Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2009, 09:09 PM   #1
jfriedman8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
MacBook Pro 13 500GB Hard Drive Upgrade Question

Can anyone tell me what the Apple "stock" 500GB hard drive is if you decided to overpay and have Apple put it in as a BTO. With the new EFI update seeming to lock out certain user upgraded HD's I would like to buy two 500GB'ers and use the optibay device, but only with the same HD as Apple stocks.
jfriedman8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 09:40 PM   #2
JGruber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I think Seagate is what Apple uses. What EFI update are you talking about?
JGruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 09:53 PM   #3
jfriedman8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The new one. 1.7 I think. It enabled the 3.0 GB/s interface. Many users who have self upgraded have reported their HDD's have been getting a lot of beachballs since.
__________________

2013 MacBook Pro Retina 15" 2.4 i7 256GB 8GB
2013 Macbook Air
iPad Mini: 32 GB Black - iPhone 5: 32GB Black
jfriedman8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2009, 09:57 PM   #4
JGruber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
hmm, I haven't noticed it at all on any of my Macs. I don't think that would have anything to do with a HDD not working. Any 3GB SATA drive is compatible with 1.5GB interface, same is true with a 1.5GB drive, it would work on a 3GB interface.

That's interesting though, and I'll have to keep an eye on my Macs.
JGruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 12:23 AM   #5
Imola Ghost
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I just read about this tonight and it very well may be my problem I was having with a Seagate 500gb hard drive installed. I just bought my Macbook and had the problem ever since day 2 of turning it on. As soon as I turned my macbook on I updated all of the software and didn't think that could be the problem.

I hope that Apple wouldn't keep people from buying/installing their own HDD's.
Imola Ghost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 09:40 AM   #6
JGruber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
The HDD's apple use are no different from the ones you can buy from Newegg or your preferred vendor, all the do is slap a Apple branded sticker on it in place of the normal sitcker. Every HDD I have replaced has been a standard Seagate, that can be had from a number of places.
JGruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 09:43 AM   #7
mcdj
macrumors 603
 
mcdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGruber View Post
The HDD's apple use are no different from the ones you can buy from Newegg or your preferred vendor, all the do is slap a Apple branded sticker on it in place of the normal sitcker.
It's true that they're just branded, but that doesn't really explain the troubles people are having with non-Apple HDDs and the EFI 1.7 update.
__________________
Great cage! No bird...
50f/2
mcdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 11:39 AM   #8
asaj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I just replaced the 160gb stock drive in my new 13" with a 500gb Hitachi from newegg. The 160gb I removed was the exact same model Hitachi as the one I replaced it with, aside from the capacity difference. Label was the same and everything, except it had a small Apple logo on it. I swapped it out, installed, OS X, and updated everything, no problems at all.
asaj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 03:23 PM   #9
popcorn-in-sac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaj View Post
I just replaced the 160gb stock drive in my new 13" with a 500gb Hitachi from newegg. The 160gb I removed was the exact same model Hitachi as the one I replaced it with, aside from the capacity difference. Label was the same and everything, except it had a small Apple logo on it. I swapped it out, installed, OS X, and updated everything, no problems at all.
Are you running the new 1.7 firmware? I was considering doing just what you did, but wasn't sure if this combination would be problematic.

Thanks,
Mark
popcorn-in-sac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 03:29 PM   #10
JGruber
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I think the problem is more of a YMMV. I have done this is BOTH my Macbooks, and a buddy of mine who uses a Macbook as well. No problems what so ever, running all the latest updates.
JGruber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 04:32 PM   #11
mmoran27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I have seen different models

I think the 250s are fujitsu.

I think the 320s are fujitsu.

T think the 500s are hitachi.
mmoran27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 04:49 PM   #12
pdater
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
In my MBP (13"), I just replaced my factory 250 gb 5400 rpm drive with a WD 320 gB 7200 rpm drive. Not only does it work perfectly, but the WD draws less current .53A vs .7A. Unfortnately, WD does not make a 7200 rpm drive with 500 gb capacity and a low current draw.
pdater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 04:53 PM   #13
jfriedman8
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hmmm. No offense, but we really need someone who was lazy/stupid enough to splurge for the Apple installed one and just tell us the model. Yeah, I know all they do is print an Apple logo on the label, but if you buy the same exact model from NewEgg or wherever, then there should not be a problem.

Maybe I'll just call Apple....
__________________

2013 MacBook Pro Retina 15" 2.4 i7 256GB 8GB
2013 Macbook Air
iPad Mini: 32 GB Black - iPhone 5: 32GB Black
jfriedman8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 05:01 PM   #14
mcdj
macrumors 603
 
mcdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfriedman8 View Post
Yeah, I know all they do is print an Apple logo on the label, but if you buy the same exact model from NewEgg or wherever, then there should not be a problem.

Maybe I'll just call Apple....
So you're saying, in theory, that none of the people having issues with the EFI 1.7 update have the exact same model as Apple offers? That makes sense on paper, but I can't help but wonder if Apple has the OEMs write a special version of the firmware for them.
__________________
Great cage! No bird...
50f/2
mcdj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 05:34 PM   #15
harcosparky
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
If you installed the 1.7 Firmware Update ----> OOPS!!!

If you have not done so, than don't.

We now have two new MBP's ... 13" .... and WILL NOT be doing the firmware update.
__________________
Awwwwwww!
harcosparky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 07:07 PM   #16
will0407
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
My WD Scorpio blue worked fine after the update. Also, if your HD does go bust after the update, surely you can still buy another and be under the cost apple would charge you just for them to fit one!?
will0407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
500GB Hard drive failure - for the 4th time scotsboi77 MacBook Pro 27 May 31, 2012 02:46 PM
New Macbook Pro 13.3 Hard drive crunch noise? rydude07 MacBook Pro 7 Apr 30, 2011 12:37 AM
Will a SATA II HDD Work In My 2010 13" MacBook Pro? mdhansen5 MacBook Pro 5 Mar 8, 2011 02:17 PM
External hard drive and MBP and itunes syncing movies.. ShakyJay Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Mar 6, 2011 07:19 PM
Upgrading macbook pro 13.3 Hard drive 250GB@5400 -> 500GB@7200 - my experience jamesraward MacBook Pro 31 Dec 29, 2009 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC