Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2009, 10:19 AM   #1
Willaay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Send a message via AIM to Willaay Send a message via MSN to Willaay
iBook G4 12" Airport Info not found

Hey all,
I bought an iBook G4 from my friend for $10. It needed a new inverter board, reed switch, and battery. I've replaced them all successfully, and the computer works great!

Only problem is, the airport information can't be found. I know its in there because I've disconnected it, reconnected it, reseated it, and it worked before.

I can open system profiler, and when I click airport card, it says no information found.

I'm on the internet via an ethernet cable, and its a pain in the butt! Anyone have any suggestions on what to do? Should I go ahead and order a new card?
__________________
Loving my MacBook
Willaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 10:35 AM   #2
noodle654
macrumors 68000
 
noodle654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Never Ender
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willaay View Post
Hey all,
I bought an iBook G4 from my friend for $10. It needed a new inverter board, reed switch, and battery. I've replaced them all successfully, and the computer works great!

Only problem is, the airport information can't be found. I know its in there because I've disconnected it, reconnected it, reseated it, and it worked before.

I can open system profiler, and when I click airport card, it says no information found.

I'm on the internet via an ethernet cable, and its a pain in the butt! Anyone have any suggestions on what to do? Should I go ahead and order a new card?
I'm thinking that the card might be the problem. If it is a G4 it would have Airport Extreme. I would run AppleHardware Test, it tests the Airport card.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" i7 2.3GHz (June 2012) HR Antiglare | iPhone 5 64GB | MacBook Air i5 1.3GHz (2013) | Mac Pro 5,1 W3580 |
noodle654 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 10:45 AM   #3
Willaay
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Send a message via AIM to Willaay Send a message via MSN to Willaay
I don't have any of the original CD's, and the CD drive is messed up.
__________________
Loving my MacBook
Willaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 12:29 PM   #4
NewMacbookPlz
macrumors 68040
 
NewMacbookPlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
You may be able to download the drivers/software from support.apple.com

As for the physical aspect, are you sure you've got the card in all the way? On my G4 iBook it needed quite a good push to get it in straight and fully seated.
__________________
Collector's Edition 2.0ghz Aluminum MacBook, 8 GB iPhone EDGE, Canon 450D/50mm f1.8
NewMacbookPlz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 01:15 PM   #5
Willaay
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Send a message via AIM to Willaay Send a message via MSN to Willaay
Yeah its in. I ordered a new one, just to see. It was only $18. Thanks eBay.
__________________
Loving my MacBook
Willaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 03:48 PM   #6
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
trying another card, espically for $18 is a really good idea. i fix/support lots of ibooks, and another thought is that the socket that the card snaps into is broken. it is a tall stand-off that is soldered on the logic board, and i've seen several that get enough use (plug/unplug/plug, etc) that they finally break a trace or two and the card is no longer seen or functional. no easy fix unless you can handle surface mount/solder trace repair. if that is the case, get a cheap usb wifi dongle and that would get you back to work for $20-30 depending on where you find one.

the other thing i would mention is that you can download the hardware test cd images from apple. with a messed up drive, you will need an external to burn the image to cd, and then boot the laptop from the cd (PPC note: it MUST be a firewire external drive to be bootable). link is HERE. best of luck.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.
4JNA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2009, 11:16 PM   #7
Willaay
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Send a message via AIM to Willaay Send a message via MSN to Willaay
Thanks for the help! I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
Loving my MacBook
Willaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Express not being found by AirPort Utility on Mac Juliat72 Mac Peripherals 13 Today 11:01 AM
Found this Apple Think Different Koozie, can't find any info on it. bwillwall Apple Collectors 2 Jan 3, 2014 04:21 PM
"show item info" not showing all of info skiz MacBook Pro 4 May 4, 2013 11:53 PM
iPad: Surprising and remarkable info i found... Random 995K iPad 0 Nov 16, 2012 09:35 PM
iTunes remembering info in "Get Info" ccvid Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 13, 2012 04:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC