Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 20, 2009, 06:58 PM   #1
hab101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dont matter
Firebox/Garageband Question :

Hi, not sure how many people here use the presonus firebox, but I just rented one hoping to start recording with it using Garageband. With alot of struggle and confusion I have gotten to the point where garageband recognizes the firebox and I can record through my les paul studio on it and use the mic, but when I try and play back what I just did on the computer, no sound is being played back. What am I doing wrong? I also do not have any intense headphones that people keep seeming to recommend, are they a must for me to be able to hear what Im recording??

Thanks in advance, Kyle

P.S. I am using a macbook pro if that makes any differance,
hab101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2009, 07:41 PM   #2
jackerin
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Finland
I don't know what Firefox has to do with it, but usually when you use an audio interface Garageband will try to use it for both input and output. If you don't have any speakers connected to the Firebox outputs you will not hear any sound.

What you can do is to set Garageband to use the Firebox input while using the Macbook Pro output. Open the preferences and look at the audio settings.
jackerin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2009, 01:35 PM   #3
hab101
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dont matter
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackerin View Post
I don't know what Firefox has to do with it, but usually when you use an audio interface Garageband will try to use it for both input and output. If you don't have any speakers connected to the Firebox outputs you will not hear any sound.

What you can do is to set Garageband to use the Firebox input while using the Macbook Pro output. Open the preferences and look at the audio settings.
Hey, thanks man, stupid me, that ended up working perfectly! Amazing what these preamps do, Im totally turning into a digital audio guy!
hab101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to record in garageband. Not working.. Help would be greatly appreciated SQUIJIT Digital Audio 5 Feb 6, 2014 04:46 PM
Question Simple Question : What HD Brand In New iMac's? frank_t iMac 2 May 2, 2008 12:55 AM
Garageband Question isles1234 Digital Audio 1 Nov 5, 2005 12:27 AM
GarageBand question millerrh Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Sep 16, 2005 06:10 PM
Garageband Question CubaTBird Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 24, 2005 11:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC