Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:35 AM   #1
ss957916
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
What is the compass FOR?!

Mu understanding was that it would do thing like reorientate google maps - so as a turn the phone, the map turns. But it doesn't affect maps at all.

So does it do? I really don't care where north is so why do I need it?
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:37 AM   #2
masterell
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Haha this post made me smile.

Everyone loves a compass. Especially in their phone.
masterell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:41 AM   #3
zacheryjensen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Mu understanding was that it would do thing like reorientate google maps - so as a turn the phone, the map turns. But it doesn't affect maps at all.
Uh yes it does.

Learn to use your device properly.
zacheryjensen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:42 AM   #4
Tom G.
macrumors 65816
 
Tom G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Champaign/Urbana Illinois
Actually it does affect the maps. You have to turn on the effect though. You do this by using the small symbol in the lower left corner of the screen. It is helpful to have the map properly oriented when you use it.
__________________
Tom G.
Sent from my iPad Air.
15" retina screen MBP; iPhone 6 Gold 128G, iPad Air White 64GB 4G LTE.
Tom G. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:44 AM   #5
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Maybe too harsh
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:44 AM   #6
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Are you saying that you can't get it to work in maps, or that you can, but you don't see the point?

If you can't get it to work, hit the locate me button twice. The first time locates you, and the second activates the compass.

If it's the latter, you've never come out of a subway on an unfamiliar street and tried to figure out which way to walk, or been in the middle of a Stepford-like community where everything looks the same and had to drive or walk for a bit to see you were going in the wrong direction.

I could go on, but if you don't like it, don't use it. Simple.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 128GB Silver iPhone 6

Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 07:52 AM   #7
vkobejitsu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom G. View Post
Actually it does affect the maps. You have to turn on the effect though. You do this by using the small symbol in the lower left corner of the screen. It is helpful to have the map properly oriented when you use it.
Cool, thanks for the info! Definitely going to use often.
vkobejitsu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:00 AM   #8
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Double tap the button at the bottom of which screen? In maps that turns on locate and immediately turns it off again. In compass it just opens maps.

I thought that, if I located myself in maps and then turned the phone 180deg, the map would remain correctly orientated. It does not. It does the same as it always did.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:05 AM   #9
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Double tap the button at the bottom of which screen? In maps that turns on locate and immediately turns it off again. In compass it just opens maps.

I thought that, if I located myself in maps and then turned the phone 180deg, the map would remain correctly orientated. It does not. It does the same as it always did.
In maps.

Tap it once, and it turns a brighter blue and locates you. Tap it again, and it stays that bright blue and turns on the compass.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 128GB Silver iPhone 6

Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:06 AM   #10
jclardy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I'm not sure why it isn't working for you, as it seems to be working for everyone else.

I just hit the locate button once in maps and it finds me with GPS, I then hit it again and it reorients the map to the direction I'm facing, and turns with me. The button icon changes from a target to a target with a beam in it.
__________________
Swift Fox Software | Amounts - Expense Tracker | Rocket Chimp | TargetTap Lite | TargetTap
jclardy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:12 AM   #11
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclardy View Post
I'm not sure why it isn't working for you, as it seems to be working for everyone else.

I just hit the locate button once in maps and it finds me with GPS, I then hit it again and it reorients the map to the direction I'm facing, and turns with me. The button icon changes from a target to a target with a beam in it.
Really?! Oh - then it isn't working for me. Maps locates me and then, when I tap it again it just turns it off.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:16 AM   #12
duky
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Really?! Oh - then it isn't working for me. Maps locates me and then, when I tap it again it just turns it off.
Are you using a 3GS?
__________________
4 riMac 32GB M295X Fusion; 2.6 rMBP; i7 Mini (xbmc); 128GB iPhone 6; 1080p aTV2
duky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:18 AM   #13
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Yep.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:19 AM   #14
duky
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Yep.
Does the standalone Compass app work for you?
__________________
4 riMac 32GB M295X Fusion; 2.6 rMBP; i7 Mini (xbmc); 128GB iPhone 6; 1080p aTV2
duky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:20 AM   #15
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
[Nevermind, someone already asked.]
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:22 AM   #16
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Yes - appears to work fine. But doesn't seem to intigrate with anything.

Should the button in compass that opens maps also turn on the map orientate thing? Cos if so, it doesn't for me.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:24 AM   #17
Ntombi
macrumors 68020
 
Ntombi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bostonian exiled in SoCal
Did you hit "ok" when the compass app asked to use your location? If you don't remember, go to Settings>General>Reset and choose "reset location warnings." That will make all apps ask for permission again, and let you activate the compass.

If that doesn't work, try resetting your phone.
__________________
2.53 GHz 13" MacBook Pro iPod Classic 128GB Silver iPhone 6

Ntombi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:28 AM   #18
duky
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Carolina
It really wasn't such an issue on mine so if resetting the settings doesn't work maybe go to an Apple Store and ask them to show you or something.
__________________
4 riMac 32GB M295X Fusion; 2.6 rMBP; i7 Mini (xbmc); 128GB iPhone 6; 1080p aTV2
duky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:31 AM   #19
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks for the help.

Done all that - said ok when prompted, restarted and still not working!

Guess I've got a duff phone. At least I know it SHOULD work cos til now I thought the compass was a pointless pile of crap.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 08:38 AM   #20
Ron21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Thanks for the help.

Done all that - said ok when prompted, restarted and still not working!

Guess I've got a duff phone. At least I know it SHOULD work cos til now I thought the compass was a pointless pile of crap.
Try restoring your phone in itunes. If that doesn't work exchange for another one.
Ron21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 09:25 AM   #21
TapOut
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Erie, PA
it can also be used for augmented reality apps . which will be freaking awesomke
TapOut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 09:33 AM   #22
PNutts
macrumors 601
 
PNutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacheryjensen View Post
Uh yes it does.

Learn to use your device properly.
You really took the time to post this? Surely your time could be better spent elsewhere.
PNutts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 10:42 AM   #23
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
Thanks for the help.

Done all that - said ok when prompted, restarted and still not working!

Guess I've got a duff phone. At least I know it SHOULD work cos til now I thought the compass was a pointless pile of crap.
Try this:

- Tap the "Open Maps" button in the Compass app.
- When Maps opens, tap the Locate button on the left, it will turn blue.
- Tap the now-blue Locate button again.

Does that do anything?
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 10:47 AM   #24
DuFFy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phila
when in the maps application, are you waiting for the gps to finish finding your location before you try hitting the button again? because you should, sometimes you might be cancelling the location service instead of activating the compass, i dunno, try it
__________________
24" Aluminum iMac, 3.06GHz, 4 GB RAM, 1TB, ATI HD 4850 | iPhone 3G S⃣ 16GB, Black | iPad WiFi+3G - 32GB
DuFFy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 11:21 AM   #25
Que
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNutts View Post
You really took the time to post this? Surely your time could be better spent elsewhere.
ditto.

and ditto to me for doing the same.

why do people complain about people's posts who complain about people's posts who cmoplain about people's posts etc ?
Que is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compass calibration bp1000 iOS 7 0 Oct 9, 2013 04:07 PM
No compass! DomC iOS 7 2 Sep 19, 2013 11:33 AM
Compass now a Level JohnLT13 iOS 7 2 Jun 11, 2013 06:39 PM
Resolved: Compass question xArtx iPhone/iPad Programming 6 Feb 16, 2013 08:36 AM
Compass synergize iPhone 1 Sep 16, 2012 03:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC