Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iphong

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 28, 2004
Washington, DC
I just started learning about Mac OS Server want to setup my own server, so I can do what ever I want with it. Having my website hosted somewhere else is really easy and convenient, but most of the time is very limited.

My intention is to have my own server running 24/7 serving me and few of my friends as a web, file and mail server. And i'm a little confused about the mail service and not sure how it works.

First, I have a domain name (e.g. mydomain.com) registered with Network Solutions. I want to set up a mail server that will handle IMAP mail server so that for example when people (at different server) send email to phong@mydomain.com, it will come to my server and i can download it to mail client software such as Apple Mail.

My current setup is I have a Mac Mini running Leopard server connect to internet through a router. And a few other Macs also connect to that router as well.

My server is current hosting websites, and have AFP and FTP enabled. My domain name is current pointing to my internet IP address, then I port forwarded my router to my server's local IP address in port 80 and 21, so my website can be displayed. My DNS service is currently configured for local use only as i have mycomputer.private address for my server. Now I just don't know how incoming mail works.

Can someone please explain or point me some direction which I can learn more about this. I would love to have my own mail server for my own email addresses. I probably don't need SMTP though, but if you can teach me how to make my server sending mail too, I would greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

mathcolo

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2008
Boston