Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 30, 2009, 08:40 PM   #1
v8ko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Can I use the iPhone like a ipod touch without activating it?

Let me start by saying Im in an area that doesnt have GSM and honestly I dont care to have the data plan but I do want a mic, camera and better speaker than my IPT has, I also think the iphone looks a wee bit better.

The 3rd gen IPT's are coming out soon but Ive noticed the price on used 16gb 2nd gen iphones are pretty inexpensive. Im positive it cannot be this easy lol and I have searced Google and walked away with a split consensus as to whether or not it would work.

basically will all functions work like wi-fi, youtube, safari, mail etc?

Thanks in advance fellows!
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 08:41 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Yes you can. Just don't activate it and use the Wi-Fi that is built into the phone.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2009, 08:56 PM   #3
g2tegg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Dont you need a sim card to get the iPhone from the boot up screen? I upgraded my girlfriends iPhone to 3.0 without a sim card and it wouldnt get past the screen with the slider until the sim card was inserted. But if you have a another active sim card Im sure you could insert it just to get it going.
g2tegg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 12:12 AM   #4
chris7777
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Whats the word on this.

I would just get a touch if it had a camera and voice recorder.

But since the current one doesn't

And I am unsure about the chances of the upcoming version,

I would love to use an iphone as my pda.

I would use it as a phone too if possible, I just don't want the insulting data plan. It is not quite as bad as texting but it is still too much for my everyday use where wifi would suffice.
chris7777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 01:02 AM   #5
frankiepdx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Portland OR
If this would be true, i'd dump my 1st gen.
frankiepdx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 01:38 AM   #6
xhArRiSoNxD
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Well I believe you should be able to.

All you need is an inactive sim to place in the phone to stop it from saying "insert sim" over and over.


I had an extra phone that I wanted to just use as a music player. Although it is a tmobile phone I went to a tmobile store and asked for a "blank" sim chip not attached to an account and they offered it to me under the table for free. Then I tried to do this again at a later time and they tried to charge me full price for a sim chip. Around $30. Even though you can get one online for $5.99.
xhArRiSoNxD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 01:54 AM   #7
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
whew, ok I guess its not as stupid of a question that I thought it was lol.

For those that have listened to music on an iPhone using the speaker is there much difference?

Anyone ever record music using the mic? how did that sound?

Also should I just be able to transfer all my apps and such over to the iPhone just like I would if I purchased another IPT?

Thanks for your responses so far fellows!
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 01:56 AM   #8
macjram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I think you have to buy it with a contract?

Or pay that hefty price.
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro, iPhone 4S
macjram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:18 AM   #9
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjram View Post
I think you have to buy it with a contract?

Or pay that hefty price.
Not on a used one.
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:54 AM   #10
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
This article states that an original iPhone can be used in this fashion but offers nothing regarding a 3G or 3G-S in the same fashion.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 07:32 AM   #11
4DThinker
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8ko View Post
For those that have listened to music on an iPhone using the speaker is there much difference? Anyone ever record music using the mic?
You can do voice recording on a 2nd gen Touch. All you need is a headset with mic. The headset that came with my Samsung Instinct phone works fine, but so will the one you can by from the Apple store. The onboard speaker is fine for phone conversations but horrible at music playback. No stereo, and a tiny speaker means no bass. On my Touch, the recorded quality from my mic was amazingly good. I can't comment on what music would sound like, as I haven't tried it. Not use why you would want to.
__________________
Visit my blog!
4DThinker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:09 PM   #12
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
This article states that an original iPhone can be used in this fashion but offers nothing regarding a 3G or 3G-S in the same fashion.
Nice. The article is pretty firm on using the sim card that originally came with the phone or at the least a sim that has at some point been activated through an iPhone. Anyone have any input on this???


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DThinker View Post
You can do voice recording on a 2nd gen Touch. All you need is a headset with mic. The headset that came with my Samsung Instinct phone works fine, but so will the one you can by from the Apple store. The onboard speaker is fine for phone conversations but horrible at music playback. No stereo, and a tiny speaker means no bass. On my Touch, the recorded quality from my mic was amazingly good. I can't comment on what music would sound like, as I haven't tried it. Not use why you would want to.
Thanks for the info! Yeah Im aware of this but I really prefer not to need any add-ons. The headphone/mic thing isnt much bother but I hardly use my IPT that way. Im either in my car or have it hooked up to a pa in my studio or at shows between sets.

Basically I would want to use the mic for a scratch pad for music ideas, my DARE has a recording feature (if you want to call it that lol) but its lackluster at best.

And the camera, well that would be a bonus.
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:12 PM   #13
uberamd
macrumors 68030
 
uberamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota
Every time I do a fresh install on my 3G or 3G S it asks to plug it in before I can use it. It requires activation basically. Having said that, if you know someone with an iPhone already they could just toss their sim in the device and activate it for you quickly.
__________________
My Rants - Latest: Android on the 1st gen iPod Touch
i7 rMBP 15" - Apple TV Classic 160GB Modded - iPhone 5 White - iPhone 4 Black
uberamd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:33 PM   #14
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberamd View Post
Every time I do a fresh install on my 3G or 3G S it asks to plug it in before I can use it. It requires activation basically. Having said that, if you know someone with an iPhone already they could just toss their sim in the device and activate it for you quickly.
ok thats good info. Trying not to sound ignorant but would I need that sim card in everytime I connect to itunes on my computer? or would it be a one time thing? I know a guy that knows a guy with an iPhone

AND lol. Will I be able to switch all my current apps and music just like I would if I purchased another IPT?
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:36 PM   #15
uberamd
macrumors 68030
 
uberamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8ko View Post
ok thats good info. Trying not to sound ignorant but would I need that sim card in everytime I connect to itunes on my computer? or would it be a one time thing? I know a guy that knows a guy with an iPhone

AND lol. Will I be able to switch all my current apps and music just like I would if I purchased another IPT?
No, you just need the sim to get it activated. My 3G has no sim in it since I have a 3G S but I can still sync it, etc.

As for iTunes, it should work just fine. On the iPhone (since once he puts the sim in and activates it via iTunes) go to Settings -> Store -> Sign Out, then sign into your own account. You should be golden.
__________________
My Rants - Latest: Android on the 1st gen iPod Touch
i7 rMBP 15" - Apple TV Classic 160GB Modded - iPhone 5 White - iPhone 4 Black
uberamd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:55 PM   #16
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberamd View Post
No, you just need the sim to get it activated. My 3G has no sim in it since I have a 3G S but I can still sync it, etc.

As for iTunes, it should work just fine. On the iPhone (since once he puts the sim in and activates it via iTunes) go to Settings -> Store -> Sign Out, then sign into your own account. You should be golden.
In your opinion is this worth doing? I currently own a 2gen 8gb IPT and its just spent memory wise. Everytime I add music I have to delete some as well lol. So I figure getting a 16gb will help there plus the other litle bonuses that come with the iPhone.

What difference in battery life can I expect (if any) using the iPhone as an IPT

BTW your inputs been invaluable to me so thank-you for your time.

oh and one last thing (for now) this wont harm/alter the sim card from the person Im borrowing it from will it?
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 02:57 PM   #17
uberamd
macrumors 68030
 
uberamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8ko View Post
In your opinion is this worth doing? I currently own a 2gen 8gb IPT and its just spent memory wise. Everytime I add music I have to delete some as well lol. So I figure getting a 16gb will help there plus the other litle bonuses that come with the iPhone.

What difference in battery life can I expect (if any) using the iPhone as an IPT

BTW your inputs been invaluable to me so thank-you for your time.

oh and one last thing (for now) this wont harm/alter the sim card from the person Im borrowing it from will it?
Well it depends on the price. How much are you paying for the 16GB 3G? Battery life is good, probably about the same as the iPod Touch. However with the camera and what not you will be playing around more probably thus draining the battery faster.

And it won't harm or alter the sim. I can switch sims between my iPhones and regular phones just fine.
__________________
My Rants - Latest: Android on the 1st gen iPod Touch
i7 rMBP 15" - Apple TV Classic 160GB Modded - iPhone 5 White - iPhone 4 Black
uberamd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 07:04 PM   #18
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I was looking at the 2nd gen iPhones.
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 10:33 PM   #19
macfan881
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Send a message via AIM to macfan881
yeah im looking to use my dads old 1st gen phone i have a 1st gen ipod touch but i really would love to thave that external speaker esp for mlb at bat and having the bluetooth and camera would be a plus along with not having to fork out $ for the firmware updates
macfan881 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 12:49 AM   #20
roboleg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
I personally do not have an iPhone; I have an iPod touch. But here're my thoughts:

If you want better battery life when you aren't using the phone radio, you could always turn that off. You could turn on Airplane Mode, but from what I gather that also turns off WiFi and Bluetooth, which may or may not do what you intend it to. However you could jailbreak your iPhone and install a utility to turn these on or off separately.

Using an iPhone as an iPod isn't such a bad idea now that I think about it!
roboleg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 09:01 AM   #21
uberamd
macrumors 68030
 
uberamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by roboleg View Post
I personally do not have an iPhone; I have an iPod touch. But here're my thoughts:

If you want better battery life when you aren't using the phone radio, you could always turn that off. You could turn on Airplane Mode, but from what I gather that also turns off WiFi and Bluetooth, which may or may not do what you intend it to. However you could jailbreak your iPhone and install a utility to turn these on or off separately.

Using an iPhone as an iPod isn't such a bad idea now that I think about it!
Well when there is no SIM in the card, is the phone radio even on? And while its not a bad idea, the battery in the 2G iPhone probably has quite a few cycles on it so I am not sure what the charge quality will be. Also, its thicker, heavier, and more expensive than the iPod. Plus, if someone says "cool you have an iPhone, can I see it?" and they realize the phone functionality isn't there they may think you are nuts for not just having an iPod.

But hey, its a personal choice I suppose. I have an old iPhone 3G but I still use my iPod Touch when exercising.
__________________
My Rants - Latest: Android on the 1st gen iPod Touch
i7 rMBP 15" - Apple TV Classic 160GB Modded - iPhone 5 White - iPhone 4 Black
uberamd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2009, 12:27 PM   #22
v8ko
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by roboleg View Post
Using an iPhone as an iPod isn't such a bad idea now that I think about it!
You mean since Ive thought about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uberamd View Post
Well when there is no SIM in the card, is the phone radio even on? And while its not a bad idea, the battery in the 2G iPhone probably has quite a few cycles on it so I am not sure what the charge quality will be. Also, its thicker, heavier, and more expensive than the iPod. Plus, if someone says "cool you have an iPhone, can I see it?" and they realize the phone functionality isn't there they may think you are nuts for not just having an iPod.

But hey, its a personal choice I suppose. I have an old iPhone 3G but I still use my iPod Touch when exercising.
Great point about the battery life, Hmmm. People already think my IPT is an iPhone so that wont change lol. This all just came about because I need more storage space and I thought why not an iPhone?

Thanks so much again for your time.
v8ko is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems activating option toggles in iOS 7 on Touch / Phone form factor fewlio iOS 7 1 Nov 21, 2013 08:11 AM
Apple's Low-Cost iPhone Design Said to Be Mix of iPhone 5 and iPod Touch with iPod Classic Curves MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 238 Jun 18, 2013 09:18 PM
Touch Recognition Issue on iPhone 5, 5th Generation iPod Touch with Rapid Diagonal Swipes MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 355 Jan 3, 2013 04:11 PM
How to restore old iphone4 into an ipod without activating it. McBeats iPhone 2 Sep 21, 2012 09:30 PM
External Touch Screen Display for iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad. NbinHD iPhone Accessories 2 Jul 2, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC