Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2009, 08:00 PM   #1
dandeco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Got my eMac

Well, today I received my 2004-generation 1.0 GHz eMac G4. After configuring the Airport Extreme card to recognize my Linksys router, it's been smooth sailing. AND I can finally sell that old iMac G3 of mine! (I don't want to turn this into a "Ooh, you've been ripped off!" or "This costs $30, not $300" sort of thread.)

The specs, aside that G4 processor I mentioned, include...

512 MB of DDR SDRAM
A 40 GB hard drive
CD-ROM drive (might replace this or either get an external DVD burner)
Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger (updated it to 10.4.11)
iLife '04 (may replace it with iLife '06)
ATI graphics card with 32MB of dedicated video RAM
3 USB 2.0 ports, two FireWire 400 ports, an Ethernet port, no modem, digital audio in and out ports

I like it a lot so far, and I like the screen size and the performance is an improvement over the old iMac G3 (it's somewhat identical to the PowerMac G4s at my college in terms of performance).

However, I DO want to partition my Maxtor OneTouch USB 2.0 external hard drive (750 GB) into two sections; keep the data for my PCs in one part, then make another partition to use for the Mac. How can I do this?
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 08:02 PM   #2
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
How much did you pay for it? I'd say between $100 - $150.
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 08:05 PM   #3
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Blue View Post
How much did you pay for it? I'd say between $100 - $150.
Including the shipping, yes.

Price for the computer was $70, but shipping was an additional $60. It was a pretty large, heavy package (hey, we know how heavy eMacs are!) But I admit that's a good price for a 2004-era eMac. I say I got a pretty good deal for the Buy it Now thing from eBay.
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 09:07 PM   #4
MacAndy74
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
eMac's are incredibly heavy. Not surprised it cost that much to ship.
__________________
Twitter MacAndy74 Theoretical Geek PhD
MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.66GHz/4GB DDR3/9600GT/500GB.
iPhone 3G S⃣ 16GB - iPod Nano 8GB 4G
Waiting for 2010 iMac
MacAndy74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 09:48 PM   #5
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors Demi-God
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Congratulations on your purchase. I've always really liked the look of eMacs. Now get saving for a mac mini because that G4's going to start feeling really slow really fast.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 09:50 PM   #6
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanky Deluxe View Post
Congratulations on your purchase. I've always really liked the look of eMacs. Now get saving for a mac mini because that G4's going to start feeling really slow really fast.
Actually, maybe I'll save for a MacBook, or the low-end 13-inch MacBook Pro!
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 10:38 PM   #7
PurrBall
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Send a message via MSN to PurrBall
Just use Disk Utility and change the external to have a 2 partition scheme.
__________________
iMac 24" 2.93 GHz C2D | MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz i7 | iPad Air 16 GB | iPhone 5s 32 GB
PurrBall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 11:58 PM   #8
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurrBall View Post
Just use Disk Utility and change the external to have a 2 partition scheme.
Thanks, but, turns out the Mac recognizes the hard drive with the existing contents in it from Windows use without having to do a reformat. How's THAT for convenience?
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:28 AM   #9
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Oops, duplicate post
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:36 AM   #10
redking31591
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I have an imac g3 that I just got that feels faster than a windows computer I bought a year ago. Some older apple computers you just can kill. My old band director still uses a Tibook g4 from 2001 as his day to day laptop and he has no plans on replacing it!!!
__________________
2010 13in 2.4Ghz Macbook Pro, Special Edition 500ghz graphite imac g3, iPad 1, 1st gen iPod touch, 4th gen iPod nano, 2nd gen iPod shuffle, iPad, 4th Gen iPod Shuffle, 2gen Apple TV.
redking31591 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:40 AM   #11
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
I'm finally going to set up a brand new 2.93GHz iMac for my Mom's business. She's been using her iMac G3 Indigo 500MHz since 2001. At least this one should last her a good amount of time and be usable.

My brother uses an eMac. They are good machines. If you really want it to run well upgrade to 1GB or more. Is that 512MB you have in there one chip or two 256? Also, depending on the HDD, you may want to upgrade at some point to a faster drive with more capacity. (And to stave off the inevitable death of the HDD while you are still using it).


1X512MB is $12.99 after $10 rebate or $18.99 if you don't want to bother with the rebate and want free shipping.
2X512MB is $37.99
1X1GB is ok at $34.99 and free shipping
2X1GB is costly: $70.99 at Newegg.

An 80GB WD ATA HDD is $37.99 or 160GB WD for $44.99. Then there are also some 250GB and up options.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S

Last edited by brop52; Jun 19, 2009 at 12:58 AM.
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:55 AM   #12
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brop52 View Post
My brother uses an eMac. They are good machines. If you really want it to run well upgrade to 1GB or more. Is that 512MB you have in there one chip or two 256?


1X512MB is $12.99 after $10 rebate or $18.99 if you don't want to bother with the rebate and want free shipping.
2X512MB is $37.99
1X1GB is ok at $34.99 and free shipping
2X1GB is costly: $70.99 at Newegg.
I might go for 1 GB at first. It uses two 256MB slots right now.
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 01:01 AM   #13
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by dandeco View Post
I might go for 1 GB at first. It uses two 256MB slots right now.
Why not keep one of the 256MB chips and buy a 1GB chip then? That's a pretty respectable number and keeps what you have now. The eMacs don't support dual channel so you don't have to worry about a 1 and 256 together.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 01:29 AM   #14
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by brop52 View Post
Why not keep one of the 256MB chips and buy a 1GB chip then? That's a pretty respectable number and keeps what you have now. The eMacs don't support dual channel so you don't have to worry about a 1 and 256 together.
That's not a bad idea
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 02:03 AM   #15
PhixionFilms
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Deployed atm
Send a message via AIM to PhixionFilms Send a message via Skype™ to PhixionFilms
omg 60?!!. thats insane.
__________________
Think Different.
PhixionFilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:07 PM   #16
amd4me
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Send a message via MSN to amd4me
pics or it didnt happen
amd4me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 12:43 PM   #17
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd4me View Post
pics or it didnt happen
I will eventually upload pics. I want to update the iLife software first
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 02:58 PM   #18
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
FYI: If you do plan on upgrading your HDD use the Newegg Promo code EMCHDD10A and you'll get 10% off (up to $10) for any HDD. If you want $5 cash back plus 2% cash back go through this link.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 03:04 PM   #19
michael.lauden
macrumors 68020
 
michael.lauden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
ilife 06 sucks man.. got it on my mini
michael.lauden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2009, 09:02 PM   #20
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael.lauden View Post
ilife 06 sucks man.. got it on my mini
OK, should I keep iLife '08 on it then? (I've got iMovie HD 6 to fill in for the uninstalled iMovie)
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 11:54 PM   #21
Mycatisbigfoot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
WOW, Get 10.5 after 10.6 comes out and get 10.5 rom ebay as it should be very cheap but WOW $100 including shipping WOW,
Mycatisbigfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 03:26 PM   #22
dandeco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Update on my eMac...

I apologize for the thread bump, but lately my 2004-generation eMac has made some pretty good progress since I got it!

Back when I first got it, you may recall the eMac had a 1.0 GHz G4 processor, 512 MB of DDR-SDRAM, a 40 GB hard drive, an ATI Radeon 9200 graphics card (32 MB of dedicated VRAM), 3 USB 2.0 ports, two FireWire 400 ports and a CD-ROM drive, and that it also came with an Airport Extreme card included. It didn't come with a keyboard or mouse, but I used the old black Apple Pro Keyboard from my iMac G3 (that I'm still trying to get rid of without throwing it away) and my Microsoft wireless mouse (until I get a new Apple mouse). It was also preloaded with Mac OS X Tiger and iLife '04.

Now, after a couple weeks of having the Mac, I found an old HP dvd940 Lightscribe DVD-/+R DL drive. I looked things up online and found the Patchburn utility would work just fine with it, and I was like "I think I found a Superdrive!" So I followed the instructions from here...
http://www.macworld.com/article/4520...lyhandson.html
...opened the eMac, replaced the Hitachi CD-ROM drive with the HP DVD burner, put the case back on, plugged it in and turned it back on, applied the Patchburn utility, and eureka! It worked!
Now that it had a working DVD drive, I decided to upgrade. I backed up my data to my external USB 2.0 drive, reformatted the hard drive and installed Mac OS X Leopard! Then I installed iLife '09, iMovie HD 6 (as iMovie '09 won't work with G4 graphic cards) and Microsoft Office 2004 (saving iWork for an Intel Mac) and a few other essential programs (such as Firefox, Audacity, VLC Media Player, etc.) and I was good to go!

Eventually in September, I burned my first DVD with the eMac, and it came out just fine, thanks to iDVD 7.

Recently I found a Mac OS X-compatible driver for my Creative Live webcam, and tired that out. It works just fine, and is even compatible with some iSight-related programs.

Today, the 1 GB RAM module I ordered came in, and I installed it. I replaced one of the 256 MB modules but left the other one intact, so now this eMac has 1.25 GB of RAM! So far I noticed some differences, particularly when I have both iPhoto and iMovie open at the same time. Soon I'll save up for another 1 GB module to max it out!

Well, that's my eMac experience so far. Any comments?
dandeco is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with an eMac? onkzzz PowerPC Macs 28 Jun 11, 2014 08:17 PM
Got an eMac xtempo PowerPC Macs 31 Mar 20, 2014 12:15 AM
Possible uses for Emac Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 18 Sep 20, 2013 02:46 AM
Backing Up eMac landlover PowerPC Macs 5 Jul 13, 2013 12:35 PM
Is this possible on 2 eMac's? craisin PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 11, 2013 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC