Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 28, 2004, 02:47 AM   #1
Penman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
PowerBook 17" 1.5 Quality issues.

I've had my fully loaded (2 Gig Ram, 5400, 128) Rev. C for a couple of weeks now and it's causing me problems. My Rev. A had a perfect screen and no issues. My C arrived with a loose key, has just developed a stuck pixel and, most annoyingly, keeps losing touch with my wireless base-station, requiring me to reboot to get my connection back.

I'm running Panther with all the latest updates and have been having this problem since before the last bug fix (yesterdays).

Also Mail asks me for my email passwords every few minutes despite them being entered correctly in my account details. Sometimes they're not accepted at all. I always click the 'remember this password in Keychain' option but it seems to have no effect.

Any suggestions (particularly for the Mail problem) before I send this thing back. My GF's 15" arrived dead from Apple and I'm beginning to wonder if there aren't problems with PB's...?
__________________
A computer is a screwdriver with an
ego problem
Penman is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 03:07 AM   #2
JFreak
macrumors 68040
 
JFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
repair permissions and most of the software problems should go away. as for the stuck pixel, well, you can try to rub it but it's only a small chance it wakes up so if you still can return it, by all means, do it. chances are you get a better unit next time.
JFreak is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 04:34 AM   #3
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
take it to the genius bar, isnce u just got it; if there are problems with the airport and they cant be resolved in the genius bar they might exchange it
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 04:37 AM   #4
aswitcher
macrumors 603
 
aswitcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney OZ
Send a message via AIM to aswitcher
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penman
I've had my fully loaded (2 Gig Ram, 5400, 128) Rev. C for a couple of weeks now and it's causing me problems. My Rev. A had a perfect screen and no issues. My C arrived with a loose key, has just developed a stuck pixel and, most annoyingly, keeps losing touch with my wireless base-station, requiring me to reboot to get my connection back.
The PB17 I briefly had also got a stuck pixel within hours.

But then it soemtimes booted up with a screen blurred with very thin coloured lines...so it got DOA'ed
__________________
Switcher since June '04
iPhone 4GS | 27" iMac | Elgato EyeTV/IceTV | SecuritySpy User
aswitcher is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 06:21 AM   #5
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
You can fix your Mail problem by deleting your Mail preferences (I had the same issue for a while).

Delete com.apple.mail.plist

The rest I can't help with - sorry!
iGary is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 09:20 AM   #6
locopano
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melbourne
Come to think of it.. i had the same probelems with the WIRELESS ISSUE, i had a suspicion taht it was the security upadte.. cos afteer i did that my computer started acting wierd.. i erased and instaleed a fresh copy of panther.. no updates.. its all works fine...

You can try that.. thats what i have always done in the past (erase and install) if anything wasnt 100% or some program wasnt installed proplerly or was playing up.
__________________
Powerbook 17" 1.5Ghz / 512MB / 80GB 5400rpm / 128VRAM
locopano is offline   0
Old May 28, 2004, 09:24 AM   #7
tomf87
Guest
 
tomf87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by locopano
Come to think of it.. i had the same probelems with the WIRELESS ISSUE, i had a suspicion taht it was the security upadte.. cos afteer i did that my computer started acting wierd.. i erased and instaleed a fresh copy of panther.. no updates.. its all works fine...

You can try that.. thats what i have always done in the past (erase and install) if anything wasnt 100% or some program wasnt installed proplerly or was playing up.
Yeah, I reinstalled and did not install the Airport 3.4.1 update and I haven't had an issue since.
tomf87 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I "Import" .MTS (AVCHD) files without loosing "quality"? desmotesta Digital Video 27 Nov 18, 2014 12:46 AM
Powerbook G4 12" HD issues metwo PowerPC Macs 3 Nov 26, 2013 06:49 AM
Keyboard Quality Control Issues? kumquats MacBook Air 2 Aug 17, 2013 02:36 AM
24" and new 27" Cinema Displays constantly malfunction, anyone having quality issues? bedifferent Mac Peripherals 4 Jul 21, 2013 08:15 AM
Quality issues iPhone 5 SchuettS iPhone 29 Dec 26, 2012 02:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC