Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 15, 2004, 01:01 AM   #1
Demon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: on earth
Send a message via AIM to Demon
how much RAM for powerbook?

hi guys.

just wondering what your recommendation is for the new powBook 12" in terms of having "enough" RAM. i usually run 5 to 6 apps simultaneously, from Word, Excel, Mail, safari, iTunes, and often garageband etc. i downloaded America's Army recently and notice it's jumpy and slow to load.
i also get a lot of lag times when switching between programs etc.

so, for the budget minded consumer, how much RAM should i add?

thanks!
__________________
Apple user since 1984, Apple IIe clone
Demon is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 01:16 AM   #2
Ozi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
with that many aps, and AA as well, the most RAM you can afford is the best idea.

Look at www.crucial.com or any other RAM seller to get some prices. I think that as your 12" has 256 built in, at least (bareminimum) should be a 512 chip in the remaining slot. I would up it to 1.25 GB RAM, but its really a financial choice.

Get as much as you can afford.
__________________
My Love: 15" pBook, 1.5GHz, 1GB RAM (1 SODIMM) 128MB Radeon 9700 mobility,80GB 5400RPM HD,backlit keyboard!mmmmm
Ozi is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 01:25 AM   #3
abhishekit
macrumors 65816
 
abhishekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: akron , ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to abhishekit
yah, i second the expressed opinion..atleast 512 in the slot..so atleast 640 total

cheers
__________________
" Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein
one of the videos I made
abhishekit is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 02:30 AM   #4
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
512 and above for osx and apps; id personally go with no less than a gig
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 03:03 AM   #5
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
imho 512 will be enough, if you start using garageband a lot then a 1 gig will be fine. price vs performance isn't worth the 1.25 gb.
superbovine is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 05:30 AM   #6
Ozi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
sorry bovine, but 1 GB isn't an option in the 12". There is a 256 MB built in which cannot be changed, and then one other free slot for either 256, 512 or 1 GB chips. Therefore 768MB is possible, as is 1.25GB, but not just 1 GB.
__________________
My Love: 15" pBook, 1.5GHz, 1GB RAM (1 SODIMM) 128MB Radeon 9700 mobility,80GB 5400RPM HD,backlit keyboard!mmmmm
Ozi is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 06:15 AM   #7
gekko513
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I would go for 768 MB total. That's plenty for a non power user.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 07:26 AM   #8
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon
hi guys.

just wondering what your recommendation is for the new powBook 12" in terms of having "enough" RAM. i usually run 5 to 6 apps simultaneously, from Word, Excel, Mail, safari, iTunes, and often garageband etc. i downloaded America's Army recently and notice it's jumpy and slow to load.
i also get a lot of lag times when switching between programs etc.

so, for the budget minded consumer, how much RAM should i add?

thanks!
Been thinking about up grading my PB 12" rev. B from 512mb to 1gb. Saw a thread here about the Activity Monitor and the memory usage "dock". Running the main programs you are talking about my breakdown is:

50% blue, 25% yellow, and 12.5% each for green (free memory) and red (locked memory).
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 07:30 AM   #9
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
I've just put my DP1Ghz Quicksilver back up to 1GB, after having one 512MB DIMM fail on me I've been running on just 512MB for a while, and let me tell you, putting another 512MB in to get me back up to 1GB again makes a HUGE difference, even for little things like having lots of tabs open in Safari etc. Get as much as you possibly can!!!
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 07:54 AM   #10
crees!
macrumors 68000
 
crees!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: MD/VA/DC
That stinks you can't pop out that first 256 chip and make it higher. Well here I have 512 RAM with my 15" PB and if you're doing basic stuff like you said that should be fine. I use photoshop, FCP, ...and don't see much of a slow down though I'm sure it might help a little to have more. Garageband might need the extra RAM.. so like those who said if you can afford it, get it.
__________________
The only thing that seems to increase over the years is that nonsense multiplies.
NOSOCIALISM NOBAMA
crees! is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 08:07 AM   #11
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by crees!
That stinks you can't pop out that first 256 chip and make it higher. Well here I have 512 RAM with my 15" PB and if you're doing basic stuff like you said that should be fine. I use photoshop, FCP, ...and don't see much of a slow down though I'm sure it might help a little to have more. Garageband might need the extra RAM.. so like those who said if you can afford it, get it.
I was thinking about the same thing with the eMac. It has two slots, but it appears that it is designed not recognize 1gb simms. Bummer....
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 09:05 AM   #12
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip NoVaMac
Been thinking about up grading my PB 12" rev. B from 512mb to 1gb. Saw a thread here about the Activity Monitor and the memory usage "dock". Running the main programs you are talking about my breakdown is:

50% blue, 25% yellow, and 12.5% each for green (free memory) and red (locked memory).
Update after doing some websurfing and posting this morning:

50% yellow, 35% blue, 12.5% red, and the balance in green
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 09:59 AM   #13
Whigga Spitta
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Can you say Chi-City??
Getting RAM for a PB, it's about 3 times as much to get a 1 GB stick compared to a 512 stick. Is there going to be a very noticable difference running with 1 gig rater than 1.5 gigs? I'm plannning to be using a lot of GarageBand, a lot of Photoshop, and probably some FCP. Has anyone had experiences using this much RAM?
Whigga Spitta is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 10:07 AM   #14
garybooberry
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Annapolis, MD
"As much as you can afford"

Is the best advice given here, in my humble opinion.

I can't tell you (I know different machine, same OS) how amazing the performance changes were with incremental 512 meg chips I added to my G4 tower...until I maxed it out at 2.0 gigs.

Crucial is an awesome place for Apple RAM - Never had one problem with one of their chips - ever.

Good luck and enjoy your machine!
__________________
Home:

G4 1.25mhz MDD Tower
200 gb HDD 2.0 gb RAM
Mac OS 10.3.3
20" Apple Cinema Display
15 gb "new" iPod

Work:

G4 Sawtooth 450mhz
garybooberry is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 10:26 AM   #15
JonGraves
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Seattle WA, USA
I recently bought a 1 GB SO-DIMM for my 12" PB from Other World Computing (www.macsales.com) for $360. It is a Samsung module - the same as Apple uses. Crucial is currently charging $480 and were charging $600 just last week! I have bought a lot of RAM over the years from OWC and have always been pleased with their service.

Jon
JonGraves is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 11:04 AM   #16
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonGraves
I recently bought a 1 GB SO-DIMM for my 12" PB from Other World Computing (www.macsales.com) for $360. It is a Samsung module - the same as Apple uses. Crucial is currently charging $480 and were charging $600 just last week! I have bought a lot of RAM over the years from OWC and have always been pleased with their service.

Jon
In a telephone test a couple of weeks ago, I found that Crucial was quicker to answer the phone. With OWC i was on hold for 15 minutes and gave up.

I told Crucial that I had a 1gb module and was having "kernel panics". That my 256mb module did not do it. They asked that i try to get the receipt and make a return. Since i said that it was a "company purchase" they said to call them back if the receipt could not be found.

Just FYI
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 11:20 AM   #17
garybooberry
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Annapolis, MD
Tons of people from the DC area here, I have noticed.
__________________
Home:

G4 1.25mhz MDD Tower
200 gb HDD 2.0 gb RAM
Mac OS 10.3.3
20" Apple Cinema Display
15 gb "new" iPod

Work:

G4 Sawtooth 450mhz
garybooberry is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 02:40 PM   #18
Demon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: on earth
Send a message via AIM to Demon
thanks.

hey thanks guys.
seems to me that 512MB is the popular vote!
i will go with that. and i do agree that garageband take a lot of RAM to run smoothly. in fact, it's virtually useless to play around when it skips.

unfortunately the built in RAM can not be replaced, so i will go with the 256 + 512. that should be enough.
__________________
Apple user since 1984, Apple IIe clone
Demon is offline   0
Old May 15, 2004, 03:44 PM   #19
Chip NoVaMac
macrumors G3
 
Chip NoVaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by garybooberry
Tons of people from the DC area here, I have noticed.
Maybe we should have a "Coffee Meet" at some free Wi-fi spot sometime. Remmingtons in Beltsville, MD would be easy enough for most.
Chip NoVaMac is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook G4 Ram SawyerTHEBEST PowerPC Macs 8 Feb 17, 2013 04:53 AM
Powerbook 1.67 RAM mike457 PowerPC Macs 10 Sep 21, 2012 08:30 PM
Can't Upgrade RAM (PowerBook G4) Goftrey PowerPC Macs 12 Jul 21, 2012 12:11 AM
PowerBook G4 RAM issues Starfighter PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 4, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC