 500 MHz wont boot iLeet PowerPC Macs 11 Dec 11, 2012 11:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC