Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 22, 2009, 08:11 AM   #1
Bazzy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Will An iPhone Bought In The USA Work in the UK?

Hi All,

I have my UK mobile phone contract with Orange who do not offer the iPhone. I do not really want the hassle of changing companies but also do not want to be tied into a 24 month contract with anyone else! I would like an iPhone and was wondering if I bought one from the USA, would it work in the UK? Is there any advantage to this or would the costs still be prohibitive? I just would like everything Apple if possible so my life can flow that little but easier!

Sorry to ask this as well, but will cordless home phones bought in the USA also work in the UK?


Bazzy
Bazzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 08:20 AM   #2
williamgallas10
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
It will not work . US iPhones are Locked to Att.
williamgallas10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 08:26 AM   #3
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
IF you unlock it, yes it will work on any GSM system. All iPhones are "World Phones," and have GSM radios for all 4 common GSM freqs.

Right now you can unlock the 2G and 3G. The s/w for the 3GS, Ultrasnow, is having issues, but should be up soon. Check out the iPhone Dev Team blog for more deets.
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 08:39 AM   #4
coolwater
macrumors 6502a
 
coolwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post
IF you unlock it, yes it will work on any GSM system. All iPhones are "World Phones," and have GSM radios for all 4 common GSM freqs.

Right now you can unlock the 2G and 3G. The s/w for the 3GS, Ultrasnow, is having issues, but should be up soon. Check out the iPhone Dev Team blog for more deets.
Then, can you unlock it and lock it again? I mean, can you bring your iPhone to overseas trip and lock it back to AT&T once you get back?
coolwater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 08:57 AM   #5
goosnarrggh
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazzy View Post
Sorry to ask this as well, but will cordless home phones bought in the USA also work in the UK?
There are two issues here - the power supply and the landline connection.

The telephone signal itself ought to be electrically compatible, but the phone jack has a different physical layout and you'd need an adaptor.

The power grid in the UK has a different voltage and frequency than in the USA. If your wireless telephone power supply has markings saying it's compatible with 50-60 Hz and 100-240 VAC, then it's a universal power supply and all you'd need is a physical adaptor to fit UK-style plugs.

Otherwise, you'll also need a universal transformer/inverter that takes the UK-style plug, frequency and voltage as an input, and provides a US-style plug, voltage and frequency as an output. Alternatively you could acquire a replacement power supply that plugs directly into the UK power grid and produces the low-voltage DC power your phone actually uses.
goosnarrggh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 09:10 AM   #6
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolwater View Post
Then, can you unlock it and lock it again? I mean, can you bring your iPhone to overseas trip and lock it back to AT&T once you get back?
All unlocking does is let you use other SIMs; it doesn't affect your AT&T SIM. Assuming you have an unlocked 3G, pop in a UK SIM and when you return just put your ATT SIM back in. There is no real reason to lock it again.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 09:14 AM   #7
olisones
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post

Right now you can unlock the 2G and 3G. The s/w for the 3GS, Ultrasnow, is having issues, but should be up soon. Check out the iPhone Dev Team blog for more deets.
This UltraSn0w confuses me somewhat. Is it the case that there is actually a method for unlocking the 3GS? Or just the 2G and 3G. I was under the impression that as it's a new chip, it generally takes a while to figure out?
olisones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2009, 10:02 AM   #8
B737
macrumors 6502a
 
B737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
I don't think chupa chupa is fully correct...

I understand dev-team blog properly, redsn0w will only unlock a 2G iPhone. Ultrasn0w will unlock iphone 3g.

Read the paragraph in the dev team blog right above the text:
"SHA1 SUMS"

I forgot I can paste w my phone now! Edit:
Quote:
To use redsn0w simply upgrade the device in iTunes to firmware version 3.0 and run redsn0w to activate and jailbreak the device (and if you are using an original iPhone 2G, it will unlock it too!)
__________________
- 128gb iPhone5 - iPad 2 -
- late '10, 13" MacBook Air 10.9.5
- PC Core i7, Win7

Last edited by B737; Jun 22, 2009 at 10:58 AM.
B737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will an iphone 5C bought in thailand work in Belgium Jyscall iPhone 1 Dec 30, 2013 05:33 PM
Can a iPhone 5S bought in USA work in the UK? MellowFuzz iPhone 0 Sep 19, 2013 05:21 PM
Will iPhone 5S bought in the US work in Europe? splitt iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 18, 2013 05:39 PM
Will iPhone 5 bought in Japan work with my AT&T plan? Greenmustard iPhone 7 May 2, 2013 11:25 AM
Just bought my iPhone 5!! So excited!! Looking to get unlocked for work? mikeylong iPhone 2 Dec 12, 2012 10:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC