Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2009, 06:46 AM   #1
ss957916
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Can I change what the power button does?

When I press the power button of my MBP I want it to go to sleep instead of bringing up options. Can I do this?
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 06:50 AM   #2
u49aa2
macrumors 6502a
 
u49aa2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Between Heaven and Hell
I don't think you can. I will be shocked if i hear a contrary answer. Though i guess everything is possible with advance hacking
__________________
"Most people say that is it is the intellect which makes a great scientist. They are wrong: it is character."
u49aa2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 06:53 AM   #3
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I had it on my Vaio - didn't realise how useful it was!
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 07:04 AM   #4
Dane D.
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
When I press the power button of my MBP I want it to go to sleep instead of bringing up options. Can I do this?
System Prefs>Energy Saver>Options>Allow Power Button to sleep computer
__________________
B/WG3/1.1GHzRevB,OS9.2.2,OS10.4.6
iMacG3/600,OS9.2.2,OS10.2.8
eMacG4/USB2.0,OS10.4.11
MacBookPro 13",OS10.8
Dane D. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 07:21 AM   #5
emptyCup
macrumors 65816
 
emptyCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
When I press the power button of my MBP I want it to go to sleep instead of bringing up options. Can I do this?
On Leopard pressing the power button should bring up a menu where sleep is one of the options.

On Tiger: System Preferences > Energy Saver > Options > Allow Power Button to Sleep the Computer
emptyCup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 01:14 PM   #6
ss957916
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I've got Leopard. So looks like I'll have to keep clicking sleep.

I'm beginning to quite miss my trusty viao.
ss957916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 01:43 PM   #7
geoffreak
macrumors 68020
 
geoffreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas; Wish I was in Japan
My Mac Mini sleeps when the power button is pressed. It is running Leopard.
__________________
rMBP 2.6GHz 16GB 512GB | Mac Mini 2009 2.26GHz | MBP Early '08 2.4GHz | iPhone 4S 32GB | Drobo
Nimbix - Accelerated Cloud Supercomputing
geoffreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 02:27 PM   #8
mrj205
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
When I press the power button of my MBP I want it to go to sleep instead of bringing up options. Can I do this?
you can always set up a hot corner for system sleep, or maybe that is display sleep...
__________________
I have things...

Last edited by mrj205; Jun 29, 2009 at 02:38 PM.
mrj205 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 02:35 PM   #9
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss957916 View Post
I've got Leopard. So looks like I'll have to keep clicking sleep.

I'm beginning to quite miss my trusty viao.
Somehow I think it would take a lot more than a single button function to make me miss a Vaio (or Latitude, Thinkpad, etc.)
__________________

JNB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 03:12 PM   #10
izibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Just hit the power button and then hit "S" on the keyboard. Easier than going back to the trackpad for me.
izibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 03:30 PM   #11
dmmcintyre3
macrumors 68020
 
dmmcintyre3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by izibo View Post
Just hit the power button and then hit "S" on the keyboard. Easier than going back to the trackpad for me.
OR close the screen
__________________
FreeVPS.us
dmmcintyre3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad 2 Power Button marshy82 iPad 12 Apr 6, 2011 10:01 AM
Can you use the power button on the keyboard as a power button of your iMac? hojoon0724 iMac 0 Jun 25, 2010 03:25 AM
How can I change what the "About this Mac" box says? GreyFox1221 OS X 20 Feb 19, 2009 08:43 AM
Change what the X button does? NoSmokingBandit Mac Applications and Mac App Store 15 Jan 3, 2009 01:41 PM
On the 12'' PowerBook, does the Power button light up? wako PowerPC Macs 3 Aug 26, 2005 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC