Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 19, 2004, 04:54 AM   #1
Astra
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Running OS 9 standard on an eMac

Hi All

I have a client that uses an OS 9 only app that runs like a pig in OS 9 classic because classic doesn't redraw properly.

The client wants to format their eMac OS X/ Classic 9 machine and put OS 9 standard on, because they all love OS 9 and can't get on/don't have time to learn OS X.

Is it possible for them to do this?

Does it have to be a specific version of OS 9 for an eMac?

Is it a case of simply booting up on the OS 9 CD, formatting the drive and then re-installing OS 9 standard?

Rgds

Robbie
Astra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 05:05 AM   #2
gekko513
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=25114
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 05:15 AM   #3
HexMonkey
Administrator
 
HexMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Zealand
It depends on the eMac model. The older models can do this, but the newer ones (eMac (ATI Graphics) - SuperDrive, eMac (1 GHz G4), eMac (USB 2.0)) can only boot in OS X, whether or not OS 9 is installed.

If it can boot in OS 9, it would have come configured this way. Go to System Preferences -> Startup Disk. If you can select OS 9 here, you can boot from it, otherwise you probably can't.
HexMonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 07:32 AM   #4
mkaake
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mi
no no no no no.

emac ati 1ghz macs can boot into os 9. usb2 folks are right out, and the second release of the emac ati 1ghz can't do it. but the first rev can (they have 40, 60, 80 gig hd i believe) (128 megs standard). if they can, it's probably not installed by default, as the above poster said, but instead is on the software restore cd (which at least on my mac, was not installed by default). just pop that sucker in, restore any software, and you have a dual boot system. pick your startup disk from the startup pane in system prefs (or startup disk control panel in 9) and pick what you want to use that day

matt
__________________
oh, and no, i don't j-walk
mkaake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 11:23 AM   #5
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
The machines with Airport Extreme you would have to reformat the drive with OS 9 drivers enabled, but there is not guarantee it'll work some do (ones without Superdrive, I think) some don't -- Apple did a change midway through that reconfigured AE eMac machines to remove OS 9 boot partition, some of the AE eMacs also got their OS 9 bootability gutted (most likely a newer firmware).

All the eMacs with DDR memory won't.

The SDR memory ones prior to Airport Extreme should still boot OS 9.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 01:28 PM   #6
Threnody
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa
Yellow Dog Linux & MOL

What about formatting the system with Yellow Dog Linux, Installing Mac On Linux on it, and setting it to start on boot. Even better, can MOL be run on OS X?
Threnody is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 02:15 PM   #7
NusuniAdmin
Guest
 
NusuniAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threnody
What about formatting the system with Yellow Dog Linux, Installing Mac On Linux on it, and setting it to start on boot. Even better, can MOL be run on OS X?
The MOL creator on his site says they are working on a OS X version, although it wont be out for a while.
NusuniAdmin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 03:30 PM   #8
parrothead
macrumors 6502a
 
parrothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Edmonds, WA
If one were to completely erase and reformat, reinitialize the drive on a newer non-OS9 boot machine, and then installing 9 from the CD, would it then be able to boot? Or is it some limitation of the hardware? I have a copy of Acrobat 5 that I took off my old Tibook and want to put on my Albook. The only problem is that I have an upgrade disk and the version it upgrades from can only be installed in OS 9 not Classic.
parrothead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2004, 03:53 PM   #9
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrothead
If one were to completely erase and reformat, reinitialize the drive on a newer non-OS9 boot machine, and then installing 9 from the CD, would it then be able to boot?
Depends...

All non AE machines were OS 9 bootable, and came with a OS 9 boot partition.

The AE machines came with and without the capability, Apple killed the boot parition in some, and gutted the ability completely in others.

So you may reformat the drive with OS 9 drivers and find some AE capable machines boot OS 9, while others don't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrothead
Or is it some limitation of the hardware?
The newest eMacs have the DDR chipset found in the iMac/iBook/PowerBook -- and OS 9 never was updated to recognize that chipset.

So it's a limitation of the ROM in the OS -- way back all machines needed ROM and/or extensions to run. It didn't change when they went to new world ROM (ROM in RAM), they still need to have updated ROMs.

And the switch from SDR to DDR was a major hardware change.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5S 32 gb Standard ? hbksabhi iPhone 10 Aug 17, 2013 03:34 PM
Windows XP running (yes, running) on AppleTV XD. hackerwayne Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Feb 2, 2013 02:26 PM
When will LTE become standard? berthenderson Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 7 Nov 12, 2012 10:06 AM
Mac Mini Server running standard OSX? Ifti Mac mini 16 Jul 11, 2012 07:23 PM
error 2000 when running latest redsnow to jb 4s running 5.1.1 papelboyl1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Jun 9, 2012 03:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC