Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2009, 12:53 PM   #1
Sc00ter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a house
iMac only boots in safe mode

Tried everything from archive and install (wouldn't read disk2 until the 9th try and ended up with 9 system folders). Then tried an Erase and Install. Still it refuses to boot. Get's hung up at the blue screen. Will only boot in safe mode. Now for the last few days even the startup chime is missing. Tried PRAM and NVRAM resets. no help. Won't boot from DiskWarrior boot disk either. Just hangs

iMac Specs:

Machine Name: iMac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac8,2
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.8 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 1 GB
Bus Speed: 600 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.5f1
Serial Number: QP52604RSDU
Sales Order Number: Z0BY0000C

Generation 2...................................................

ATA Bus:

MATSHITACD-RW CW-8124:

Capacity: 737.16 MB
Model: MATSHITACD-RW CW-8124
Revision: DA0D
Serial Number:
Removable Media: Yes
Detachable Drive: No
BSD Name: disk1
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal
OS9 Drivers: No
S.M.A.R.T. status: Not Supported
Volumes:
Mac OS X Install Disc 1:
Capacity: 641.88 MB
Available: 9.09 MB
Media Type: CD-RW
Writable: No
File System: HFS+
BSD Name: disk1s1s2
Mount Point: /Volumes/Mac OS X Install Disc 1
Sc00ter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 03:03 PM   #2
geoffreak
macrumors 68020
 
geoffreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas; Wish I was in Japan
Now is a great time to invest in an Intel Mac...
Judging by the fact that you can still boot into safe mode, and OS reinstalls don't fix the problem, I would say that one of the semi-critical peripherals has failed and breaks the boot sequence. Sadly, this may require a replacement of the logic board.
__________________
rMBP 2.6GHz 16GB 512GB | Mac Mini 2009 2.26GHz | MBP Early '08 2.4GHz | iPhone 4S 32GB | Drobo
Nimbix - Accelerated Cloud Supercomputing
geoffreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 06:58 PM   #3
Sc00ter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a house
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffreak View Post
Now is a great time to invest in an Intel Mac...
Judging by the fact that you can still boot into safe mode, and OS reinstalls don't fix the problem, I would say that one of the semi-critical peripherals has failed and breaks the boot sequence. Sadly, this may require a replacement of the logic board.
Yeah....OUCH. Someone mentioned bad capacitors. She tells me that they look swollen and cracked. Some she says, appear to be leaking. I'm unsure. I know that many are fixed in place and insulated by a wax. Others have said that the Video Card that was used in that model was not the best choice they could have made, and may be causing the problem.
I'm Baffled. Gimme my PowerMac. I cobble together parts and HAL runs great. Using a DELL monitor right now. It was $5.00 at a garage sale. plugged it in and I'm back up. Hahahahaha
Sc00ter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 07:37 PM   #4
Sc00ter
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a house
Good News

Damn I LOVE Apple:
Turns out that Apple knew there was a problem with the motherboards on her model. They had a repair program that expired last year. She phoned Apple in California. Since we've owned and operated our own Print Shops for near 30 years and have purchased and "Registered" many Macs for our business, Apple had us on file and knew about us. Yes the repair program is over.
BUT>>>>> In recognition of our many purchases and loyalty to Apple over the past 20+ years, starting with our Classic II, thru our Performa's, the iMacs and PowerMacs, They are going to refurb her iMac for Free. Bring everything up to factory new shape. She has an Appointment at the Apple Store in Jacksonville on Sunday at 1:30, AND a repair order number direct from Cupertino. Not just the Motherboard problem but they will replace anything that they find not up to factory spec.
I guess after spending 10 thousand dollars plus, on Apple computers and periferals and software has payed off. Hahaha

5c00t
Sc00ter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2011, 12:02 AM   #5
wgoodman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Had the same problem, but I figured it out...

I had the same problem. I booted up in safe mode and clicked on accounts and went to startup items. I took out most everything. I then restarted and it worked. Turns out there was software not compatible with 10.5 in the start up items and it caused it to not boot.
wgoodman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid-2009 MBP Only boots in safe-mode BuiltforSin MacBook Pro 6 May 8, 2014 04:19 PM
iPhone: iPhone 4S on 7.0.4, always boots in safe mode rak007 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Feb 28, 2014 10:53 PM
iPod Touch: iPod 4G Randomly boots into Safe Mode gigahertz Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Jul 4, 2013 07:27 PM
Shift key stuck, boots in safe mode. Middelhede11 MacBook Pro 3 Jan 6, 2013 06:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC