Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 26, 2004, 04:18 PM   #1
Soc7777777
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Can apple hardware run linux???

i was just wondering whether apple hardware could run the linux OS.... i wanted to know this because i am going to be a computer science major and i know that the truman state comp science department is full of linux users and there are very few mac users... i was just wondering if i could combine the too and be a mac user running linux... also could i have the choice of sometimes running os x and sometimes running linux on the same machine?
Soc7777777 is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 04:33 PM   #2
vollspacken
macrumors 65816
 
vollspacken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boogie-Down Berlintown
well, go to Google.com, and type "mac linux distribution"...

woohoo, guess what, the results should answer your question...

vSpacken
__________________
...A Huge Ever Growing Apple That Rules From The Centre Of The Ultraworld.
vollspacken is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 04:45 PM   #3
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
yeah
i know for a fact red hat works
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 04:58 PM   #4
Macmaniac
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
I have heard of Yellow Dog Linux which runs on the Mac, I'm not sure if its still around but that could be a start.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 05:04 PM   #5
blue&whiteman
Banned
 
blue&whiteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
there is also black dog linux from the same people that made yellow dog. black dog is geared to interconnecting G3 or G4 towers to combine the power like a smaller scale virgnia tech system. i'm sure by now black dog can also use the G5.
blue&whiteman is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 05:06 PM   #6
Soc7777777
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
what about a version that works with G5

what about 64 bit support and working with the G5.... how does that work out..i read the google search site that came up and it said G3 and G4... but i was wondering about G5
Soc7777777 is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 05:28 PM   #7
gekko513
macrumors 601
 
gekko513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Yellow Dog Linux beta ISOs with support for G5s are available from YDL.net Enhanced accounts.

This means the G5 version will probably be ready in time for your needs.
__________________
Someone get Nekkid™, now!
gekko513 is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 05:43 PM   #8
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
There are serveral PPC linux distro.

http://www.linuxiso.org/

just click on your choice of distro and see if the have a PPC verison.
superbovine is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 06:53 PM   #9
blue&whiteman
Banned
 
blue&whiteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soc7777777
what about 64 bit support and working with the G5.... how does that work out..i read the google search site that came up and it said G3 and G4... but i was wondering about G5
http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/pr.../g564bit.shtml
blue&whiteman is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 07:48 PM   #10
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Ah, Truman State. That's where I go. It's a nifty little place, and don't forget to join the TSU-MUG there. Just email mac@truman.edu in the fall and ask about it. Also don't be afraid to open iChat once and a while and use Rendezvous.

Also, don't forget VPC can run x86 distros of Linux if you need too. I use it to run Knoppix everynow and then.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0
Old May 26, 2004, 11:17 PM   #11
superbovine
macrumors 68030
 
superbovine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
how is the performance on knoppix? i don't have vpc to try
superbovine is offline   0
Old May 27, 2004, 06:17 AM   #12
cb911
macrumors 601
 
cb911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Send a message via ICQ to cb911 Send a message via AIM to cb911
oh yeah! Linux on Mac, sure is possible.

i've got Gentoo installed on my PB, just go and download the LiveCD, great stuff.
__________________
PostPixel.com.au
cb911 is offline   0
Old May 27, 2004, 08:05 AM   #13
Mord
macrumors G4
 
Mord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old York
what practical use are you going to have for it because os x is unix based coplete with a commandline and you can run linux app's with fink so what really is the point?
Mord is offline   0
Old May 27, 2004, 01:30 PM   #14
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
Personally I prefer Gentoo (http://gentoo.org) on PPC, but it takes a long time to install, so beware.
Theres an exhaustive list of them, including but not limited to YDL, Gentoo, Debian, Crux, FreeBSD, OpenBSD (perhaps I should just say *BSD)...Plus there's a TON of other distros out there, theres a somewhat decent list on http://microsuck.com/

As for Knoppix on VPC: http://www.applegoddess.org/files/knoppix/
Two screenshots, one fullscreen, playing with them during math class on my iBook
And urm Fink sorta...whats the word...SUCKS.
Try Darwinports (http://darwinports.opendarwin.org) instead, even though it takes a little bit of time to install...NOT a good idea if you have a slow computer though.

If you're a CS major dont worry about Linux on PPC. I'm sure the developer tools will suffice you get gcc and xcode, blah blah...
Alternatively you can buy a $300 PC to run Linux.
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!


Last edited by janey; May 27, 2004 at 01:34 PM.
janey is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run Apple Hardware Test on Mac Pro with ML preinstalled? Please help! AlexanderM Mac Pro 15 Sep 6, 2013 07:52 PM
Can I run apple hardware disk from a clone of the Install disk 2 on an external hard Ngarritj MacBook Pro 2 Aug 11, 2013 01:42 AM
Has anyone used Linux Mint on their Mac hardware? (Non-virtulaized) chrono1081 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Aug 6, 2013 05:25 AM
want to run apple hardware test (or similar diagnostics test) with a broken screen ghostmetropolis Mac Pro 2 May 9, 2013 03:05 PM
Mid 2010 Macbook Pro cannot run Apple Hardware Test Candunc MacBook Pro 4 Nov 18, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC