Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VirtualRain

macrumors 603
Original poster
Aug 1, 2008
Vancouver, BC
Hi,

I'm a veteran videographer but a noob at voice over audio and podcasting.

I would like to know if there are any good web references on the internet that discuss best-practices for vocal recordings.

In terms of gear, I've got a couple of mics I'm evaluating... the Audio Technica AT2020 and the Rode NT1-A. I'm using a Lexicon U22 USB audio interface to connect the mic's to the Mac. I'll likely be using Final Cut Studio (Soundtrack Pro) for my audio work.

Some questions:
- Any comments on my microphone choices? At this point they sound the same to me and the Rode is twice the price of the AT.
- I assume it's best to record at the highest gain possible without clipping? Or do you ensure you are several DB below clipping and then use a compression effect or something to maximize the level?
- What's are considered essential effects to add to a voice over mix if any?
- As requested above, are there any great resources for getting up to speed on best-practices in audio recording in a home DAW studio?

Thanks for any thoughts, advice, or resources you can provide!!! :)

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
- Any comments on my microphone choices?
AT2020.

- I assume it's best to record at the highest gain possible without clipping?
i shoot for lower levels, between -36 and -18. but, that's for music tracks when there will be many mixed together. for a voiceover, i'd probably go for -8 or -12. even then, you'll get some interstitial peaks going over 0.

once recorded, you don't need to compress or maximize it to get more volume. you can simply turn it up. what you want to do is get it right in the performance, not try to fix it after. so strive to keep your tone, tempo and volume consistent.