Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jader201

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 18, 2009
For most of my life, I have been a Windows guy. I'm a developer, exclusively in Microsoft technologies. I've never owned a Mac product. No, not even an iPod.

But tomorrow, that all changes.

Last week, I preordered an iPhone which should arrive tomorrow. I've been considering getting into iPhone development, which means I will need to finally break down and get a Mac. Since it's been 5 years since my last computer purchase, and I will soon be an iPhone order, seems like now would be a good time to consider making the jump. Which brings me here.

I want to purchase a Mac desktop, that can basically replace my current PC. I want to be able to dual-boot (using Parallels) Windows XP. My PC is about 5 years old, but is still decent for its age:

- Windows XP Pro
- ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe Motherboard
- Intel Pentium 4 2.8C Northwood 2.8GHz Socket 478 Single-Core Processor
- CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
- Radeon 9800PRO 128MB AGP 4X/8X Video Card
- Western Digital Caviar 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive (purchased 2008)
- Dell Ultrasharp 24" monitor

So, here's what I'm debating:

Mac mini - Originally my first option, but seems to be borderline inadequate for running XP in parallel. And as I add options to make it beefier, I start to approach the price range of an iMac.

iMac - What I'm starting to lean towards, but two things make me hesitant: 1) I already own a nice 24" monitor, and 2) as with any all-in-one, if/when I decide to upgrade, I'll be forced to replace the monitor.

Mac Pro - A bit out of my price range, but not totally out of the question since its life span would be much longer, and is independent of the monitor. Would make for an extremely nice Mac+Windows machine.

Things that I plan to use on the Mac:

- iPhone development