Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2009, 06:28 PM   #1
kirby1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
New router?

About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
kirby1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 06:30 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirby1 View Post
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
Airport Extreme would be my preference
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 06:39 PM   #3
kirby1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
should of got that instead, but do you think this router http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WRT120N would work good?
kirby1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 08:32 PM   #4
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirby1 View Post
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
How exactly is the old router not compatible with a Mac? I have never heard or seen such a thing.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 06:19 PM   #5
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Ya, any router works with a mac. Just could be a configuration issue either on the mac or the router.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2009, 02:25 AM   #6
socrates35
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Router

The linksys router should work with your mac just fine. I would suggest going on the linksys website and download and print out the setup guide. Then connect your mac directly to the router and use a web brower and log into the router and setup the configuration for max protection and everything else. Its really easy and also I would suggest update the firmware. Usually the firmware will resolve most problems.
socrates35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Router out? rlu929s Apple TV and Home Theater 28 Feb 8, 2014 05:11 PM
Need a new router - which one should I get? Neocortex27 Mac Peripherals 5 Dec 21, 2013 12:46 AM
Apple TV Home Sharing: Router or No Router? bryanscott Apple TV and Home Theater 20 May 4, 2013 07:52 PM
Which new Router? Bemidjiboy Mac Peripherals 6 Mar 11, 2013 11:36 AM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 10:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC