Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2009, 05:28 PM   #1
kirby1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
New router?

About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
kirby1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 05:30 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirby1 View Post
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
Airport Extreme would be my preference
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 05:39 PM   #3
kirby1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
should of got that instead, but do you think this router http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/products/WRT120N would work good?
kirby1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2009, 07:32 PM   #4
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirby1 View Post
About a month ago i've lost my wireless connection and decided to get a new router. I had an old Linksys router, but it wasnt compatible with Mac but somehow worked in the beginning. Would a new router thats compatible with a Mac help me regain my wireless internet connection?
How exactly is the old router not compatible with a Mac? I have never heard or seen such a thing.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2009, 05:19 PM   #5
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Ya, any router works with a mac. Just could be a configuration issue either on the mac or the router.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2009, 01:25 AM   #6
socrates35
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Router

The linksys router should work with your mac just fine. I would suggest going on the linksys website and download and print out the setup guide. Then connect your mac directly to the router and use a web brower and log into the router and setup the configuration for max protection and everything else. Its really easy and also I would suggest update the firmware. Usually the firmware will resolve most problems.
socrates35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wi-Fi doesn't automatically renew lease to new routers GuitarG20 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 May 24, 2012 04:04 PM
APEB seems to be on its way out; looking for a new router gumbyx84 Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 2, 2011 07:29 AM
Router/modem(combined) + new router iLao Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 7, 2009 04:54 AM
New Router, New Problem rxmxsh OS X 6 Jan 12, 2008 11:08 PM
New Router and Some New Problems Phat_Pat Community 1 Jan 3, 2005 01:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC