Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2004, 02:19 AM   #1
mishi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Red face is there ANY POSSIBLE way to get a radeon 9800 in a 1.33Ghz powerbook 17"

is there ANY POSSIBLE way to get a radeon 9800 in a 1.33Ghz powerbook 17" if there is could someone please help me, i have a lot of legit cd keys i am willing to give away PLEASE help!!
mishi is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 02:22 AM   #2
G5orbust
macrumors 65816
 
G5orbust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
No.

Thats pretty much the simplest way of putting it.

The mobile radeon 9600 is one sweet chip on its own so you shouldnt worry.
__________________
Most powerful is he who has himself in his power.
To be conscious that we are perceiving or thinking is to be conscious of our own existence.
G5orbust is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 04:19 AM   #3
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
I didn't even know there was a mobile 9800?
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 12:23 PM   #4
G5orbust
macrumors 65816
 
G5orbust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
I didn't even know there was a mobile 9800?
There isnt. He was talking about the full sized version.
__________________
Most powerful is he who has himself in his power.
To be conscious that we are perceiving or thinking is to be conscious of our own existence.
G5orbust is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 12:34 PM   #5
anubis
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Here's what you need to do:

First, get a master's degree or higher in computer engineering from an ABET accredited university.

Then, reverse engineer the Radeon 9800 to figure out how ATI built the thing, from the ground up. Figure out how to pack the 9800's architecture into a PCMCIA card, or redesign the Powerbook's motherboard to accept your new 9800 design.

Finally, construct a $100 million fabrication plant. Construct your design from the previous step.

That should pretty much do you. Now then, as per the deal, I'd like to get those legit CD keys. You can email them to me or ypager me. Thanks a bunch!
anubis is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 12:46 PM   #6
wide
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by anubis
Here's what you need to do:

First, get a master's degree or higher in computer engineering from an ABET accredited university.

Then, reverse engineer the Radeon 9800 to figure out how ATI built the thing, from the ground up. Figure out how to pack the 9800's architecture into a PCMCIA card, or redesign the Powerbook's motherboard to accept your new 9800 design.

Finally, construct a $100 million fabrication plant. Construct your design from the previous step.

That should pretty much do you. Now then, as per the deal, I'd like to get those legit CD keys. You can email them to me or ypager me. Thanks a bunch!
hahahahahahhahahahahahhahahah lol.

i don't have a 17 inch pbook but would you mind telling me how to put the ATI Radeon X-800 into my 600m? I don't mind if my computer melts.
__________________
1.33 GHz iBook 12.1"
-iskin protouch pb (artic)
-microsoft intellimouse explorer bluetooth
a dell laptop and a few ipods
wide is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 03:11 PM   #7
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by G5orbust
There isnt. He was talking about the full sized version.
I thought not, and in that case this has just won my "dumb thread of the year" award
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old May 23, 2004, 03:21 PM   #8
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishi
is there ANY POSSIBLE way to get a radeon 9800 in a 1.33Ghz powerbook 17" if there is could someone please help me, i have a lot of legit cd keys i am willing to give away PLEASE help!!
Nope...

You are only offering the CD Keys, nobody is going to give the 'secret' away for such a piddly little offer of compensation.

Especially when they could go to jail for sending you the paperwork needed to complete the operation.

aka, we could tell you, but then we'd have to kill you if you didn't cough up a big enough reward for the information.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:38 AM   #9
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Wink

HMMMMMMMM ok then

Last edited by mishi; May 24, 2004 at 12:54 AM.
mishi is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:41 AM   #10
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Wink

lol, ok guys thanx 4 the help and the answer is quite obviously no, oh it is an honor to win the "dumb thread of the year" award, mabey i'd have more luck putting the mobile 9700 128 mb like the really new powerbooks have would that be easier and would apple let me? there is another question for the gurus to answer, thanx
mishi is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:53 AM   #11
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Why the hell did you buy a laptop if you want to do upgrades to it, the only thing you can do on laptops is memory & HDD.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:55 AM   #12
dopefiend
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by edesignuk
Why the hell did you buy a laptop if you want to do upgrades to it, the only thing you can do on laptops is memory & HDD.
Well...processor too if its x86.
dopefiend is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:57 AM   #13
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by dopefiend
Well...processor too if its x86.
Perhaps, but even then, it's not a regular thing to try and do.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 12:59 AM   #14
BrianKonarsMac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
you can upgrade apple laptops processors as well, i dont know why you would at this point since they aren't past a 167mhz FSB.

can you buy a Mac ATI 9700 laptop edition? if so sign me up. my 12 inch needs a 9700 with a 7200rpm HD .
BrianKonarsMac is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 01:00 AM   #15
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
bacause im a boader @ school and i'm not allowed to have a desktop because sum1 was caught with "unacceptable material" on it and i like the mac laptops
mishi is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 01:22 AM   #16
QCassidy352
macrumors G3
 
QCassidy352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishi
bacause im a boader @ school and i'm not allowed to have a desktop because sum1 was caught with "unacceptable material" on it and i like the mac laptops
um, you can have "unacceptable material" just as easily on laptops as desktops...
__________________
"If Jesus Himself came back to earth and turned water to wine, half of MacRumors would say 'meh, this is red. I wanted white.'"
QCassidy352 is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 04:19 AM   #17
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianKonarsMac
you can upgrade apple laptops processors as well, i dont know why you would at this point since they aren't past a 167mhz FSB.

can you buy a Mac ATI 9700 laptop edition? if so sign me up. my 12 inch needs a 9700 with a 7200rpm HD .
yea u can in a 15" and 17" but sadly not in a 12" )=
mishi is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 04:27 AM   #18
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by QCassidy352
um, you can have "unacceptable material" just as easily on laptops as desktops...
yea i think is is stupid 2!
mishi is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 08:44 PM   #19
StealthRider
macrumors 65816
 
StealthRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Yokosuka, Japan
Send a message via AIM to StealthRider
However it is far easier to steal laptops in the middle of the night to scan for these "inappropriate materials", so if you get a Mac make sure you have user accounts and an open firmware password set up.
StealthRider is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 08:46 PM   #20
BrianKonarsMac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishi
yea u can in a 15" and 17" but sadly not in a 12" )=
i meant after market, obviously you can get it inside the 15 and 17 since they come with it.
BrianKonarsMac is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 09:04 PM   #21
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mishi
lol, ok guys thanx 4 the help and the answer is quite obviously no, oh it is an honor to win the "dumb thread of the year" award, mabey i'd have more luck putting the mobile 9700 128 mb like the really new powerbooks have would that be easier and would apple let me? there is another question for the gurus to answer, thanx


Could it be done.... yes. The 9700 is pin compatible with the 9600 that is in your current Powerbook.

Unfortunately, your 9600 is soldered onto the motherboard, and it would void your warranty to swap the chips.

Besides, except for playing intensive 3D games at unrealistic high resolutions you won't see a significant improvement with the 9700 and 128MB of VRAM. Baerfeats is showing improvements of 3-7 fps.... not worth the cost and effort imho.
James L is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 09:17 PM   #22
thejazzman10
Guest
 
Jeez guys of course there is a way, you just need a hammer, a good excuse , and apple care
!!!!
  0
Old May 24, 2004, 10:17 PM   #23
Wyrm
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toekeeyoe, Japan
Speaking of this...

Speaking of this, wasn't ATI supposed to to be presenting an upgrade-able [mobile] graphics processor about the same time the NVidia was (I heard they are bringing this out, but I haven't seen anything yet), even though they are in talks to slow down the product advancement but hardliners got pissed at this concept and deep sixed the whole deal... Article

But if we go back to the original question "...way to get a radeon 9800 in a 1.33Ghz powerbook...", we don't want to lead him astray: I think yes, you can... but you might have trouble closing the case again as things are crammed in really tight... of course, you'd also have to break up the 9800 into little bits to fit in all the small spaces that Apple engineers left behind... this will probably end up with the laptop non-functional, and the Radeon9800, well, "in little pieces" and "working well" never go in the same sentence...

-Wyrm
__________________
Pismo, HammerHead, and an Akiba Special

Last edited by Wyrm; May 24, 2004 at 10:41 PM.
Wyrm is offline   0
Old May 24, 2004, 11:00 PM   #24
mishi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianKonarsMac
i meant after market, obviously you can get it inside the 15 and 17 since they come with it.
oh sorry, my mistake,i think it u would be able to get 1 aftermarket, i don't think that u can buy them direct from ATI i don't know how u would gat one
mishi is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there any easy way to export ALL albums/pictures to respective folders in aperture eroxx Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 22, 2011 06:40 PM
Is there any official way to get tethering with unlimited data plan? SRLMJ23 iPhone 50 Oct 6, 2010 04:20 PM
Is there any possible way to disable multi-tasking? EJR iPod touch 3 Sep 21, 2010 09:16 PM
Firewire on new MacBooks = Is there any possible way?? JamesFoote MacBook 4 Oct 14, 2008 11:50 PM
Is there any possible way to... xboxerx iPhone 10 Aug 7, 2007 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC