Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

czeluff

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 23, 2006
I know there's all sorts of talk regarding the 3GS battery life, and I just thought I'd go into detail about how I use the phone, and the battery life's I've been seeing.

I use the iPod for multiple hours per day, at least 4-5. I'm a programmer and need something to listen to.

I text ALOT. I have the unlimited plan, because i'm usually around 1800-2000 per month.

I don't use the phone much, maybe 15 minutes per day MAX.

I feel like I use the 3G internet very often, in short bursts. Google queries to reach Wikipedia, opening up the Facebook app 10-15 times per day (til they get push), etc.

And with that usage, here are my results:

On both the first-gen and the 3G phone, I take the phone off of the charger @ 8am, and by 10pm i'd be hitting the 10/20% warnings.

On the 3GS, I take the phone off of the charger @ 8am, and a full 48 hours later, I hit the 10/20% warnings, depending on the usage differences.

Let me know if you have any other questions regarding my usage, and i'm happy to update the post above.

Ent

macrumors regular
Jun 24, 2009
your usage is the opposite of mine.

Today I had bluetooth on for about 30 minutes, GPS on for about 5-7 minutes, brightness to about 30%, wifi on, locational services on, push OFF. Browsed the internet via 3G for about an hour..and watched a movie for about 10-15 min. My usage (since 7:30am until 7:00pm now) is 3 hours 12 min., and 12 hours of standby time. My battery is 30% right now.

I still think the battery should be at least in the 6 hour range..and getting ~3 hours of usage is still garbage. What do you think?

B.A.

macrumors regular
Feb 18, 2007