Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SilentFeline

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 5, 2009
Hello,
I am new to this forum and need help. I moved recently and I need to transfer my iTunes library from one PC to another. What is the simplest way for me to do this? Please keep in mind that I am not very tech savvy, so it must be easy enough for me to actually accomplish.

I also want to add that I have researched this, and I was planning on copying all of the songs from my iPod to CDs and then re-loading them on my iPod using the new computer and a new iTunes account. However, I'm not sure if this would work in completely syncing my iTunes library. Any suggestions? Am I at least on the right track? I would appreciate any help at all, even if it's just a link. Thank you all in advance. :eek:

JediMeister

macrumors 68040
Oct 9, 2008
Depending on the amount of music you have in your collection, this is one route to go. Alternatively if you have an external hard drive, you can copy the iTunes folder from the My Music directory of one PC and put it into the matching location on the other system. This method is only applicable if you don't have an iTunes directory on the other computer or if you don't mind overwriting the directory with the copy from the originating system.

SilentFeline

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 5, 2009
Thank you very much for your reply, JediMeister. Coincidentally, the link you provided is the same one I found during my "research," where I got the idea of burning to CDs. I don't have too many songs so this should be fairly easy. However, I do have one other question. Once I have backed up my music, will I have to erase all of the songs on my iPod and just re-load them using a brand new iTunes account and the new PC, or would I be able to keep all of my songs on my iPod and still have successfully transferred my iTunes library?