Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

markjones05

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 15, 2003
Brooklyn, NY
My ATI Radeon X1900 is on it's way out and I need to buy a replacement card. Problem is, I don't know what card to get. The only two cards available for my MacPro on the Apple website are the ATI Radeon X1900 and The NVIDIA Geforce 8800 GT. The guy I talked to at Applecare said that there might be other cards available for my machine at other retailers, but I'm not really sure how to shop for something like this. Ive attached my Hardware Overview below, if anyone has a similar machine or knows about video cards and can point me in the right direction I would be immensely grateful.

(FYI) I am a video editor and motion graphics artist and this is my work machine.

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 3 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.7f10

gugucom

macrumors 68020
May 21, 2009
Munich, Germany
If you see an ATI HD3870 Mac&PC Edition for good money that would be worth a grab as well. It needs a dual slot cooler but that is a 20$ upgrade anybody can do himself. The energy bill is lower than a 4870 and you have no software issues with Leopard.

gpzjock

macrumors 6502a
May 4, 2009
Better Video Cards for cheap.

I bought an ATI Sapphire HD 4870 1 GB PC card for £140 ($226) and got it flashed to contain Mac and PC drivers. Saved a fortune and it canes pro apps as well as games.
Highly recommended! ATI cards support Core Image in OS X and are the standard cards of choice for Mac Pro workhorses. It runs cool and quiet. :D
The info on how to do the conversion is in the link below.