Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 2, 2009, 05:12 PM   #1
Turbo Glennbo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Powermac G4 Hardware Swaps & Upgrades

Hello BB'ers - My 13 year old son was just given 2 G4 Powermacs for his personal use. He wants to do nothing but search the internet and create short 1-2 minute videos for YouTube. I want to make 1 decent running G4 out of the 2 he has. Yes these are old, slower, relics and once he gets the hang of using Macs I will either keep adding on to this one or just ge him a Mini. Here what we have and any suggestions on where to go from here would be great appreciated.

#1 (will be the user machine and is currently up and running)
Powermac G4 Sawtooth - currently has the 500MHz processor
OSX 10.2.8
80 Gig HD
382 MB Ram Memory
100 MHz Bus Speed
L2 Cache - 1 MB
AGP Graphics

#2 (parts machine)
Powermac G4 Sawtooth - 1.2 GHz OWC Processor
25 Gig HD
256 MB Ram (will put in user machine)
Everything else is the same as #1

Heres the problem. I did the processor swap yesterday by putting the 1.2 in machine #1 and it booted up and ran for a few minutes then froze up. I emailed back and forth with the OCW tech support and they instructed me to set the 2 jumpers at #1 ON # 2 OFF which I did and it still doesnt want to run this processor. Do I need to configure something in the system before I make this swap? Is this just not possible to do? Any help and or appreciated with this. Would this machine handle a dual processor?

Finally - what would be the next cheap immediate thing I should do or add?

2.0 USB PCI Card?
More Ram of course

Cheers and thanks in advance

Last edited by Turbo Glennbo; Jul 2, 2009 at 05:27 PM.
Turbo Glennbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 06:23 PM   #2
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Does the 500MHz have the latest firmware? It should be 4.28f1.
Apple System Profiler can tell you what version you have.
IIRC, it should be in Applications -> Utilities.
The update is here if needed.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120068
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 07:03 PM   #3
Turbo Glennbo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
thanks for the sugeestion - I checked and it does have the 4.28fi

would it be good to add the 2nd hardrive as a slave? The only issue I see with doing this is the Master that is currently running doesnt have any jumper pins - it has the jumpers just not the pins. The slave has pins.
Turbo Glennbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 07:10 PM   #4
Timmahman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia, USA
Whats the problem with the "parts machine"?
Id add USB 2.0 for sure! Maybe a new graphics card, and just max out the ram
A flashed nvidia 6200 is the fastest video card I think that you can get. I see 2 on ebay currently, one for 84$ "buy it now"

About the pins, just search through any computer parts u have laying around, maybe you can find one. Or go to knowledgeable computer store, or call a hard drive manufacturer directly, orrrr you could use a piece of wire to make the connection if you wanna be ghetto.
__________________
Power Mac G4 Dual 1.42ghz, 2gb, 500gb, BFG 7800gs, Sonnet Allegro USB and Aria Extreme N, USB Bluetooth. [black]Macbook, 2ghz C2D, 3gb, 320gb, GMA950
Timmahman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2009, 08:01 PM   #5
Turbo Glennbo
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
The parts machine has a bad video card and a smaller hardrive - other than that - nothing. also has OSX 9
Turbo Glennbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2009, 02:23 AM   #6
Timmahman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Glennbo View Post
The parts machine has a bad video card and a smaller hardrive - other than that - nothing. also has OSX 9
Should have just left the processor in that machine if it works. Id think swapping hard drives and video cards is easier with less stuff to go wrong then the processor swap
Try putting the cpu back in the system it was originally in, and swap the video cards, see if it works then.
__________________
Power Mac G4 Dual 1.42ghz, 2gb, 500gb, BFG 7800gs, Sonnet Allegro USB and Aria Extreme N, USB Bluetooth. [black]Macbook, 2ghz C2D, 3gb, 320gb, GMA950
Timmahman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hardware upgrades help cyclechicviki MacBook Air 5 Feb 23, 2014 03:50 PM
MBP 2009 Hardware upgrades hampants MacBook Pro 6 Oct 13, 2012 04:22 PM
Regarding AT&T Upgrade Swaps randy98mtu iPhone 1 Sep 18, 2012 03:19 PM
Resolved: ...upgrades for my PowerMac G4! WENT WITH A G5 INSTEAD! alexreich PowerPC Macs 30 Jun 12, 2012 05:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC